BCM4321 connected but no internet

Here you can post about your various experiences with PC hardware. You can also post about hardware that is not compatible with the linux kernel or not recommended for use with Porteus.
knixter
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 2015, 17:35
Distribution: Portues
Location: United States

BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#1 by knixter » 23 Dec 2015, 20:59

Hello, I am new to Linux and just installed Porteus. My card is listed in the hardware info
One other distro I tried said this number might be helpful
14e4:4329
I show as connected to the wifi network, through the network manager but cannot view any web sites
Thank you for any help offered

knixter
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 2015, 17:35
Distribution: Portues
Location: United States

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#2 by knixter » 23 Dec 2015, 21:10

Not sure if this will help but I ran the lspci command

00:00.0 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Host Bridge (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 USB 1.1 Controller (rev a3)
00:02.1 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 USB 2.0 Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
00:05.0 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
00:07.0 Bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:08.1 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 10h Processor Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 10h Processor DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 10h Processor Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 10h Processor Link Control
01:06.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4321 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)
02:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)

knixter
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 2015, 17:35
Distribution: Portues
Location: United States

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#3 by knixter » 23 Dec 2015, 22:41

I have just tried connecting to the router directly, vi ip address, nothing :wall:

knixter
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 2015, 17:35
Distribution: Portues
Location: United States

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#4 by knixter » 23 Dec 2015, 23:05

and tried disabling the firewall on the router ( still :wall: )

aus9

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#5 by aus9 » 24 Dec 2015, 00:12

Hi

You should have 2 internet devices. your wireless one and wired (ethernet) one.

If you plug in your ethernet cable to router and reboot it should work out-of-the-box but if not you could consider reading and trying out Nemesis?

your wl device 4329 shows up as needing the wl kernel module here
https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/use ... f_hardware

and nemesis already has that kernel module built into it. Grab 3.4 iso but be aware after xmas brokenman is likely to supply a improved iso.

http://brokenman.porteus.org/porteus/x86_64/iso/

knixter
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 2015, 17:35
Distribution: Portues
Location: United States

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#6 by knixter » 24 Dec 2015, 00:38

wired is not a option
currently dual booting between win7 and porteus
wifi works with win7
one other note, using live cd, "Ultimate Boot CD" wifi works with out a flaw, out of the box, so to speak

aus9

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#7 by aus9 » 24 Dec 2015, 02:41

wired is not a option
because your router is not in same room? or has only one port already used?

I am pretty sure you do have ethernet, if not try posting the results of

Code: Select all

lspci | grep Ethernet

knixter
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 2015, 17:35
Distribution: Portues
Location: United States

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#8 by knixter » 24 Dec 2015, 03:45

Wired is not an option because I do not have the cable or a way to permanently run one if i did. If I can do it, I can prefer wired over wifi but I cannot in this case

aus9

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#9 by aus9 » 24 Dec 2015, 03:58

ahh thanks for the explain.

Are you strongly for Slackware based or Archlinux based Porteus. IMHO the future of Porteus is the Nemesis
https://forum.porteus.org/viewforum.php?f=137

And I am not sure if Slackware based has the wl kernel module. But I have sent you a pm on that.

Maybe Neko or others who want Slackware base can tell OP if wl kernel module is available please?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#10 by francois » 24 Dec 2015, 05:23

Under porteus the bcm driver strategy of fanthom the developer is here:
https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1099
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

knixter
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 2015, 17:35
Distribution: Portues
Location: United States

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#11 by knixter » 24 Dec 2015, 11:59

Here is a link to a screen shot of the network manager
http://s244.photobucket.com/user/knixte ... .jpeg.html

I did try Nemesis from the live cd but no joy
I just don't get it. I show connected but can't view a webpage

aus9

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#12 by aus9 » 24 Dec 2015, 12:17

Hi well showing connected is a good sign

I am now confused but I have a hard drive install. Is that image from Porteus or Nemesis?

If that image is not Nemeis and if you have time, reboot into Nemesis try my tutorial.
https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=137&t=5337

Offtopic ....so your cisco router can only do protocols b and g and not n?
http://homenetworkadmin.com/wireless-b- ... ifference/

EDIT
I have a router that can lock out any machine ID that I have not enabled. Its called MAC filtering. Does Cisco have such a beast?

knixter
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 2015, 17:35
Distribution: Portues
Location: United States

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#13 by knixter » 24 Dec 2015, 13:04

Image is from Porteus, hdd install
I will try a hdd install of Nemesis and try your tutorial. I tried it as a live cd and it showed (in the network manager) a very similar image
the router does support "n" and mac filtering, not sure why "n" isn't listed.
Filtering is a moot point, there isn't anything that would need it

knixter
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 2015, 17:35
Distribution: Portues
Location: United States

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#14 by knixter » 24 Dec 2015, 14:59

Tried to install Nemesis but it doesn't auto mount drives
I couldn't find my cd drive or my windows hdd so i could install or try your tutorial
the network manage did show pretty much the same thing but i couldn't save a screenshot

knixter
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Dec 2015, 17:35
Distribution: Portues
Location: United States

Re: BCM4321 connected but no internet

Post#15 by knixter » 24 Dec 2015, 15:04

I just read your tutorial and I did that
I showed connected to the cisco but could not get through to the web "page not found"
One more thing, in both versions , my signal after connected was about half of what I get in win7 and didn't show the "n"

Post Reply