switch_root: can't execute 'sbin/init': Permission denied

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
sofazen
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Nov 2015, 10:52
Distribution: ubuntu
Location: spain

switch_root: can't execute 'sbin/init': Permission denied

Post#1 by sofazen » 09 Nov 2015, 11:00

Hi,

Error: switch_root: can't execute 'sbin/init': Permission denied

I have followed all steps to create a firefox add-on integrated iso (which isn't so simple to me)
(All i want is to get the InlineDisposition add-on to be able to open PDF links in the kiosk !!)
(Following this thread: https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=102&t=1741 back and forth to find right sintaxes)

However, once burned two CDs, and redoing the process twice I am getting this error:
Error: switch_root: can't execute 'sbin/init': Permission denied

Could you shed any light about that?

Thanks!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: switch_root: can't execute 'sbin/init': Permission denie

Post#2 by fanthom » 10 Nov 2015, 15:27

Hello sofazen,

Never seen such error - you must have played with the ISO too hard. Please upload it somewhere and send me download link to support@porteus-kiosk.org so i can have a look what happened.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

sofazen
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Nov 2015, 10:52
Distribution: ubuntu
Location: spain

Re: switch_root: can't execute 'sbin/init': Permission denie

Post#3 by sofazen » 11 Nov 2015, 11:06

ISO uploaded, link and explanation sent by email.
Let me know if further information is required
Thank you!

sofazen
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Nov 2015, 10:52
Distribution: ubuntu
Location: spain

Re: switch_root: can't execute 'sbin/init': Permission denie

Post#4 by sofazen » 18 Nov 2015, 12:34

Was a challenge... but it is working now! ;-)

I was finally able to add a couple of add ons... I did so copying another firefox profile into the folder of xvm/003....
And finally create a 'user.js' as told in this thread by filterguy (thx):
I have solved problem by creating file "user.js" in profile folder including this:

Code: Select all
user_pref("extensions.shownSelectionUI", true);
user_pref("extensions.autoDisableScopes", 0);


Appreciate, Tomas!

Post Reply