Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Arch based Porteus community project
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#76 by brokenman » 19 Nov 2015, 20:29

Anyone having crashes in firefox v42 (I'm not getting this) can you please start it from a console and record any other data possible about the crash. I have tried to max it out with panels, flash videos, everything. I can't even make it crash.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3072
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#77 by Ed_P » 19 Nov 2015, 21:45

IMO & FWIW A newbie will stick with a new distro if the following things work:

It boots
the screen works
the keyboard works
the mouse/touchpad works
the NIC or WiFi works

With these items working the user can get help to answer questions and find solutions to problems. If one or more is not working the newbie will move on.
beny wrote:you have to install iw from repos is a tool to scan wifi device,with ip link you have the name of your wifi device the arch wiki wireless network config is a good start point
I know what you're trying to tell me beny, and I appreciate it, but I don't know, yet, how to do those things. ie install isomething from repos.
brokenman wrote:Ed_P Do you mean the little applet in the panel doesn't let you connect to wifi? Please give more information if you are going to post in the bug reports section. Very difficult to troubleshoot without information.
Yes, I understand brokenman.

Mousing over the little applet in the panel bring up "No network connection". Clicking on the applet, which I can now do with v3.2, brings up a window that says:

Code: Select all

Ethernet Network
  disconnected
VPN Connections  >
The latter opens to:

Code: Select all

Configure VPN...
Disconnect VPN
Ed

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#78 by beny » 19 Nov 2015, 22:03

hi Ed_P sorry for that ,but when i don't use internet with my usual device i can try to downloads things by phone or android device and do a tranfert file.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3072
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#79 by Ed_P » 19 Nov 2015, 23:10

Oh I can download things with this pc beny, just not when it's booted to the current Porteus v3.2 iso. And with this version I don't know where to download things from or how to convert them into something this version supports and where to put them once converted. Everything is starting over with this version. :(
Ed

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#80 by aus9 » 19 Nov 2015, 23:36

posible bug .....setup-locale still not working for me for AU-UTF8

Code: Select all

 locale
LANG=en_US.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_NAME="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=
guest ~ $ ls $MODDIR
ca-certificates-cacert-20140824-2-any.pkg.xzm  glibc-locales-uni.xzm           obconf-2.0.4-3-x86_64.pkg.xzm     xf86-input-evdev-2.10.0-1-x86_64.pkg.xzm
en_AU.xzm                                      inxi-2.2.28-1-any.pkg.xzm       pacman-settings.xzm
git-2.6.2-1-x86_64.pkg.xzm                     mtpaint-3.40-15-x86_64.pkg.xzm  util-linux-2.27-6-x86_64.pkg.xzm
glibc-en_AU.xzm                                namcap-3.2.6-1-any.bundle.xzm   vlc-2.2.1-8-x86_64.bundle.xzm
en_AU.xzm
glibc-en_AU.xzm
glibc-locales-uni.xzm

Before reboot I checked they were all activated and they were and locale was wrong so did a full reboot and locale is still wrong.

PS I thought for one second that Igor's suggestion on mtab and util-linux might allow me to run

Code: Select all

pman -S util-linux
but on second reboot it was not enough

so for now still booting up without any changes= cheatcode

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#81 by aus9 » 19 Nov 2015, 23:44

unsure if ISO related bug or not

after installing obconf, and running it in a terminal I saw a number of errors relating to next bit
so I used root powers to upgrade package, but errors remain

obconf still opens and works though

Code: Select all

su
pman -S gdk-pixbuf2
snip
su guest


obconf

(obconf:2928): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_new: assertion 'height > 0' failed

(obconf:2928): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_fill: assertion 'GDK_IS_PIXBUF (pixbuf)' failed

(obconf:2928): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_copy_area: assertion 'src_pixbuf != NULL' failed

(obconf:2928): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_new: assertion 'height > 0' failed

(obconf:2928): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_fill: assertion 'GDK_IS_PIXBUF (pixbuf)' failed

(obconf:2928): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_copy_area: assertion 'src_pixbuf != NULL' failed

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#82 by beny » 19 Nov 2015, 23:50

hi if you have linux system download squash-tool and you can convert software like you want unpack software and dir2xzm after i with this kernel version do not have the video driver so i have to change kernel before

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#83 by aus9 » 19 Nov 2015, 23:59

unsure if this is a bug but time looks not right On a previous version setup-time did not work as the timezones were showing 2 timezones on each line
That has been fixed thanks, now one tz per line.

