Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Arch based Porteus community project
Locked
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5553
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#61 by brokenman » 27 Nov 2015, 16:00

@aus9
I will check out arc2xzm. It should extract the package if it is installed.

@Beny
Yes the errors will return but the shutdown doesn't hang. preshutdown is a script that removes the errors by attempting to unmount everything before giving the task to systemd-shutdown. I think if it fails in any way (perhaps not returning 0) then systemd-shutdown waits for it. I have to tweak it some more. Thanks for testing.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 205
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#62 by roadie » 27 Nov 2015, 16:24

@aus9

I haven't had any problems with arc2xzm....I wonder if you're using it for what it's intended? I used it to extract system files, not from an xz pkg.

arc2xzm colordiff.....if colordiff is installed, arc2xzm will repack it to an xzm

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3315
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#63 by Ed_P » 27 Nov 2015, 23:27

brokenman wrote:
New problem, it doesn't wake when opening the netbook's lid. Some kind of a colored circle on a black screen.
That's the screen lock. Just type your password and hit enter.
Actually it's not my password that is required, it is root's. toor.
brokenman wrote:
Newest problem, unable to update the config/network file. It's read only!!
Yes. You are booting from a read only ISO no? In this case please edit the same config files in /etc/porteus.d and then run the boot-network* script in /usr/local/sbin
Unfortunately the easy config files in the root of the drive require a writable media. They are copied to /etc/porteus.d just in case you don't have writable media. The script in /usr/local/sbin (with the boot- prefix) run these config files. You can run them after you boot no problem.
Unfortunately....

Code: Select all

oot ~ # boot-network-setup
------
Line 261:
Fri Nov 27 15:22:12 UTC 2015
------
------
Line 69:
Ignore set to yes in config.
------
root ~ # cat /etc/porteus.d/network
### Network config file.
### Options listed here will be parsed at boot.
### Options must be listed one per line without space before them.

## IMPORTANT - If you use a graphical network manager then set Ignore=yes in this file

### This option means the file will be ignored at boot.
### Uncomment this if you will manually setup your network or
### another application handles the setup.
Ignore=yes

### Give this configuration profile a name. This can be used from
### inside netctl to switch between profiles after boot. If this
### profile already exists as a nemesis module it will be skipped.
### Please use a human friendly name without special characters.
### This option is obligatory.
Profile=wired

################################################
### Standard settings (most common)
################################################

### This option sets an ethernet (wired) or wireless network card.
### This option allows: ethernet or wireless
Connection=wireless

### This option is the name of your network device.
### A single ethernet card has the name: eth0
### A single wireless card has the name: wlan0
Interface=wlan0
....
it didn't work. The NetworkManager applet still did not show wireless networks.

I commented out the Ignore=yes option and retried the boot- command but it didn't change the results.

When making the Network changes I had a save.dat file active, via the changes=EXIT cheatcode, but when I rebooted the Network changes were gone.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3315
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#64 by Ed_P » 28 Nov 2015, 06:11

The latest tests.

Changed changes=EXIT/porteus3.x/porteussave.dat to changes=/porteus3.x/porteussave.dat.

Booted to guest.
Checked thee /etc/porteus.d/ folder. My backup network file not there.
Switched logon to root.
Renamed the network file to networkBK.
Copied my copy of the network file, with the wireless/wlan0 changes/ to /etc/porteus.d
In LXTerminal executed boot-network-setup.
No Wireless shown in NetworkManager applet.
Switched logon to guest.
No Wireless shown in NetworkManager applet.
Switched logon to root.
Commented out Ignore=yes option in the /etc/Porteus.d/network file.
In LXterminal executed boot-network-setup
No Wireless shown in NetworkManager applet.
Switched logon to guest.
No Wireless shown in NetworkManager applet.
Rebooted
Loggedon on as guest
No Wireless shown in NetworkManager applet.
Checked the /etc/porteus.d folder. My networkBK file is present. changes= working :good:
Checked the /etc/porteus.d/network file. The wireless/wlan0 changes are not there. changes= not working. :(
:wall:
Ed

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#65 by Ahau » 28 Nov 2015, 06:49

@brokenman, systemctl commands don't affect my shutdown hangs, I've only experienced them at the very end of shutdown after the handoff back to /mnt/live/shutdown. I re-downloaded the iso and have tried it in vbox as well, with the same result, it still seems related to the halt command not executing properly through busybox.

I'm booting without changes, so that may be why I'm not experiencing the hangs earlier in the shutdown process.

HTH
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 730
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#66 by beny » 28 Nov 2015, 10:59

hi Ahau i have run the brokenman script and no hang at shutdown,i have changes active only the errors to umount /mnt/live/modules

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#67 by aus9 » 28 Nov 2015, 14:25

possible bug. umounting a mounted USB stick causes PCManFM to close, which is not expected.

