Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Arch based Porteus community project
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3160
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#31 by Ed_P » 19 Dec 2015, 05:51

aus9 wrote:And what is your md5?

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ md5sum /etc/inittab
6591427aa577cb8c2692f0ffd57fa336  /etc/inittab
guest ~ $ md5sum /mnt/sda3/changes/etc/inittab
6591427aa577cb8c2692f0ffd57fa336  /mnt/sda3/changes/etc/inittab

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ md5sum /etc/inittab
6591427aa577cb8c2692f0ffd57fa336  /etc/inittab
guest ~ $ md5sum /mnt/sda3/changes/etc/inittab
md5sum: /mnt/sda3/changes/etc/inittab: No such file or directory
guest ~ $ 
My changes= cheatcode isn't working.
Ed

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#32 by aus9 » 19 Dec 2015, 09:26

Ed_P

I use Linux and I think you may be using Microsoft format?

I have edit of /config that is sitting at the root of my /mnt/sda3 so that cheatcodes line reads as
changes=/dev/sda3
I tried to use a full pathway of /mnt/sda3/porteus/changes in that file and in bootloader but dir is not created.
I am using a conflicting bootloader menu for Linux that reads

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
quiet root=LABEL=p3 changes=/porteus
and I can confirm that I truly have changes effective but Nemesis does not think so in its log.

I have not always had a conflict or even a match for the config stuff to bootloader stuff.

but now is a decent time to do a brutal test. I shall move out of /config the cheatcodes file but keep my bootloader cheatcode and see if I still have effective changes

will edit this post shortly.....rebooted and here is proof changes works

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ touch z
guest ~ $ ls -al z
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 0 Dec 19 17:32 z
guest ~ $ ls -al /mnt/sda3/changes/home/guest/z
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 0 Dec 19 17:32 /mnt/sda3/changes/home/guest/z
guest ~ $ ls -al /mnt/sda3/config              
total 44
drwxr-xr-x 2 root  root  4096 Dec 19 17:26 .
drwxr-xr-x 9  1001 games 4096 Dec 19 17:25 ..
-rw-r--r-- 1 root  root   334 Dec  6 08:01 backup
-rw-r--r-- 1 root  root   659 Dec 17 19:39 keyboard
-rw-r--r-- 1 root  root  1274 Dec 15 09:01 login
-rw-r--r-- 1 root  root   399 Dec 19 17:26 manpages
-rw-r--r-- 1 root  root  1882 Dec 19 13:06 modules
-rw-r--r-- 1 root  root  1367 Dec 14 02:19 mouse
-rw-r--r-- 1 root  root  3123 Dec 15 01:44 network
-rw-r--r-- 1 root  root   339 Dec  2 09:55 services
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users  697 Nov 20 08:04 time
guest ~ $ cat /proc/cmdline
quiet root=LABEL=p3 changes=/porteus
to save you trying to see what I am getting at I put the key facts in bold
no /changes/cheatcodes file
bootloader has cheatcode of changes=/porteus
I created a file and was saved to /changes


the only things not working too well, is I get a popup terminal telling me my changes cheatcode failed and the log for porteus thinks changes cheatcode failed

Can't have everything

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#33 by aus9 » 19 Dec 2015, 09:48

@brokenman

I know you will think I am being extra picky....and this is very very low priority but I wonder if you see any merit in re-visit the wording to your /config/time as per quote
### This option means the file will be ignored at boot.
### Uncomment this if you will manually setup your time or
### another application handles the setup.
Ignore=yes
I have no problem that the top line effectively is saying this file is ignored.
I do have some misgivings on the intent or the meaning newbies like myself might construe on the thrust of "Uncomment this"
---when its already uncommented.

What I think you are trying to do....sorry for longer wording myself is "Comment this by putting a # before the Ignore=yes and save the file, if you want the system to accept changes below"

PS this is from iso.....not a changed file in case you read this far.
:friends:

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#34 by aus9 » 19 Dec 2015, 10:55

good news!

root command

Code: Select all

reboot -f
for me reboots as expected

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#35 by brokenman » 19 Dec 2015, 14:23

Understand what you mean about the uncomment lines. In retrospection it doesn't really make sense. I've fixed it in my tree.
Good news about the reboot command! Will test it here.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3160
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#36 by Ed_P » 19 Dec 2015, 15:38

aus9 wrote:I use Linux and I think you may be using Microsoft format?
Actually I use many systems, I also make careless mistakes. :oops:

In editing my bootloader parms to change

Code: Select all

changes=EXIT:/porteus3.1/porteussave.dat
to

Code: Select all

changes=/porteus3.x/porteussave.dat
for 3.4 I apparently accidently deleted the whole cheatcode. :wall: I will try to fix the problem and retry. :sorry:
aus9 wrote: I wonder if you see any merit in re-visit the wording to your /config/time as per quote
### This option means the file will be ignored at boot.
### Uncomment this if you will manually setup your time or
### another application handles the setup.
Ignore=yes
I have no problem that the top line effectively is saying this file is ignored.
I do have some misgivings on the intent or the meaning newbies like myself might construe on the thrust of "Uncomment this"
---when its already uncommented.
I don't agree. The 3 lines are a small paragraph and read as such. The 2nd line is not standalone any more than the last line.

But, maybe this format would work for you?
### This option means this file will be ignored at boot. Uncomment
### the option if you are going to manually setup your time or you have
### another application that handles the setup.
Ignore=yes
Better? :)

:beer:
Ed

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1386
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#37 by Blaze » 19 Dec 2015, 15:39

brokenman wrote:Blaze did you set the timezone in config/time?
No. Sorry, I'm wrong asked the question. Probably it's question for Hamza.
Will be work this setting for timezone on build.porteus.org at final release of Porteus Nemesis?
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#38 by brokenman » 19 Dec 2015, 15:50

If we move to arch the build.porteus.org site will need a rebuild.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3160
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#39 by Ed_P » 19 Dec 2015, 17:05

Interesting.

