Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Arch based Porteus community project
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#1 by brokenman » 18 Dec 2015, 01:53

Due to a busy life I had to push this one out tonight.

Kernel 4.3.3
LXDE
Openrc init system

http://brokenman.porteus.org/porteus/x86_64/iso/

## Things to know
1. I've rebuilt the layout so users can remove superfluous modules and build what they want.
2. The devel module can be obtained by: get-devel (required to build with pacaur package manager)
3. The login= cheatcode has been implemented
4. I added some extra config files
5. Included firefox browser (no flash) with duckduckgo as default. Please support Porteus.
6. Services are now started via config files or: /etc/init.d/myservice start

Please test all config files and scripts in /usr/local/bin

Thanks for your continued support and testing.
Last edited by brokenman on 07 Jan 2016, 00:35, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: unstuck
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#2 by Ed_P » 18 Dec 2015, 06:39

It (the ISO) boots.
I have Wi-Fi. :good:

I'm using the save.dat file from 3.3.
Is there a way to create a new save.dat file in 3.4?

Has the changes=EXIT cheatcode been added?

Triple click PCManFM seems to still be present even after running this:
echo "gtk-double-click-time = 1600" >> /home/guest/.gtkrc-2.0
Had to log off and back on to impliment it. :)

/home/guest/Desktop/ shows no desktop files yet the desktop has two?? And there is no /home/root/ directory.

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ su
Password: 
root /home/guest # ls /home/root/
ls: cannot access /home/root/: No such file or directory
root /home/guest # 
More an observation that a problem.

Show stopper. 3.4 doesn't suspend with lid closed!! Will check some settings in the AM. It worked in 3.3.
Ed

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#3 by aus9 » 18 Dec 2015, 08:04

Hi

tried to use cheatcode as per my current grub legacy entry of

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
quiet root=LABEL=p3 changes=/porteus volume=100%
got a terminal that autostarted about 20-30 seconds after desktop appears.
with contents
your changes cheatcode failed. You are NOT saving changes.
I admit that I deliberately deleted my entire folder called changes and used root powers to re-create it.

2) reboot via menu button logged in as guest or by command (for root) not working for me

3) spotted you have a /config cheatcodes so I made an edit here to use
changes=/porteus

but reboot is still not recognising it and so when I peek into porteus/changes I don't have any of those whitelist files whatever they are

4) lxterminal is not mentioned in any autostart for guest that I can find.....so good job there.

5) Could you consider using a vt.handoff cheatcode so I can read the last kernel messages?

6) I have not filmed it but I can see network manager says OK and then in the kernel messages its in yellow and says inactive (but its not)
On boot up, my ethernet takes a little to handshake but auto connects.............so its only a minor issue

more to say later
Last edited by aus9 on 18 Dec 2015, 08:52, edited 1 time in total.

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#4 by aus9 » 18 Dec 2015, 09:09

OK I have deleted a few posts as I think I have found a bug!

Code: Select all

cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg 
# Recognized devices:
/dev/sda1: LABEL="p1" UUID="838e3d73-ec57-4558-91d6-e81a02644e31" TYPE="ext4" 
/dev/sda2: UUID="fbd5c62a-b8b5-4887-b09b-304a6732ba67" TYPE="swap" 
/dev/sda3: LABEL="p3" UUID="d1df7a9b-feb2-42e4-bf0a-10cd538ad5f6" TYPE="ext4" 
/dev/sda4: LABEL="p4" UUID="822402a3-1910-4514-8cc0-20983a81d20a" TYPE="ext4" 

# Booting device:
/mnt/sda3

# Porteus data found in:
/mnt/sda3/porteus

# Changes are stored in:


# Non standard /rootcopy dir:
none

# Modules activated during boot time:
/mnt/sda3/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
/mnt/sda3/porteus/base/001-core.xzm
/mnt/sda3/porteus/base/001-xtra.xzm
/mnt/sda3/porteus/base/002-gui.xzm
/mnt/sda3/porteus/base/002-xtra.xzm
/mnt/sda3/porteus/base/003-lxde.xzm
/mnt/sda3/porteus/base/003-xtra.xzm
/mnt/sda3/porteus/base/05-firefox.xzm
I get a popup lxterminal telling me that my changes cheatcode has not worked and the above log seems to think so as well ......right?

wrong!

I made some test files in /home/guest and on reboot /mnt/sda3/changes shows them.....so
I changed my root password as I am not a fan of current one.....nor of current guest pw but lets move on
and the reboot needed my new root password with current log.

I am scratching my good looking head on this one.

#####################################

good news

my usb mouse is working out-of-the-box

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#5 by aus9 » 18 Dec 2015, 09:28

now some tests of /usr/local/bin as guest

browser....opens ff as expected.

firstrun used to open automatically when people opened a terminal in the past.....actually I am happy this no longer happens....just to let you know.

firstrun....text mode ...I chose to only try out locale as I have saved my time config from old setting
----modules say they are built ....reboot will edit later to see what locale says

Code: Select all

guest /mnt/sda3/porteus/modules $ ls
en_AU.xzm  glibc-en_AU.xzm  glibc-locales-uni.xzm
getdevel --- a dl of ~ 107 megs begins.....but your iso already has it? Maybe it shouldn't??

Code: Select all

guest /mnt/sda3/porteus/base $ md5sum 05-devel.xzm 
357b7a5599eba681babc45ef882c8fdd  05-devel.xzm
ls -al 05-devel.xzm 
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 111763456 Nov 16 01:47 05-devel.xzm
part two for dev download

Code: Select all

107M	/mnt/sda3/porteus/base/05-devel.xzm
 05-devel.xzm activated. 