I have used no changes= cheatcode to check this.

insert USB stick, media name appears in FM but without configs does not automount....which is not the issue
click the new entry and mounting occurs.....as expected
eject icon also appears

click eject icon and FM exits without warning

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#68 by Ahau » 28 Nov 2015, 17:18

@beny

Open a terminal and type the command 'halt'. Enter your password if you are not already root. The system will go through the entire shutdown process then hang right as it is supposed to turn off. If you use the command "poweroff", "reboot", or if you shutdown through the gui buttons, this hang will not occur.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 730
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#69 by beny » 28 Nov 2015, 17:54

hi right on this, hang on umount everything else, maybe systemd have something to do with that?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5553
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#70 by brokenman » 28 Nov 2015, 18:47

@Ed_P
This is most perplexing. Please give the output of:
nmcli c
nmcli l
nmcli a
nmcli n
nmcli g
click eject icon and FM exits without warning
Does it happen if you change to another directory outside of the place you are removing.

I don't use the 'halt' command. I only use 'poweroff' or 'shutdown' but I still experienced these hangs after doing some complicated mounting such as a chroot somewhere, then activating a few modules.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 730
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#71 by beny » 28 Nov 2015, 19:58

halt -f give the same hang,maybe is a different way of systemd to look at runlevel,i use the menu' to stop system and work ok.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5553
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#72 by brokenman » 28 Nov 2015, 21:21

shutdown and reboot are aliased to = systemctl poweroff
halt is aliased to = systemctl halt

cat /root/.bashrc
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3315
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#73 by Ed_P » 28 Nov 2015, 21:42

brokenman wrote:@Ed_P
This is most perplexing. Please give the output of:
nmcli c
nmcli l
nmcli a
nmcli n
nmcli g

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ nmcli c
NAME                UUID                                  TYPE            DEVICE 
Wired connection 1  dec876de-d07a-4a56-8667-f40bcff31186  802-3-ethernet  --     
guest ~ $ nmcli l
Error: Object 'l' is unknown, try 'nmcli help'.
guest ~ $ nmcli 1
Error: Object '1' is unknown, try 'nmcli help'.
guest ~ $ nmcli a
nmcli successfully registered as a NetworkManager's secret agent.

** (process:1773): WARNING **: Unable to register authentication agent: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.PolicyKit1.Error.Failed: An authentication agent already exists for the given subject
^C
Error: nmcli terminated by signal Interrupt (2)
guest ~ $ nmcli n
enabled
guest ~ $ nmcli g
STATE         CONNECTIVITY  WIFI-HW  WIFI     WWAN-HW  WWAN    
disconnected  none          enabled  enabled  enabled  enabled 
guest ~ $ 
guest ~ $ su
Password: 
Failed to connect to bus: Operation not permitted
root /home/guest # nmcli c
NAME                UUID                                  TYPE            DEVICE 
Wired connection 1  dec876de-d07a-4a56-8667-f40bcff31186  802-3-ethernet  --     
root /home/guest # nmcli l
Error: Object 'l' is unknown, try 'nmcli help'.
root /home/guest # nmcli 1
Error: Object '1' is unknown, try 'nmcli help'.
root /home/guest # nmcli a
nmcli successfully registered as a NetworkManager's secret agent.

** (process:1797): WARNING **: Unable to register authentication agent: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.PolicyKit1.Error.Failed: An authentication agent already exists for the given subject
^C
Error: nmcli terminated by signal Interrupt (2)
root /home/guest # nmcli n
enabled
root /home/guest # nmcli g
STATE         CONNECTIVITY  WIFI-HW  WIFI     WWAN-HW  WWAN    
disconnected  none          enabled  enabled  enabled  enabled 
root /home/guest #
Ed

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#74 by aus9 » 28 Nov 2015, 23:15

chroot and shutdown problems

I experienced those shutdown problems when I used a changes= cheatcode, just rebooted and without any changes= cheatcode and found a new error

Code: Select all

root /tmp # cd squashfs-root/
root /tmp/squashfs-root # systemd-nspawn
Spawning container squashfs-root on /tmp/squashfs-root.
Press ^] three times within 1s to kill container.
Failed to connect to bus: No such file or directory
root ~ # exit
logout
Container squashfs-root failed with error code 123
I will choose shutdown to see if I get similar shutdown delays

EDIT
No shutdown delays by not using any changes= cheatcode.

I might add, that I think its safer to not use changes= cheatcode to prevent something appearing in changes dir as well if I choose to chroot.
To be more blunt, you can have a script remove certain things from your changes dir without having to address the appearance of the .whitelist entries if you had chosen changes cheatcode

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5553
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#75 by brokenman » 29 Nov 2015, 15:27

@Ed_P
From the output it appears that your wifi is enabled.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Locked