Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Arch based Porteus community project
Locked
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#1 by brokenman » 15 Nov 2015, 17:56

Post bug reports here.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1501
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#2 by Blaze » 15 Nov 2015, 19:44

Hi.

1. When i boot up Porteus Nemesis v3.2 i saw this header
Nemesis-3.1 64bit
2. This cheatcode login=root does not work for me.

Code: Select all

root ~ # cat /proc/cmdline
quiet initrd=initrd.xz changes=/mnt/sda4/nemesis/ login=root BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz 
root ~ #
Can you remove the authorization at boot up of Porteus Nemesis?

3. If i dont use my USB mouse

Code: Select all

Bus 003 Device 002: ID 0458:003a KYE Systems Corp. (Mouse Systems) NetScroll+ Mini Traveler / Genius NetScroll 120
5 seconds, my mouse is stop (she is light goes out).
She is only activated by pressing the buttons (left or right does not matter) of mouse.
It is bug repeated over and over again on my mouse.

4. Leafpad not default for txt files. I don't like notepad without syntax highlighting.
My suggestion is replace Leafpad on medit :good:

5. Please change layout from Shift+Caps Lock on Alt+Shift by deffault.

Thanks.
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#3 by brokenman » 15 Nov 2015, 21:07

Thanks Blaze.
This cheatcode login=root does not work for me.
There are quite a few cheatcodes that will not work. I will have to go through and remove the ones that don't from the docs, and add what I can.
Can you remove the authorization at boot up of Porteus Nemesis?
Yes. See the arch wiki on autologin for lxdm.
It is bug repeated over and over again on my mouse.
Is it firmware? How do you fix it?

Points 4 and 5 I will fix. Thanks.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#4 by aus9 » 15 Nov 2015, 23:38

This post only concerns itself with the ISO files.I know these may not be regarded as true bugs, but I mention them here in v3.2 so they hopefully are resolved in later rebuilds. sorry for not mentioning it earlier.

At this stage I download iso, mount it and unpack certain bits. I use grub2 from another distro to chainload to grub legacy sitting in the Partition Boot Record to then boot my Nemesis.
So I look at these files
boot/syslinux/lilo.cfg
boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg
boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg
IMHO, lilo should not show XFCE as I hope you won't try to maintain multiple desktops WM/DE but just one 64 bit and one 32 bit LXDE.
IMHO rename porteus.cfg to nemesis.cfg and then adjust syslinux.cfg to reflect new name

I am aware you have posted on what you think names should be, but I think reality will sneak in. That is, we will have some members not reading any sticky that might bluntly say in the future......no development support for Porteus based on Slackware please try our new Nemesis. You may hope archiving Porteus posts in the future might help but to my mind, free of beer :D keep it simple....use Porteus for Slackware and Nemesis for ArchLInux?

porteus.cfg appears to have at least one error, assuming one has a separate porteus build independent of nemesis.
eg first menu has changes=/porteus

##########################
The iso appears to use porteus, I deleted my old build stuff so can't even remember what the old ISO was. So above might make sense after all.

slinks away in disgrace

######################

Not entirely, just read the boot/docs

contains a file that should not be there called .......porteus-3.1*

#################
boot/docs/install.txt has
copy the folders 'boot' and 'nemesis'
This is an error as the folder is called porteus.

Plus potential error for members who have both porteus and nemesis, not paying attention to end up with changes in their porteus instead of being in nemesis?

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#5 by aus9 » 16 Nov 2015, 00:11

this post is only concerned with the dev module.....minor bug I agree

If the intention is to be consistent, the base modules use formula
000-something 001-something etc

the dev is missing one zero and is called 05-devel.xzm

I do agree that this will always be loaded last, but if that was the intention why not name it 999-devel.xzm?

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#6 by aus9 » 16 Nov 2015, 00:16

minor bug, location of USB_INSTALLATION.TXT
appears at root of iso.

should it be in boot/docs?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#7 by brokenman » 16 Nov 2015, 00:49

Thanks for the feedback. I will clean up the naming and versions in the next release. In the bigger picture it is probably smarter, as you recommend, to keep the naming different.

The naming for the 05-devel module is intentional. There is a base_only cheat that exists when we need to troubleshoot. It loads without rootcopy and only loads 3 digit 00X base modules. This is so we can ask someone to boot in this mode and be sure that no extra user modules are interfering. The 05-devel module exists in the base folder so it requires a different name. It also forces 05 to be loaded after other 00X modules. I guess naming it 999 is an option but the existing option was the option chosen previously.

The USB_INSTALLATION.TXT was moved out of the docs folder into the root some time ago in the hope that users will see it and read it.

