Touch screen Acer Aspire U

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
michiel.visser
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 01:08
Distribution: 3.5.0
Location: Netherlands

Touch screen Acer Aspire U

Post#1 by michiel.visser » 12 Dec 2015, 13:00

I have a acer Aspire, and Kiosk is working fine. Now only problem I have is that the site I am displaying is a survey where people are ranking the customer service with a 1-5 star rating. It works fine with a mouse and left mouse click on the Acer and on other touchscreens from Ipad and mobile phones. Now on the Acer touchscreen, when you rank, it is not registered like a left mouse click. You have to double tap, and that isn't working wel, because you have to touch the exact same spot. So when you touch the star where you want it, it isn't realy behaving like a left mouse button, unless you double tap. And that isn't quite idiot proof. Is there a way to make the screen behave like a left mouse button?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Touch screen Acer Aspire U

Post#2 by fanthom » 12 Dec 2015, 15:36

Hello michiel.visser,

Have you upgraded to kiosk 3.6.0 release already? If not then please do and check if the issue is fixed. If its not fixed then please generate debug report in the wizard and send it to support@porteus-kiosk.org.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

carlrjr
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Mar 2016, 19:52
Distribution: 3.7
Location: US

Re: Touch screen Acer Aspire U

Post#3 by carlrjr » 02 Mar 2016, 20:37

With version 3.7 I have the same problem with Dell 3010 Chromebox and Acer 20" monitor model FT200HQL having the following calibration results:

touchscreen_calibration="ILITEK ILITEK Multi-Touch" "Evdev Axis Calibration" 32 32 11021 -49 6146

But it does not happen with this monitor:

touchscreen_calibration="eGalax Inc. USB TouchController" "Evdev Axis Calibration" 32 1988 52 1909 108

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Touch screen Acer Aspire U

Post#4 by fanthom » 02 Mar 2016, 22:00

Hello carlrjr,

Proprietary eGalax driver may be needed to get the touch event recognized as single click. Please contact me through the customized builds service if you are interested:
porteus-kiosk.org/builds.html

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

carlrjr
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Mar 2016, 19:52
Distribution: 3.7
Location: US

Re: Touch screen Acer Aspire U

Post#5 by carlrjr » 03 Mar 2016, 15:37

Thanks for the prompt reply!

The eGalax Inc. driver works; it's the ILITEK (Acer) giving me grief.

Both eGalax Inc. and Acer monitors respond to a single touch properly during kiosk Setup. I must double-tap to type on screen or select only after booting the 'burned' ISO. I tested both 3.6 and 3.7 today.

Could this be a simple config file fix since the Setup ISO is working?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Touch screen Acer Aspire U

Post#6 by fanthom » 03 Mar 2016, 17:31

I think you are using Chrome?
Please remaster installation ISO -> edit 003-settings.xzm/etc/xdg/openbox/autostart -> comment out this line:

Code: Select all

# Activate touch gestures for Chrome:
#[ "$chrome" ] && { id=`xinput_calibrator --list | head -n1 | cut -s -d= -f2-`; [ "$id" ] && echo -e "--touch-devices=$id\n--enable-pinch" >> $chflags; }
Let me know if that helped.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

carlrjr
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Mar 2016, 19:52
Distribution: 3.7
Location: US

Re: Touch screen Acer Aspire U

Post#7 by carlrjr » 10 Mar 2016, 19:43

I was away from work for a few days, I'm back now...

Commenting out that line and rebuilding the ISO, and reinstalling caused no change, the issue persists.
Yes, I am using Chrome, but I must also double-touch buttons on the Shutdown/Restart menu, so it is not browser specific.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Touch screen Acer Aspire U

Post#8 by fanthom » 10 Mar 2016, 20:04

Do you do the calibration in the wizard? Maybe it's messing the touch settings?

Please post your kiosk config (hash out sensitive data).

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

carlrjr
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Mar 2016, 19:52
Distribution: 3.7
Location: US

Re: Touch screen Acer Aspire U

Post#9 by carlrjr » 10 Mar 2016, 20:23

Many thanks again for your work on this; I really appreciate your time.
I did use the wizard for touchscreen_calibration= but unfortunately the result is the same with or without the last line hashed out:

Code: Select all

[[GLOBAL]]
kiosk_config=webserver/myconfig.txt
connection=wifi
network_interface=wlan0
dhcp=yes
wifi_encryption=wpa
ssid_name=wireless
wpa_password=##########
proxy_config=
browser=chrome
screen_settings=HDMI1:1600x900:59.98:normal:normal:normal
enable_file_protocol=yes
homepage=http://webserver
disable_navigation_bar=yes
allow_icmp_protocol=yes
primary_keyboard_layout=us
hide_mouse=1
persistence=session
allow_popup_windows=yes
disable_private_mode=yes
removable_devices=yes
root_password=##########
shutdown_combination=yes
timezone=US/Central
vnc_interactive=yes
vnc_password=##########
wallpaper=http://webserver/background.png
additional_components=uefi.zip 08-ssh.xzm 09-x11vnc.xzm

[[2-2E-7ED-CD-7A]]
hostname=wilzk02
# touchscreen_calibration="ILITEK ILITEK Multi-Touch" "Evdev Axis Calibration" 32 32 11021 -49 6146

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Touch screen Acer Aspire U

Post#10 by fanthom » 10 Mar 2016, 21:10

Lets recreate wizard scenario. Please add these parameters to PCID section:

Code: Select all

screen_settings=
disable_navigation_bar=no
hide_mouse=
If that wont help then i have no other ideas ...
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

carlrjr
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Mar 2016, 19:52
Distribution: 3.7
Location: US

Re: Multi-Touch screen Acer double-tap SOLVED

Post#11 by carlrjr » 10 Mar 2016, 21:39

Removing the hide_mouse= parameter did the trick, thanks!
I can now use the Acer monitors in my training environment and maintain current eGalax driver functionality.

:Bravo:

You guys rock!

Post Reply