Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Arch based Porteus community project
Locked
aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#106 by aus9 » 03 Dec 2015, 05:16

ed

sorry its out of sequence

after you copy the wl.ko to that folder then as root do this

Code: Select all

depmod -a
modprobe wl
I don't have a broadcomdevice but lsmod | grep wl (shows a hit for that module is loaded)

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3402
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#107 by Ed_P » 03 Dec 2015, 06:04

Holey Crap!!!

I'm posting this from Porteus 3.3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I rebooted to change the seq of commands aus9 gave me and the NetworkManager app showed Wi-Fi Networks!!! I connected to my home one, then used pacman to download firefox and here I am. :good:

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ ifconfig
eth0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether b8:70:f4:ef:57:5d  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

eth1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.200.212  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.200.255
        inet6 2604:6000:1010:406b:62d8:19ff:fe1a:a1fc  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 fe80::62d8:19ff:fe1a:a1fc  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 60:d8:19:1a:a1:fc  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 32645  bytes 49338445 (47.0 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 1714
        TX packets 17957  bytes 1432998 (1.3 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 19  

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 110  bytes 7218 (7.0 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 110  bytes 7218 (7.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

guest ~ $ 
So apparently the network changes I made previously got saved in my save.dat file and do work!!! :Yahoo!:

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ pacman -S firefox
error: you cannot perform this operation unless you are root.
guest ~ $ su
Password: 
Failed to connect to bus: Operation not permitted
root /home/guest # pacman -S firefox
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...

Packages (5) hunspell-1.3.3-2  icu-56.1-1  mime-types-9-1  mozilla-common-1.4-4
             firefox-42.0-2

Total Download Size:    50.31 MiB
Total Installed Size:  128.55 MiB

:: Proceed with installation? [Y/n] Y
:: Retrieving packages ...
 mozilla-common-1.4-...  1180.0   B  1152K/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
 mime-types-9-1-any        14.6 KiB   256K/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
 icu-56.1-1-x86_64          8.0 MiB   858K/s 00:10 [######################] 100%
 hunspell-1.3.3-2-x86_64  185.6 KiB   947K/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
 firefox-42.0-2-x86_64     42.1 MiB   801K/s 00:54 [######################] 100%
(5/5) checking keys in keyring                     [######################] 100%
(5/5) checking package integrity                   [######################] 100%
(5/5) loading package files                        [######################] 100%
(5/5) checking for file conflicts                  [######################] 100%
(5/5) checking available disk space                [######################] 100%
(1/5) installing mozilla-common                    [######################] 100%
relogin or source /etc/profile.d/mozilla-common.sh
(2/5) installing mime-types                        [######################] 100%
(3/5) installing icu                               [######################] 100%
(4/5) installing hunspell                          [######################] 100%
Optional dependencies for hunspell
    perl: for ispellaff2myspell [installed]
(5/5) installing firefox                           [######################] 100%
Optional dependencies for firefox
    networkmanager: Location detection via available WiFi networks [installed]
    gst-plugins-good: h.264 video
    gst-libav: h.264 video
    upower: Battery API
root /home/guest # 
The firefox app didn't create a module and isn't in my modules folder nor was I prompted to create a module. Does this mean the new Porteus isn't going to be module based anymore??


But I'm online and posting on Porteus 3.3. Image

Thank you guys. :friends: Especially you Image aus9 for the driver module.

This is what makes Porteus special.
Ed

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 206
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#108 by roadie » 03 Dec 2015, 06:29

Glad to see you online Ed_P
I'm wondering about that ifconfig though....I'm thinking it should show wlan0 not eth1.

No, pacman won't build a module, but pman will.....pman is actually one neat lil program. It will install what you grab, then build an xzm for you. If it all works out, it'll put it in your modules folder too.

No, it don't do windows...yet.

Igor
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 51
Joined: 05 Feb 2014, 14:16
Distribution: porteus

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#109 by Igor » 03 Dec 2015, 10:18

.
Last edited by Igor on 04 Dec 2015, 16:51, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3402
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#110 by Ed_P » 03 Dec 2015, 15:06

roadie wrote:Glad to see you online Ed_P
I'm wondering about that ifconfig though....I'm thinking it should show wlan0 not eth1.
Thank you. When wi-fi works on this machine ifconfig shows my wi-fi as eth1 regardless of which version of Porteus I run it on. 2.1, 3.0.1 or 3.3. So I don't think it is a fluke. Strange but consistent.
No, pacman won't build a module, but pman will.....pman is actually one neat lil program. It will install what you grab, then build an xzm for you. If it all works out, it'll put it in your modules folder too.
Excellent. :good: Thank you. :friends:
Igor wrote:@Ed_P Congratulations!
Thank you. :)
As you grimly joked: "this is what makes Porteus special."
No joke, the people on this forum are phenomenal and are what make Porteus a place for newbies to stay and to learn.

@brokenman This might be a bug too: viewtopic.php?f=137&t=5272
Ed

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 206
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#111 by roadie » 03 Dec 2015, 16:48

@Ed_P

No matter what your machine calls it, if it works it's good. I think you'll find Pman to be very useful with this Porteus.

@igor

I can do without a lot of blood spilled, especially at my age. Is your touchpad and keyboard thing an Arch bug, or is it only with Porteus?

Igor
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 51
Joined: 05 Feb 2014, 14:16
Distribution: porteus

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#112 by Igor » 03 Dec 2015, 18:53

.
Last edited by Igor on 04 Dec 2015, 16:51, edited 1 time in total.