EDIT:
There are also some missing icons for some gnome apps. I over stripped the icon theme and will have to take the time to go through and replace some of the button icons.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#8 by aus9 » 16 Nov 2015, 01:39

OK elected at this stage to burn a cdrw and boot it

var/log/porteus-livedbg shows ....
# Booting device:
/mnt/sr0
# Porteus data found in:
/mnt/sr0/porteus
# Changes are stored in:
memory
# Non standard /rootcopy dir:
none
# Modules activated during boot time:
/mnt/sr0/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
/mnt/sr0/porteus/base/001-core.xzm
/mnt/sr0/porteus/base/002-xorg.xzm
/mnt/sr0/porteus/base/003-lxde.xzm
so far so good

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
quiet initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz
^^ this was what I was expecting which is why I chose to try cd first but changes stored in memory so not a bug!!

#############
Here are possible bugs

mouse is locked, luckily its usb and so re-insert works
keyboard not all keys pressed work, re-insert cable works....luckily I am not a touch typist

Code: Select all

lsusb (snip)
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 046d:c05a Logitech, Inc. M90/M100 Optical Mouse
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 04d9:1605 Holtek Semiconductor, Inc.

Code: Select all

su
Password: 
Failed to connect to bus: Operation not permitted
^^ but I do get root

I still don't know systemd well but found
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Systemd

Code: Select all

systemctl list-units
systemctl restart <unit>
But I can't spot mouse or keyboard in the list unless its a part of udev or something.

For now pull the cable and re-insert works but I will need to check this on HD bootup later after I test cd a bit more.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 971
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#9 by ncmprhnsbl » 16 Nov 2015, 03:04

getting the mouse issue too(thought it was undetected , saw Blaze post and clicked which wakes it for some seconds)
then saw aus9 s post, tried replugging and this works... (no more sleeps)
all i say at the moment is this wasnt present in earlier versions...
@aus9 checkout https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Libinput

heres some xorg log bits ..startup and replug ...nothing here that i can see

Code: Select all

[     9.963] (II) config/udev: Adding input device Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse (/dev/input/event3)
[     9.963] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: Applying InputClass "evdev pointer catchall"
[     9.963] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: Applying InputClass "libinput pointer catchall"
[     9.963] (II) Using input driver 'libinput' for 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse'
[     9.963] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: always reports core events
[     9.963] (**) Option "Device" "/dev/input/event3"
[    10.138] (II) input device 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse', /dev/input/event3 is tagged by udev as: Mouse
[    10.138] (II) input device 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse', /dev/input/event3 is a pointer caps
[    10.151] (**) Option "config_info" "udev:/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:12.0/usb3/3-2/3-2:1.0/0003:046D:C03E.0001/input/input3/event3"
[    10.151] (II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse" (type: MOUSE, id 8)
[    10.152] (**) Option "AccelerationScheme" "none"
[    10.152] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: (accel) selected scheme none/0
[    10.152] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: (accel) acceleration factor: 2.000
[    10.152] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: (accel) acceleration threshold: 4
[    10.204] (II) input device 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse', /dev/input/event3 is tagged by udev as: Mouse
[    10.204] (II) input device 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse', /dev/input/event3 is a pointer caps
[    10.205] (II) config/udev: Adding input device Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse (/dev/input/mouse0)
[    10.205] (II) No input driver specified, ignoring this device.
[    10.205] (II) This device may have been added with another device file.
...............unplug
[  2232.416] (II) config/udev: removing device Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse
[  2232.421] (II) UnloadModule: "libinput"
..........plug in
[  2250.043] (II) config/udev: Adding input device Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse (/dev/input/mouse0)
[  2250.043] (II) No input driver specified, ignoring this device.
[  2250.043] (II) This device may have been added with another device file.
[  2250.106] (II) config/udev: Adding input device Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse (/dev/input/event3)
[  2250.106] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: Applying InputClass "evdev pointer catchall"
[  2250.106] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: Applying InputClass "libinput pointer catchall"
[  2250.106] (II) Using input driver 'libinput' for 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse'
[  2250.106] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: always reports core events
[  2250.106] (**) Option "Device" "/dev/input/event3"
[  2250.157] (II) input device 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse', /dev/input/event3 is tagged by udev as: Mouse
[  2250.157] (II) input device 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse', /dev/input/event3 is a pointer caps
[  2250.168] (**) Option "config_info" "udev:/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:12.0/usb3/3-2/3-2:1.0/0003:046D:C03E.0004/input/input23/event3"
[  2250.168] (II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse" (type: MOUSE, id 8)
[  2250.169] (**) Option "AccelerationScheme" "none"
[  2250.169] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: (accel) selected scheme none/0
[  2250.169] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: (accel) acceleration factor: 2.000
[  2250.169] (**) Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse: (accel) acceleration threshold: 4
[  2250.222] (II) input device 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse', /dev/input/event3 is tagged by udev as: Mouse
[  2250.222] (II) input device 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse', /dev/input/event3 is a pointer caps
other pointing device (wacom) worked no problem
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#10 by aus9 » 16 Nov 2015, 03:13

Not home at moment forgot to try bootcode waitusb=5

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#11 by brokenman » 16 Nov 2015, 04:11

Failed to connect to bus: Operation not permitted
I would love some help with this one. I am pretty sure it's an upstream systemd bug where users do not share a bus. When guest logins in only a seat is reserved for guest on the bus. When guest elevates to root, because root is not logged in and as such has no seat, it fails to connect to dbus. From memory I tried letting the root login linger and the error went away.