Still no changes being saved.

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ sh /mnt/sda5/porteus3.0/Guest/bootdev.sh
Boot device:   /mnt/sda5
Boot device format: "ntfs" 
Boot folder:   /porteus3.x/
Boot mode:     ISO /ISOs/porteus-nemesis-v3.4-x86_64.iso
OS:      Porteus-v3.4
ARCH:    x86_64
Kernel:  Linux porteus 4.3.3-porteus #1
Cmdline: quiet from=/ISOs/porteus-nemesis-v3.4-x86_64.iso changes=/porteus3.x/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus3.x/Modules volume=40   
 
guest ~ $ ls /porteus3.x/Modules
ls: cannot access /porteus3.x/Modules: No such file or directory
guest ~ $ ls /porteus3.x/
ls: cannot access /porteus3.x/: No such file or directory
guest ~ $ 
Trouble accessing NTFS drives??

Other cmdlines that work:

Code: Select all

kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% changes=EXIT:/porteus3.0/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus3.0/Modules volume=40 reboot=cold ramsize=80%

kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO31% changes=EXIT:/porteus3.1/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus3.1/Modules volume=40 ramsize=80%  
Will try adding /mnt/sda5/ to the location.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#40 by brokenman » 19 Dec 2015, 17:59

Trouble accessing NTFS drives??
It could be. I have a couple of ntfs partitions that I notice aren't mounted after boot. Will check it out.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#41 by aus9 » 19 Dec 2015, 22:54

Ed_P
I have no capitals in my folder names under porteus. I spot you use Modules is that really what you have or a typo?
for me

Code: Select all

ls /mnt/sda3/porteus
base  docs  make_iso.sh  modules  optional  porteus-v3.4-x86_64.sgn  rootcopy

(and same for unpacked iso...altho I have removed that usr
ls /mnt/sda3/1bak/1isounpacked/porteus/
base  make_iso.sh  modules  optional  porteus-v3.4-x86_64.sgn  rootcopy  usr

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3160
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#42 by Ed_P » 20 Dec 2015, 00:46

Well this didn't work.

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ sh /mnt/sda5/porteus3.0/Guest/bootdev.sh
Boot device:   /mnt/sda5
Boot device format: "ntfs" 
Boot folder:   /porteus3.x/
Boot mode:     ISO /ISOs/porteus-nemesis-v3.4-x86_64.iso
OS:      Porteus-v3.4
ARCH:    x86_64
Kernel:  Linux porteus 4.3.3-porteus #1
Cmdline: quiet from=/ISOs/porteus-nemesis-v3.4-x86_64.iso changes=/dev/sda5/porteus3.x/porteussave.dat extramod=/dev/sda5/porteus3.x/Modules volume=40   
 
guest ~ $ ls /dev/sda5/porteus3.x
ls: cannot access /dev/sda5/porteus3.x: Not a directory

guest ~ $ ls /mnt/sda5/porteus3.x
3.3setup.sh      porteussaveWF&FF&TZ&clk.dat  porteussaveWiFi.dat
Modules          porteussaveWF&FF&TZ.dat      tmp2mods.sh
porteussave.dat  porteussaveWF&FFbkmks.dat    wl.ko
guest ~ $ 
And no the Modules name is not a typo. I keep modules I download in it and keep the name separate from the porteus/modules folder name because when I used the same name it was calling causing conflicts with the porteus one inside the ISO.

- edit -

Neither did this.

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ sh /mnt/sda5/porteus3.0/Guest/bootdev.sh
Boot device:   /mnt/sda5
Boot device format: "ntfs" 
Boot folder:   /porteus3.x/
Boot mode:     ISO /ISOs/porteus-nemesis-v3.4-x86_64.iso
OS:      Porteus-v3.4
ARCH:    x86_64
Kernel:  Linux porteus 4.3.3-porteus #1
Cmdline: quiet from=/ISOs/porteus-nemesis-v3.4-x86_64.iso changes=/mnt/sda5/porteus3.x/porteussave.dat extramod=/mnt/sda5/porteus3.x/Modules volume=40 
  
guest ~ $ ls /home/guest/
Desktop  Documents  Downloads  Music  Pictures  Public  Templates  Videos
guest ~ $ 
So back to trouble accessing NTFS drives when booting. I can access them fine with PCManFM once booted.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#43 by brokenman » 20 Dec 2015, 02:01

go to your login home and delete .mozilla
You just nuked all preferences. No more duckduckgo as default.

I deleted /etc/inittab from /changes dir and did a shutdown and restart.
That file is re-appearing for me.

It is modified during boot to get automatic console login. I might do away with that.

On the mounting of ntfs, I might try the ntfs-3g-fuse package. I don't think ntfs-3g has fuse compiled in by default.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#44 by Jack » 20 Dec 2015, 03:36

brokenman wrote:If we move to arch the build.porteus.org site will need a rebuild.
This sound like a lot of work to me but you spend a lot of work on Arch. If you stay with Slackware it might be done by now and you know it works. My 0.02cents.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3160
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#45 by Ed_P » 20 Dec 2015, 05:35

Jack wrote: If you stay with Slackware it might be done by now
Possibly true but what's the fun in that? Nothing new, nothing challenging, nothing exciting. Boring. No fun. Work. etc.
Ed

Locked