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 206
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#113 by roadie » 03 Dec 2015, 19:17

Igor wrote:@roadie Thanks. Logitech wireless keyboard with touchpad does not work randomly and for a long time and freezes in text and in graphics modes only in versions 3.2 and 3.3. In earlier versions of the Nemesis everything worked fine.

I get the random freezing too, but I don't use the touchpad so haven't looked into it. I think it's an Arch bug though because my build is from a Manjaro core and Porteus tools are a seperate mod and the freeze is there either way. I break up everything into seperate mods, sure makes bug hunts easier.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#114 by brokenman » 03 Dec 2015, 21:35

Brokenman solemnly and firmly refused to withdraw Porteus-tools in a separate module
Really, it is not that difficult. Everything in /usr/local is added for Porteus. Why would I want to put a video driver into the text-only module? Or a gtk script? Having all Porteus specific items in one module is senseless to me. If people want to strip systems down to bare minimum (which many have asked for) how will they separate everything they don't need.
Why do I need this?
I often ask myself the same question. Nobody has the answer but the person that asks it.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 575
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#115 by tome » 03 Dec 2015, 22:39

Neko has made separate modules for porteus-nemesis specific items for his ISO, (probably he has post somewhere script for extracting any content/package from base modules)
viewtopic.php?f=137&t=5066&start=30#p38989

But maybe keeping porteus specific items as simple list in /var/log/packages would be an option?
Why do I need this?
Probably because some people would make Porteus from their distros by adding to it porteus items and configuration files :D

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 990
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#116 by neko » 05 Dec 2015, 08:38

@tome
The reason that original 'nemesis' modules were separated is mainly in order to update modules.

For example,
original '001-core.xzm' were separated to '001-core.xzm' and '001.1-core.xzm' in porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso.

'001-core.xzm' module includes a 'filesystem' package.
'filesystem' package includes an account data
(/etc/group,/etc/gshadow,/etc/passwd,/etc/shadow).

If 'filesystem' package in '001-core.xzm' is updated,
the modified account data configuring in '001-core.xzm' will be cleared.
Therefore,the modified account configuration is included in '001.1-core.xzm' module.

Thanks.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#117 by brokenman » 05 Dec 2015, 13:04

Probably because some people would make Porteus from their distros by adding to it porteus items and configuration files
If only it were that easy, the linux life would be grand.

Another way to manage updates to the system is to have a universal settings module (009-settings.xzm) where all your modified config files go.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#118 by brokenman » 06 Dec 2015, 00:24

Just a heads up. After many frustrating hours of looking at configurations I built arch without systemd. All seems stable, no errors and configuration suddenly becomes a piece of cake once again.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3402
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#119 by Ed_P » 06 Dec 2015, 01:54

We follow you Oh Master. Whatever road you take. Image
Ed

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.3 BUG REPORTS

Post#120 by aus9 » 07 Dec 2015, 10:03

I know there is going to be a new build but like to report a possible bug against pman, when you attempt to abort the download etc

example only, for brokenman to consider if relevant or not

as root....I chose n for NOOOOOO

the blinking thing discovered my own PKBUILD generated new build sitting in /tmp

that does save me having to run <pkg2xzm something.xz> but IMHO it should bork?

Code: Select all

pman -S mbedtls
resolving dependencies...
looking for conflicting packages...

Packages (1) mbedtls-2.1.3-1

Total Download Size:   0.46 MiB
Total Installed Size:  2.87 MiB

:: Proceed with installation? [Y/n] n
 Decompressing mbedtls-2.2.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz 
cp: cannot stat ‘/var/lib/pacman/local/mbedtls-2.2.0-1*’: No such file or directory
 Stripping mbedtls-2.2.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz 

 Size before strip: 
 2.3M
 Size after strip: 
 1.3M

Parallel mksquashfs: Using 4 processors
Creating 4.0 filesystem on /tmp/mbedtls-2.2.0-1-x86_64.pkg.xzm, block size 262144.
[===========================================================================================================================/] 51/51 100%

Exportable Squashfs 4.0 filesystem, xz compressed, data block size 262144
	compressed data, compressed metadata, compressed fragments, compressed xattrs
	duplicates are removed
Filesystem size 293.37 Kbytes (0.29 Mbytes)
	24.93% of uncompressed filesystem size (1176.99 Kbytes)
Inode table size 574 bytes (0.56 Kbytes)
	28.42% of uncompressed inode table size (2020 bytes)
Directory table size 734 bytes (0.72 Kbytes)
	47.08% of uncompressed directory table size (1559 bytes)
Number of duplicate files found 0
Number of inodes 62
Number of files 50
Number of fragments 4
Number of symbolic links  3
Number of device nodes 0
Number of fifo nodes 0
Number of socket nodes 0
Number of directories 9
Number of ids (unique uids + gids) 1
Number of uids 1
	root (0)
Number of gids 1
	root (0)

296K	/tmp/mbedtls-2.2.0-1-x86_64.pkg.xzm

 Operation completed successfully. 
The following modules were copied to your modules folder:
/mnt/sda3/porteus/modules

mbedtls-2.2.0-1-x86_64.pkg.xzm

root /tmp # ls -al
snip
-rw-r--r--  1 guest users 411820 Dec  7 17:48 mbedtls-2.2.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

ls -al $MODDIR | grep mbed
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   303104 Dec  7 17:52 mbedtls-2.2.0-1-x86_64.pkg.xzm

Locked