Print from flash [SOLVED]

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
pandason
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 12:09
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: UK

Print from flash [SOLVED]

Post#1 by pandason » 24 Dec 2015, 12:33

Hi All,

Not sure if this is the correct place for posting, so apologies if it isn't.

Loving the Porteus Kiosk edition, it has been exactly what we needed to set up some locked-down machines for use within the business. Pretty much everything is working as I need it, but unfortunately we provide a flash program through our intranet and users need to be able to print from this, but it doesn't seem to work. I get a popup about printing (https://imgur.com/Lzpc6Cj), regardless of whether or not silent printing is turned on or not. Printing a PDF from elsewhere on the intranet works perfectly, so the printer seems to be configured correctly. I've also tried the legacy version of flash but that doesn't seem to make a difference either. I don't get any error messages or anything like that, but nothing comes out of the printer.

Does anyone have any idea of anything else I can try or any suggestions?

Thanks for the help!
Last edited by pandason on 10 Mar 2016, 16:36, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Print from flash

Post#2 by fanthom » 24 Dec 2015, 13:01

Hello pandason,

Could be that never version of flash is required or some component (library) is missing in kiosk. Could you boot Ubuntu live, setup your printer and check if it works under it?
If yes then there is a chance we could get it to work in the kiosk as well.

You could also check if printing works from Chrome as it has latest flash version.

Let us know what you find.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

pandason
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 12:09
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: UK

Re: Print from flash

Post#3 by pandason » 30 Dec 2015, 14:23

Hi fanthom,

Thanks for coming back to me so quickly.

I tried this with Ubuntu Live as you suggested and it seems to be an issue with me not using exactly the correct driver. I had been using the Kyocera TASKalfa 250ci driver to print to a Kyovera TASKalfa 2551ci and as it printed in most situations I assumed it would work 100% of the time, but that clearly isn't true. It seems strange to me that it will print PDFs using this driver/printer combination but not from flash, but there we are. When I added the correct driver to Ubuntu then it worked perfectly. So I now need to add this driver to my Kiosk ISO. I haven't gotten it working yet so I obviously need to correct the driver name as per the instructions on the FAQ page.

In the FAQ instructions for adding printer drivers it mentions adding the .PPD to one folder and a CUPS filter to another, what happens if the driver download page ONLY supplies a .PPD? Will it work with that alone?

So apologies for giving you what turned out to be false/incomplete information. I just hope I can get these drivers added to the ISO and then I should be good. Thanks for your help.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Print from flash

Post#4 by fanthom » 30 Dec 2015, 15:13

what happens if the driver download page ONLY supplies a .PPD? Will it work with that alone?
Probably PPD uses one of the standard CUPS filters so it should be enough to use just PPD.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

pandason
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 12:09
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: UK

Re: Print from flash

Post#5 by pandason » 30 Dec 2015, 15:19

Hi fanthom,

So I've successfully added the printer driver to a custom ISO following the instructions and the FAQ and get the driver name when I run the lpinfo command, but it still won't print. So could there be something else I need to add or am I missing something?

The driver I'm trying to add is this one; http://www.kyocerasupport.co.uk/index/d ... ._.EN.html

Thanks again for all your help, I really appreciate it!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Print from flash

Post#6 by fanthom » 30 Dec 2015, 17:45

1) Can you print a non flash content?
2) Please confirm that your printer uses correct driver (is not set to /dev/null) in CUPS web interface: http://127.0.0.1/printers
3) What is the error you are getting? Please post the error log from http://127.0.0.1:631/admin

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

pandason
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 12:09
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: UK

Re: Print from flash

Post#7 by pandason » 31 Dec 2015, 09:46

No, I can't print any content. It seems to be down to your second point, as if I look at the printer administration page it says "Driver: Local Raw Printer" and "Connection: file:///dev/null".

When I add the printer by adding it through the CUPS administration page and select the driver I added to the ISO it works properly. I guess that means I need to keep trying more combinations of model/driver name...

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Print from flash

Post#8 by fanthom » 31 Dec 2015, 10:09

I guess that means I need to keep trying more combinations of model/driver name...
Correct

Please login to kiosk through ssh and keep running following command:

Code: Select all

lpinfo --make-and-model "printer_model" -m | cut -d" " -f1 | head -n1
until it returns your added ppd driver.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

pandason
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 12:09
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: UK

Re: Print from flash

Post#9 by pandason » 04 Jan 2016, 09:57

When I run this command I do get a reponse of "Kyocera/Kyocera" rather than the "client-error-not-found" when it doesn't find anything, but it still doesn't work, so how do I know when it "returns the added driver"? What exactly should I see? "Kyocera TASKalfa 2551ci.ppd"?

I've added "Kyocera_TASKalfa_2551ci.ppd" to "custom_package/usr/share/cups/model/Kyocera/" and tried seemingly every combination of "Kyocera TASKalfa 2551ci KPDL" in "custom_package/usr/share/wizard/printers.d/Kyocera".

I've tried looking at how the other TASKalfa drivers are laid out in the foomatic package but I can't see where I'm going wrong. Sorry to be such a pain, there's probably something obvious I'm missing, I just need the idiots guide :D

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Print from flash

Post#10 by fanthom » 04 Jan 2016, 10:36

Whitespaces in file names are not handled under Linux correctly. You need to rename your PPD files to:

Code: Select all

Kyocera_CS_2551ci.ppd
Kyocera_TASKalfa_2551ci.ppd
(you know this already but posting for future reference)

also remove anything inside the brackets (seems that brackets confuses lpinfo command) from driver name in custom_package/usr/share/wizard/printers.d/Kyocera:

Code: Select all

Kyocera CS 2551ci
Kyocera TASKalfa 2551ci
Works here so must also for you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

pandason
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 12:09
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: UK

Re: Print from flash

Post#11 by pandason » 05 Jan 2016, 16:25

Fantastic! Thank you. Finally got it working. I'm sure I tried this combination before, but either I'm mistaken or maybe there was a typo in it.

Thank you so much for all your help!

:Yahoo!:

Post Reply