Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
gezer33
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 10:58
Distribution: porteus xfce
Location: USA

Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#1 by gezer33 » 15 Dec 2015, 07:29

I am not able to make Porteus run on the machines have 6th generation intel processor. Is it only me or is there anybody else have the same problem?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#2 by brokenman » 15 Dec 2015, 12:29

Need more information about the processor. Perhaps you could try updating the kernel.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4588
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#3 by fanthom » 15 Dec 2015, 12:32

This is Skylake - kernel 4.3.x is needed for best experience.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

gezer33
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 10:58
Distribution: porteus xfce
Location: USA

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#4 by gezer33 » 16 Dec 2015, 07:31

I am just a user and have no experience about kernel.
I tried 4-5 machines has 6th generation and none af them were able to boot.
I guess it is time for admins to release Porteus 3.2 considering this new processor issue.

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#5 by kalo86 » 16 Dec 2015, 11:38

Hi, I am in your identical situation.
I buyed a new machine with Intel Core i5-6200U and Porteus v3.2 x86_64 does not boot.
Updating the kernel, I am only able to boot in text mode.
I think there is the need to update both kernel and xorg module.
In the meanwhile I am playing with Porteus Nemesis v3.3 which is new enough and it is booting fine.
I hope to read good news from fanthom :friends:
Regards,

kalo86

gezer33
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 10:58
Distribution: porteus xfce
Location: USA

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#6 by gezer33 » 16 Dec 2015, 14:58

kalo86 wrote:Hi, I am in your identical situation.
I buyed a new machine with Intel Core i5-6200U and Porteus v3.2 x86_64 does not boot.
Updating the kernel, I am only able to boot in text mode.
I think there is the need to update both kernel and xorg module.
In the meanwhile I am playing with Porteus Nemesis v3.3 which is new enough and it is booting fine.
I hope to read good news from fanthom :friends:
Regards,

kalo86
Thanks for the answer.
Where do I download Porteus Nemesis 3.3?
Thanks in advance.

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#7 by kalo86 » 16 Dec 2015, 15:00

Here: http://brokenman.porteus.org/porteus/

I hope you solve the boot issue!
Regards,

kalo86

gezer33
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 10:58
Distribution: porteus xfce
Location: USA

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#8 by gezer33 » 17 Dec 2015, 06:23

kalo86 wrote:Here: http://brokenman.porteus.org/porteus/

I hope you solve the boot issue!
Regards,

kalo86
Yes it booted, thanks but it is not as stable as Porteus.
It is not playing the videos as it is supposed to be. Video doesn't move smoothly.
Currently I am using xfce desktop. I easily can extract a module and create module by doing right click. I didn't see neither "extract module" nor "create module" options.

gezer33
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 10:58
Distribution: porteus xfce
Location: USA

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#9 by gezer33 » 17 Dec 2015, 08:59

I am also trying to login as root by using login=root cheatcode but it didn't work. How can I login as root.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#10 by brokenman » 17 Dec 2015, 13:06

Yes it booted, thanks but it is not as stable as Porteus.
It is not stable at all. This is just a kind of technology preview.
Video doesn't move smoothly.
Try opening gnome-mplayer: edit/preferences/video output
Choose vdpau from the menu.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#11 by kalo86 » 17 Dec 2015, 13:20

If you have a 6th gen processor, you should have to upgrade the graphic driver, I solved the issue in this way.
Before upgrading I had heavy lags on browsing the internet with mozilla firefox.
Videos on youtube were not smooth (the audio stream was ok and this brought me to reflect on the video driver issue).
After upgrading the video card driver, I solved the issues.
Regarding the possibility to extract or make a module from a folder, you have to write the command on a shell.

For example:
To activate a module: activate /path/to/module/something.xzm
To extract the content of a module, create a temporary directory and then extract its content:
mkdir tmp
xzm2dir /path/to/module/something.xzm /tmp
To make a module from a directory:
dir2xzm /path/to/dir/ something.xzm

Porteus Nemesis is very new but it has a huge potential.
Take in consideration that I solved my problems and that today I am able again to compile Android stuff on Linux.

Regards,

kalo86

gezer33
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 10:58
Distribution: porteus xfce
Location: USA

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#12 by gezer33 » 18 Dec 2015, 12:50

kalo86 wrote:If you have a 6th gen processor, you should have to upgrade the graphic driver, I solved the issue in this way.
Before upgrading I had heavy lags on browsing the internet with mozilla firefox.
Videos on youtube were not smooth (the audio stream was ok and this brought me to reflect on the video driver issue).
After upgrading the video card driver, I solved the issues.
Regarding the possibility to extract or make a module from a folder, you have to write the command on a shell.

For example:
To activate a module: activate /path/to/module/something.xzm
To extract the content of a module, create a temporary directory and then extract its content:
mkdir tmp
xzm2dir /path/to/module/something.xzm /tmp
To make a module from a directory:
dir2xzm /path/to/dir/ something.xzm

Porteus Nemesis is very new but it has a huge potential.
Take in consideration that I solved my problems and that today I am able again to compile Android stuff on Linux.

Regards,

kalo86
Thank you for your answer.
I don't know how to upgrade the graphic driver.
Could you explain how can I do it.
Thanks in advanced.

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#13 by kalo86 » 18 Dec 2015, 15:08

Hi, you're welcome!
When I return at home I will upload the xzm module and send here the link to download it.
You will have only to put that module on the modules folder on Porteus Nemesis.

News: a new release of Porteus Nemesis has been released (v3.4)

Regards,

kalo86

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#14 by kalo86 » 18 Dec 2015, 18:38

Hi, as promised here you can download the new Intel driver: http://www.filedropper.com/xf86-video-i ... c5-3-x8664

Regards,

kalo86

gezer33
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 10:58
Distribution: porteus xfce
Location: USA

Re: Porteus doesn't run with 6th Generation intel

Post#15 by gezer33 » 19 Dec 2015, 10:53

kalo86 wrote:Hi, as promised here you can download the new Intel driver: http://www.filedropper.com/xf86-video-i ... c5-3-x8664

Regards,

kalo86
Thank you, it worked. You are so helpful.
I have another question.
To run a script during boot, I used to change rc.local (write the script) and put the rc.local into /etc/rc.d/ by using module.
But I don't know what to do to run a script during boot right after the modules boot onto ram. I tried find something by searching "run script during boot systemd".
I tried something I found but didn't work for me.
Can you help me on this.
Oh actually I have another question: login=root cheatcode doesn't work to login as root. Do you know what to do?
Thanks in advance.

Post Reply