[solved] installing qemu on Porteus (missing lib')?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
datruche
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 95
Joined: 20 Sep 2015, 21:02
Distribution: Arch, Porteus-Nemesis 3.5
Location: London > . < Paris

[solved] installing qemu on Porteus (missing lib')?

Post#1 by datruche » 21 Dec 2015, 21:44

Hi all!

I need qemu to do some testing (mostly test a multiboot USB pen drive). I went with

# usm -g qemu-2.4.0-i486-1ponce.txz

Code: Select all

Processing:   qemu-2.4.0-i486-1ponce.txz 
<SNIP SNIP>
 WARNING: unresolved dependencies remain. 
libfdt.so.1
<SNIP SNIP>
Updating shared library links:  /sbin/ldconfig

/tmp/usm/qemu-2.4.0-i486-bundle.xzm is ready.
As expected,
$ qemu-system-{i486,x86_64} [USB pen drive|architect-2015.11.19-64bit.iso]

Code: Select all

qemu-system-x86_64: error while loading shared libraries: libfdt.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
I've read the FAQ and [SOLVED] missing libgomp.so.1 , [Solved] How can I check which module contains a file? , Studioware installs in Porteus and this (brokenmann recalls how to search for a *missing* lib) (and this old viewtopic.php?t=1736&p=11805)

Then installed slackyd and updated its db.

But I'm still unable to launch `qemu`

# usm -s libfdt.so

Code: Select all

 ----------------------------- 
 Are you searching for a library file? 

libfdt.so, it seems a library.
Would you like to find the package for it? [y/n]

 no package found for: libfdt.so 
# slackyd -d qemu

Code: Select all

Checking qemu-2.4.0-i486-1ponce: done.

Found 1 missing dependencies:
libfdt.so.1 required by:
 --> Package: qemu-2.4.0-i486-1ponce (/usr/bin/qemu-system-arm)
 --> Package: qemu-2.4.0-i486-1ponce (/usr/bin/qemu-system-x86_64)
 --> Package: qemu-2.4.0-i486-1ponce (/usr/bin/qemu-system-i386)

Searching libfdt.so.1: nothing found.

Nothing to do.
EDIT: Ah OK. I first put this in the Tutorial forum under title "How to deal with a missing library?" as a way to get a errrr tutorial to learn on how to do that. I bet the new title will be straighter now it's been moved in the Newbies fofo'.

How do you install Qemu on Porteus?
Last edited by datruche on 22 Dec 2015, 22:36, edited 1 time in total.

datruche
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 95
Joined: 20 Sep 2015, 21:02
Distribution: Arch, Porteus-Nemesis 3.5
Location: London > . < Paris

Re: How do you install qemu on Porteus?

Post#2 by datruche » 22 Dec 2015, 14:02

Anyone please?
Actually I'm away from my PC now and it would be great to test usb pen drives from Porteus rather than rebooting nn times; The box I use was super low profile even when it was on sale 6 years ago ;}

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: How do you install qemu on Porteus?

Post#3 by Bogomips » 22 Dec 2015, 18:28

Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5551
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: How do you install qemu on Porteus?

Post#4 by brokenman » 22 Dec 2015, 20:01

Yeah .. strange case. Can't find anything for slackware.

http://pkgs.org/opensuse-13.1/opensuse- ... 6.rpm.html

Download the binary here. Convert it to xzm: rpm2xzm libfdt1-1.4.0-2.1.2.i586.rpm
Activate it: activate libfdt1-1.4.0-2.1.2.i586.xzm

You should be good to go.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

datruche
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 95
Joined: 20 Sep 2015, 21:02
Distribution: Arch, Porteus-Nemesis 3.5
Location: London > . < Paris

Re: How do you install qemu on Porteus?

Post#5 by datruche » 22 Dec 2015, 22:33

@Bogomips you killed me
with joy :) So fu**in great, maaan debuging a heavy and full Syslinux multiboot USB pen drive from an Atom Z520 1 gig RAM powered Porteus GNU Linux, yeees !
Took me a couple hours (+ the time to reupload as I tested a new nice and kiss open source images sharing co-service that must be ten times lighter than imgur but the images are too big for this forum's rules). Below you can see (after the Architect ISO test) one the error resisting a bit then slapped down without a single reboot.

Image
Image Image Image Image

Ah! Does Imgur neither provide the thumbnails?? jeez!
EDIT: OK, finaly found the trick.

@brokenmann, yeap, same! Unless Qemu is one of these new closed source garage-developped software-- surprise.