(process:3312): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
	Using the fallback 'C' locale.
EXIT="OK"
 success.
looks like it does not like my locale I will have to re-read my earlier posts on this....sorry

Code: Select all

guest /mnt/sda3/porteus/base $ md5sum 05-devel.xzm 
68f1809e737745df0603065e2caf0a7b  05-devel.xzm

ls -al 05-devel.xzm 
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 111763456 Nov 16 01:47 05-devel.xzm
that will do for now

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#6 by aus9 » 18 Dec 2015, 09:56

on reboot I am getting the famous
id "c1" respawning too fast - disabling for 5 minutes

also I found what I needed to do for locales that is to comment out your preserve locale line in /config/modules

duckduckgo suggests edit of inittab to use
x:5:respawn:/usr/sbin/lxdm >& /dev/null
ref
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... ost4965025

but I am reluctant to do any such thing as I notice with all the openrc stuff I am likely to cause more grief, so await your advice.
and your default appears to be 3 and not 5

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#7 by brokenman » 18 Dec 2015, 13:55

/home/guest/Desktop/ shows no desktop files yet the desktop has two?
This is managed by the desktop. Right click on desktop and check preferences.

Show stopper. 3.4 doesn't suspend with lid closed!
Not exactly a show stopper for most. I have upower-pm-utils but also had troubles with power related stuff. Will look furtherinto it.

your changes cheatcode failed. You are NOT saving changes.
Thanks. Testing a way to help beginners cope with changes. Will check out why it think /porteus is not good path.

reboot via menu button logged in as guest or by command (for root) not working for me
I am having trouble with this one. Reboot only shuts down. I though it may be my hardware only since some other acpi stuff is not working. Ma need some help on this one (power related stuff).

Could you consider using a vt.handoff cheatcode so I can read the last kernel messages?
Never heard of it but will check it out

I can see network manager says OK and then in the kernel messages its in yellow and says inactive

This is normal. NetworkManager starts then sits waiting for a connection.

but your iso already has it?
The ISO doesn't already have 05-devel. I did notice a rogue /usr directory in the ISO.

x:5:respawn:/usr/sbin/lxdm >& /dev/null
Thanks, will check this out.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#8 by aus9 » 18 Dec 2015, 13:57

there is one other error type message...I took a photo but its too low a spec to read properly...kernel message

it says somehting like

prelogin failed to create symbolic link etc runlevels default something
and etc something (maybe) localtime as both files exist


vt.handoff=7
http://askubuntu.com/questions/32999/wh ... n-grub-cfg

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#9 by brokenman » 18 Dec 2015, 15:30

prelogin failed to create symbolic link etc runlevels default something
Ok yep. Found it. Thanks.
vt.handoff (vt = virtualterminal) is a kernel boot parameter unique to Ubuntu, and is not an upstream kernel boot parameter.
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/vt.handoff

To view early error messages you can start in virtualbox and set the processor percentage down way low like 7%.

Openrc takes a little longer to boot, but is much easier to work with. Nowhere near as fast as fanthoms Porteus startup scripts though. 10 second boot here on my machine.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#10 by Ed_P » 18 Dec 2015, 16:12

:shock: Changes not being saved!! Using the same save.dat file and cheatcode I used with 3.3.

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ cat /proc/cmdline
quiet from=/ISOs/porteus-nemesis-v3.4-x86_64.iso changes=/porteus3.x/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus3.x/Modules volume=40   
guest ~ $ cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg 
# Recognized devices:
/dev/sda1: LABEL="PQSERVICE" UUID="9894832D94830CC6" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sda2: LABEL="SYSTEM RESERVED" UUID="ECF483DEF483AA02" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sda3: LABEL="Acer" UUID="48168114168103E2" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sda5: LABEL="Data" UUID="01CD20066B8BF780" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sda6: LABEL="BKUPS" UUID="1ECAD5A8CAD57C89" TYPE="ntfs" 

# Booting device:
/mnt/sda5

# Porteus data found in:
/mnt/isoloop/porteus

# Changes are stored in:
memory
:no:

Clock working ok. Not saving to UTC. :good:
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#11 by brokenman » 18 Dec 2015, 16:43

I am looking into the changes in a non-absolute path now. Writing to system clock will not occur if booting from removable media. If booting from a fixed disk it will write to the hwclock unless told otherwise in config file. Thanks for testing.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1337
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#12 by Blaze » 18 Dec 2015, 18:56

Hi.

1) Clock does't work for me (about Russia Time Zone 2)

Code: Select all

(UTC+03:00) Moscow, St. Petersburg, Volgograd (RTZ 2)
Image Image

2) Via root i saw missing icons
Image
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#13 by kalo86 » 18 Dec 2015, 19:10

Hello,

I don't know the reason but editing the network file in /config folder, I don't get the network connection (wifi), there is not the .bashrc in both guest and root path and I cannot get the autologin root :(

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#14 by brokenman » 18 Dec 2015, 19:28

Blaze did you set the timezone in config/time?

Root has no profile as yet, hence the missing icons.

Code: Select all

cp -r /home/guest /root
there is not the .bashrc in both guest and root path and I cannot get the autologin root
This file doesn't exist by default. You can add it. To get login as root you can edit /mnt/sdXy/config/login
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.4 BUG REPORTS

Post#15 by Ed_P » 18 Dec 2015, 20:00

The Reboot option is simply shutting down.
Ed

Locked