Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Arch based Porteus community project
Locked
User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#91 by ncmprhnsbl » 20 Nov 2015, 08:09

usb drive inserted after bootup is mounted in /run/media/guest/ as ElectriQT mentioned..
i imagine if you booted noauto , anything would be mounted here(when mounted)..

tested locales>works for me
Last edited by brokenman on 24 Nov 2015, 12:05, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: lock
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#92 by aus9 » 20 Nov 2015, 08:51

ncmprhnsbl

EDIT

Thanks heaps I have edit my earlier post about how to run makepkg based on your reply.
I have also added that the builder needs to use the -f switch if the package already exists as package -and- same-release number
----it will for any package in their core etc.

2) I falsely raised locales as a bug as I had a blonde moment and forgot to edit my /config/modules :oops:

It is not true that I drink the beer called "pure blond" but if you send over some free samples who is to know?
:D
Last edited by aus9 on 20 Nov 2015, 23:31, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#93 by brokenman » 20 Nov 2015, 13:40

Ed_P Can you right click on the applet and see anything line 'enable networking' or 'enable wifi'?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

sfs
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 28
Joined: 20 Apr 2013, 19:30
Distribution: Arch
Location: ru
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#94 by sfs » 20 Nov 2015, 14:13

Russian Nemesis bugfix version. Download
Last edited by sfs on 23 Nov 2015, 06:25, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3063
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#95 by Ed_P » 20 Nov 2015, 16:37

brokenman wrote:Ed_P Can you right click on the applet and see anything line 'enable networking' or 'enable wifi'?
Yes. I played around with it more last night and found the right click options.

With a fresh reboot, right clicking opens to:

Code: Select all

Enable Networking
Enable Notifications
Connection Information (greyed out)
Edit Connections...
About
If I click on Enable Networking, wait a minute then move mouse over the applet I get the "Network disabled" banner again.
If I click on Edit Connections I get a window showing "Ethernet Wired connection 1 28 mins ago" No WiFi showing.

If I click on +Add choose Wi-Fi, then Create I get a window titled Editing WiFi connection 1. But my WiFi doesn't show. I can manually add my connections specs but I still don't connect to it.

As an aside, if I open PCManFM it doesn't show the USB drive I'm booted from!! I have a script on it to invoke the pkill commands you suggested. I can see the hard drive's user partitions but not the system partitions, or the USB drive's. Strange.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#96 by brokenman » 20 Nov 2015, 21:11

Ed_P in a root console issue: gvfs-partition-toggle sda2 <-- enter your boot device here. See if this addds it to pcmanfm.

I will be out for a few days while I recover data.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#97 by aus9 » 21 Nov 2015, 07:27

Just saw your machine has died sorry to hear that.

I am not sure if you like me sucking eggs but for a scatter file system like Xubuntu/Debian etc I would recommend you consider using a live cd and fsarchiver. I use sysresccd on a stick. In case you never used it before, its on the Gentoo based sysresccd

Here are my commands to first save the partition and then restore the partition.
Depending on the size, you can either cloud the images or burn the images or if you think USB is safe? copy the images.

sysresccd can be booted up to console (no graphics) and automatically you are root I think? but sudo su if I am wrong

Code: Select all

mkdir /z
mount /dev/sda4 /z
fsarchiver savefs /z/<filename>.fsa /dev/sda1


# restore
mkdir /z
mount /dev/sda4 /z
fsarchiver restorefs /z/<filename>.fsa id=0,dest=/dev/sda1
/z is easier to type than mkdir /mnt/something ....I like short typing command over larger as I am not a touch typist
replace <filename> with a real file....I keep a log and use letters (base26) . by looking up k....I can see its got x y deleted z etc
sda4 is where I save my images
sda1 is my Xubuntu.....change yours to suit.

I know you may have already bought it etc.....but I like ASUS mobos and my beast is Z97Mplus
It claims 7000 hours to validate it.

Naturally if you are buying a new mobo ask them to do the CPU burn in ....meaning stress test it
http://www.pcworld.com/article/2028882/ ... dware.html

spend the bucks to buy a decent mobo and half your problems go away.

good luck

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#98 by beny » 21 Nov 2015, 12:22

hi brokenman i have a strange thing on nemesis i have removed lxde to work only with the cli so to boot again i have to remove some file in /etc and /var,now i have the xfce4 instead lxde but the system don't start if i don't remove this files,i have rebuild kernel to 4.1.12-zen version and all work well,i have problem with nvidia driver on 4.3 kernel,now the unmount of live system work well.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#99 by brokenman » 21 Nov 2015, 12:47

@aus9
The data is safe. I have a good backup system. Just a pain in the ass to lose a nice machine and waste a day looking at it. It's power related so looks like I will need to take it to a laptop repair place. I just don't have the tools to test here.
i have to remove some file in /etc and /var
Which files do you have to remove? I had text mode running nicely.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#100 by beny » 21 Nov 2015, 17:10

/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/fstab
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/ld.so.cache
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/localtime
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/machine-id
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/mtab
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/os-release/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/.pwd.lock
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/.updated
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/dhcpcd.duid
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/environment
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/porteus.conf
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/resolv.conf
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/resolv.conf.bak
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/var/.updated
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/var/lock
i don't know if this is right or not but porteus do not start if i do not remove all files and now i have xfce4 without boot manager,hang on starting porteus...........

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#101 by brokenman » 22 Nov 2015, 14:52

Yes, this has been discussed.
/run/media/root/7db0d9a5-6ffe-4bea-b226-52b11f8ffebb/porteus/changes/etc/mtab <--- is your problem file.

Next release addresses this.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#102 by brokenman » 23 Nov 2015, 23:14

I will be pushing a new ISO soon. I am experiencing a lot of freezes and other nasties in changes mode on one particular machine. It is not making me very happy. :wall:
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Locked