2) I set the system clock and next my timezone but I thought in the past build, there was an option to choose localtime versus UTC and that appears to be missing

3) I do note your kind mention of using the /config dir to save time configs over reboot but I am not sure if that allows for DST correction?
or do you hope that syncing with a timeserver resolves that? So better answer my own question eh?

changed my config/time to read
#Ignore=yes
TIMEZONE=Australia/Perth
NTP_SERVERS='203.0.178.191'
ENABLE_NTP=yes
As the Eastern states are on DST but Perth is not, on reboot time and date are correct so not a bug for config just an issue for setup-time for some low priority revisit?
Last edited by aus9 on 20 Nov 2015, 00:14, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#84 by brokenman » 20 Nov 2015, 00:13

I will release anotheer ISO with changes wworking this weekend.

For the locales I just tested in fresh mode. After downloading en_AU I found the locales working on next boot.
Before reboot locale showed en_US but localectl showed en_AU.
After reboot both showed en_AU. Are the glib and en_AU modules in your modules directory before reboot?

The gdk-pixbuf errors look ominous but they are just theme related errors.

I don't recall changing anything in the setup-time script. I have tested syncing with a time server and it is the ONLY way I can get correct time here with DST.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#85 by aus9 » 20 Nov 2015, 00:23

Are the glib and en_AU modules in your modules directory before reboot?
yes I showed them in the code box and in normal font

big edit, cos I am an idiot !

I forgot to blank out your config/modules that preserves en_US

not a bug sorry to waste time :oops:

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#86 by brokenman » 20 Nov 2015, 01:21

No harm done aus9. Your input thus far has been invaluable.

Thanks Ed_P. I think I mentioned this elsewhere but I will put it again here until the next ISO comes out. Please open a root terminal and issue:

Code: Select all

pkill wpa_supplicant
pkill netctl
systemctl start NetworkManager
Now your network manager applet should be working.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3072
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#87 by Ed_P » 20 Nov 2015, 03:38

brokenman wrote:Please open a root terminal and issue:

Code: Select all

pkill wpa_supplicant
pkill netctl
systemctl start NetworkManager
Now your network manager applet should be working.

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ su
Password: 
Failed to connect to bus: Operation not permitted
root /home/guest # pkill wpa-supplements
root /home/guest # pkill netctl
root /home/guest # systemctl start NetworkManager
root /home/guest # 
root /home/guest # networkmanager
bash: networkmanager: command not found
root /home/guest # NetworkManager
root /home/guest # 
root /home/guest # Still no network :-(
Network applet still not working and a Failed to connect to bus error when invoking root. :(

-edit-

I see my error. Will retry.

-update-

Retried.

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ su
Password: 
Failed to connect to bus: Operation not permitted
root /home/guest # pkill wpa_supplicant
root /home/guest # pkill netctl
root /home/guest # systemctl start NetworkManager
root /home/guest # 
root /home/guest # 
No change in Network Manager applet. Logged off and back on, still no change in the applet.
Ed

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#88 by aus9 » 20 Nov 2015, 04:10

@beny
hi if you have linux system download squash-tool
The core already has mksquashfs and unsquashfs commands in /usr/bin
xzm2dir and dir2xzm are in /usr/local/bin and that is in your pathway as well.

not sure about downloading squash-tool

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#89 by aus9 » 20 Nov 2015, 04:44

@brokenman

relating to ca-certicate issues for the update leading to 2 folders for ca-certificates and related matters
I have started a post about ABS here
viewtopic.php?f=137&t=5235

I haven't had time to run or modify the Official build script but at least I now have it.

EDIT due to post below by ncmprhnsbl.....plus I needed the force option as the package already exists
Thanks heaps

run as guest

Code: Select all

makepkg -f PKGBUILD
should build it but as I said have not had time will do so over next few days
Last edited by aus9 on 20 Nov 2015, 08:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 796
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#90 by ncmprhnsbl » 20 Nov 2015, 07:39

@aus9
pretty sure makepkg should be run as a normal user..
the wiki isnt very clear about this .... note the #(root) and $(normal) symbols in the code boxes..
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Locked