Solved with the help of Bogomips , a good old trustfull rpm and Porteus creazy lightness and modularity!

summersab
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 11 Feb 2016, 18:37
Distribution: 3.17.4 x64
Location: USA

Re: [solved] installing qemu on Porteus (missing lib')?

Post#6 by summersab » 12 Feb 2016, 01:15

This isn't too old of a post to bump, I hope (even though it is marked as solved). From what I can tell, I got qemu-kvm properly installed. Now, I'm trying to get virt-manager working. I followed the following to install the dependencies of virt-manager:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... 175512382/

However, when trying to launch virt-manager from a root prompt, I get:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virt-manager", line 29, in <module>
    import gi
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/gi/__init__.py", line 24, in <module>
    from pkgutil import extend_path
ImportError: cannot import name extend_path
I'm usually pretty savvy with the Googles, but I'm not having much luck, here. Anyone have a thought?

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: [solved] installing qemu on Porteus (missing lib')?

Post#7 by Bogomips » 12 Feb 2016, 01:28

^ Have had problems with python import it's a whole new kettle of fish :evil:

Code: Select all

If you want to ask for help on a particular object directly from the
interpreter, you can type "help(object)".  Executing "help('string')"
has the same effect as typing a particular string at the help> prompt
Try typing

Code: Select all

python -h
Let us know if you succeed.

Good Luck!

P.S. Necro bumping is not frowned upon here, when it seems logical to do so. :wink:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

summersab
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 11 Feb 2016, 18:37
Distribution: 3.17.4 x64
Location: USA

Re: [solved] installing qemu on Porteus (missing lib')?

Post#8 by summersab » 12 Feb 2016, 01:52

Thanks for the quick reply. I don't assume you want the whole output of that other than to know that it does indeed spit out the help menu? python -V yields: Python 2.7.5.

PS, I'm largely a Python noob, so please forgive me for that - I'm sure the problem has more to do with Python than with Porteus.
Last edited by summersab on 12 Feb 2016, 01:55, edited 1 time in total.

summersab
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 11 Feb 2016, 18:37
Distribution: 3.17.4 x64
Location: USA

Re: [solved] installing qemu on Porteus (missing lib')?

Post#9 by summersab » 16 Feb 2016, 16:04

. . . where'd you go, Bogomips?

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: [solved] installing qemu on Porteus (missing lib')?

Post#10 by Bogomips » 16 Feb 2016, 16:31

^ Nowhere, actually. Last time I followed the leads and ended up at the Python Software Foundation in the US of A. Could give you python3 to try, if you feel like it. For instance, youtube-dl, which took the python you have, I now feed with python3. :unknown:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

summersab
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 11 Feb 2016, 18:37
Distribution: 3.17.4 x64
Location: USA

Re: [solved] installing qemu on Porteus (missing lib')?

Post#11 by summersab » 16 Feb 2016, 17:20

Well, now - this is interesting. Yesterday, the flash drive that I planned to use for permanent install came in the mail. I ran the Porteus installer and copied the qemu and virt-manager modules to the /porteus/modules folder on the new drive. With the modules loaded at boot, I got a different error that complained about pycurl, so I downloaded and activated it. That error is gone, but now I'm getting:
Typelib file for namespace 'Pango', version '1.0' not found: Could not open display: :0.0
I tried downloading SDL_Pango and perl-pango, but that's not working. I keep finding this forum post suggesting that gir1.2-pango-1.0 should be reinstalled:
http://askubuntu.com/questions/455018/p ... untu-14-04

I don't see that Porteus has a gir1.2-pango-1.0 package, though.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5551
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [solved] installing qemu on Porteus (missing lib')?

Post#12 by brokenman » 16 Feb 2016, 22:10

The typelib and gir files were removed for all packages. Reinstall pango.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

summersab
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 11 Feb 2016, 18:37
Distribution: 3.17.4 x64
Location: USA

Re: [solved] installing qemu on Porteus (missing lib')?

Post#13 by summersab » 17 Feb 2016, 05:28

Alright, so, reloading the typelibs got virt-manager to load. I had to load a few more things (I will document once I get everything working). The final issue I'm having is with the spice protocol. It is complaining:
libvirtError: unsupported configuration: spice graphics are not supported with this QEMU
I have all the QEMU modules available in the repositories loaded (they were dependencies and required, anyway). Any thoughts?

summersab
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 11 Feb 2016, 18:37
Distribution: 3.17.4 x64
Location: USA

Re: [solved] installing qemu on Porteus (missing lib')?

Post#14 by summersab » 22 Feb 2016, 17:05

Just wondering if anyone had some followup thoughts on this. Do I need to load a different kernel, is spice missing from the QEMU in the repos, something else . . . ?

Post Reply