After you get you mouse working please run: /usr/local/bin/setup-mouse
See if this breaks the mouse again. The mouse and keyboard are driven by xinput. You can change configurations using this.
man xinput
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5079
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#12 by francois » 16 Nov 2015, 04:32

In vbox the system boots fine into lxde. But there is no eth0 or akin connection.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 971
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#13 by ncmprhnsbl » 16 Nov 2015, 04:53

after mouse replug

Code: Select all

root /home/guest # setup-mouse
unable to find device 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse'
unable to find device 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse'
unable to find device 'Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse'
mouse still working tho

Code: Select all

⎡ Virtual core pointer                    	id=2	[master pointer  (3)]
⎜   ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer              	id=4	[slave  pointer  (2)]
⎜   ↳ Wacom Intuos5 touch S Pad               	id=9	[slave  pointer  (2)]
⎜   ↳ Wacom Intuos5 touch S Pen               	id=10	[slave  pointer  (2)]
⎜   ↳ Wacom Intuos5 touch S Finger            	id=11	[slave  pointer  (2)]
⎜   ↳ Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse         	id=8	[slave  pointer  (2)]
⎣ Virtual core keyboard                   	id=3	[master keyboard (2)]
    ↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard             	id=5	[slave  keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Power Button                            	id=6	[slave  keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Power Button                            	id=7	[slave  keyboard (3)]
    ↳ AT Translated Set 2 keyboard            	id=12	[slave  keyboard (3)]
did try naming the mouse in /config/mouse before i realised it wasnt undetected.. but this made no difference .. this boot has ignore=yes set

also gnome-screenshot appears to missing libtool(dependency of libcanberra)

re gnome missing icons, strangely in gtk3-icon-browser they seem to be present in the browser(but not on the CSD window decorations or some gnome-mplayer buttons) ((gtk3 really doesnt like not having adwaita-icon-theme present lately..)
RE gtk3 app CSD(client-side-decorations) big black outline
this is the workaround i use:
add this file: called: gtk.css to ~/.config/gtk-3.0 with contents:

Code: Select all

.window-frame, .window-frame:backdrop {
  box-shadow: 0 0 0 black;
  border-style: none;
  margin: 0;
  border-radius: 0;
}

.titlebar {
  border-radius: 0;
}
this appended to whatever gtk3 theme is loaded.. basicly sets CSD to nothing
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 971
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#14 by ncmprhnsbl » 16 Nov 2015, 05:13

brokenman wrote: Failed to connect to bus: Operation not permitted
I would love some help with this one. I am pretty sure it's an upstream systemd bug where users do not share a bus. When guest logins in only a seat is reserved for guest on the bus. When guest elevates to root, because root is not logged in and as such has no seat, it fails to connect to dbus. From memory I tried letting the root login linger and the error went away.
not something i've seen in my full arch...
by 'linger', where?(ie at su, or password..) and how long?
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.2 BUG REPORTS

Post#15 by aus9 » 16 Nov 2015, 05:55

Guys I have read your ealier posts. I have just booted into cd with waitusb=5 and it did not solve my issue.

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
quiet initrd=initrd.xz waitusb=5 BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz
also there is no such kernel cheat code as per
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentatio ... meters.txt

but arch forum does mention it here
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php ... 63#p789763
but does not seem to mention it as a valid cheatcode for arch


2) Now in case its not obvious, I deleted the cheatcode of changes/porteus

The system boots but shows a small delay at the point with a kernel message
"start a job is running Network Manager"

I am not sure why there is a delay here as its an ethernet cable not an USB modem/router cable

3) But by putting in that cheatcode waitusb=5 it gave me a chance to see another message.......this is not bug but FYI
paraphase message, as it was too quick for me to record
"cheatcode changes=/porteus is missing"

@brokenman ....I am worried about that line......as I have attempted to boot into a kind of hd install. I know others have booted up OK so the error lies with me
but on my hd bootup it fails by not finding the sign file called porteus-3.2*.sgn even though I have it at the base of
/mnt/sda3/nemesis.....which is exactly where it is for the porteus folder as well but of course I different sign file. I did cheat and keep some files such as in modules so will re-visit this issue later.

4) back to the cd boot up. Possible bug on an USB keyboard, cd boot up, with no changes to /config or attempted firstrun etc etc
numlock led is ON
numlock fails
press numlock key....numlock now works

For those who wish it on, it looks HD installs can use wiki
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ac ... _on_Bootup

5) For those with HD bootups the mouse could be resolved with this wiki?
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Al ... ns_Working

6) bug resolved.....always end on a positive note eh!
my earlier post for the previous iso reported that when I opened a terminal I had an error paraphrased
"environment not set"
this error is no longer here thanks

7) also ethernet is up without any config needed on cd boot up
thanks
Last edited by aus9 on 16 Nov 2015, 06:05, edited 1 time in total.

Locked