Toshiba Kirabook touchpad doesn't work

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
gezer33
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 10:58
Distribution: porteus xfce
Location: USA

Toshiba Kirabook touchpad doesn't work

Post#1 by gezer33 » 07 Nov 2015, 09:07

I tried all 4 desktops but toshiba kirabook's (i7 pocessor) touchpad doesn't work.
In this foum I found Porteus Superfly, V 0.2 on viewtopic.php?f=79&t=452 and downloaed.
Its size is 80 mb. Surprisingly the touchpad works on this 80 mb porteus.
I tried to get ive from 80 mb porteus an put into current porteus but no success. What I did was extract 000-kernel.xzm on the current porteus, extract kernel.xzm on 80 mb porteus an find driver/input/mouse folder, put that folder into same diectory on the curent porteus and create new 000-kenel.xzm and restart current porteus. I don't even know if it is the way to get drivers but it didn't work anyway.
Can anyboy help me on this?
By the way the touchpad works on current kiosk edition.

KnallKopf
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 134
Joined: 18 Sep 2012, 20:56
Distribution: Porteus 64bit KDE4
Location: Absurdistan

Re: Toshiba Kirabook touchpad doesn't work

Post#2 by KnallKopf » 08 Nov 2015, 05:50

Do not mix kernelmods from differ kernel.
I do not know if it work if you have the same version and the same .config but different builds. I thing No.

Change the complett 000-kernel and vmlinux,
and of course, do not mix 32bit with 64bit.

But the cleanest solution is to make a new kernel with the right mods.

can you post the resolution from lsmod with (on Superfly) and without (on Porteus) the working touchpad ?

gezer33
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 10:58
Distribution: porteus xfce
Location: USA

Re: Toshiba Kirabook touchpad doesn't work

Post#3 by gezer33 » 09 Nov 2015, 08:03

Here is the lsmod output on current 64 bit xfce desktop porteus:
Module Size Used by
pci_stub 1056 1
vboxpci 9584 0
vboxnetflt 10960 0
vboxnetadp 16496 0
vboxdrv 257832 3 vboxnetadp,vboxnetflt,vboxpci
twofish_generic 5312 0
twofish_avx_x86_64 40208 2
twofish_x86_64_3way 17572 1 twofish_avx_x86_64
twofish_x86_64 4848 2 twofish_avx_x86_64,twofish_x86_64_3way
twofish_common 12544 4 twofish_generic,twofish_avx_x86_64,twofish_x86_64_3way,twofish_x86_64
serpent_avx2 38512 2
serpent_avx_x86_64 37824 1 serpent_avx2
serpent_sse2_x86_64 43200 0
serpent_generic 20640 3 serpent_sse2_x86_64,serpent_avx_x86_64,serpent_avx2
lrw 2448 5 serpent_sse2_x86_64,serpent_avx_x86_64,serpent_avx2,twofish_avx_x86_64,twofish_x86_64_3way
glue_helper 3088 5 serpent_sse2_x86_64,serpent_avx_x86_64,serpent_avx2,twofish_avx_x86_64,twofish_x86_64_3way
ablk_helper 1136 4 serpent_sse2_x86_64,serpent_avx_x86_64,serpent_avx2,twofish_avx_x86_64
cryptd 3976 3 ablk_helper
xts 2160 3 serpent_sse2_x86_64,twofish_x86_64_3way
gf128mul 4512 2 lrw,xts
dm_crypt 11864 3
dm_mod 55040 7 dm_crypt
ipv6 201992 22
snd_hda_codec_hdmi 26628 1
wl 6145692 0
ecb 1280 1
btusb 15684 0
bluetooth 183324 2 btusb
arc4 1472 2
uvcvideo 53944 0
videobuf2_vmalloc 1776 1 uvcvideo
videobuf2_memops 1184 1 videobuf2_vmalloc
videobuf2_core 15140 1 uvcvideo
iwlmvm 99776 0
mac80211 204848 1 iwlmvm
i915 614848 5
i2c_hid 7988 0
toshiba_acpi 15328 0
snd_hda_codec_conexant 7920 1
snd_hda_codec_generic 33008 1 snd_hda_codec_conexant
sparse_keymap 1792 1 toshiba_acpi
iwlwifi 67576 1 iwlmvm
drm_kms_helper 49040 1 i915
cfg80211 137056 4 wl,iwlwifi,mac80211,iwlmvm
led_class 2056 2 toshiba_acpi,iwlmvm
toshiba_bluetooth 1536 0
snd_hda_intel 15640 0
rfkill 10156 4 cfg80211,toshiba_acpi,bluetooth
snd_hda_controller 12928 1 snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_codec 58816 5 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_hwdep 3944 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm 48304 4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
intel_gtt 8688 1 i915
wmi 5828 1 toshiba_acpi
snd_timer 12780 1 snd_pcm
firmware_class 4664 5 iwlwifi,btusb,drm_kms_helper,snd_hda_intel,iwlmvm

I couldn't copy the output from superfly CTRL+C or CTRL+SHIFT+C didn't work and there was no copy command on the terminal. So, I am not able to post the output.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3323
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Toshiba Kirabook touchpad doesn't work

Post#4 by Ed_P » 09 Nov 2015, 13:25

gezer33 wrote:I couldn't copy the output from superfly CTRL+C or CTRL+SHIFT+C didn't work and there was no copy command on the terminal. So, I am not able to post the output.
Try 'ctrl + insert' (copy) and 'shift + insert' (paste) .

Also try posting the output of:

Code: Select all

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep pad
Ed

aus9

Re: Toshiba Kirabook touchpad doesn't work

Post#5 by aus9 » 10 Nov 2015, 00:12

@gezer33

Are you running Linux from Virtualbox by any chance?

If so, you are using emulated drivers and they may not have support for your input device.

To check for native support, and only if I am right, consider putting Porteus on an USB stick or two?

gezer33
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 10:58
Distribution: porteus xfce
Location: USA

Re: Toshiba Kirabook touchpad doesn't work

Post#6 by gezer33 » 12 Nov 2015, 07:53

aus9 wrote:@gezer33

Are you running Linux from Virtualbox by any chance?

If so, you are using emulated drivers and they may not have support for your input device.

To check for native support, and only if I am right, consider putting Porteus on an USB stick or two?
I am not using virtualbox.
I tried to copy of lsmod output by using ctrl+insert an shift+insert but no luck. I tried print screen but it didn't work either.
Then I took regular picture with my phone an I uploaded on postimg.org.
Image

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 205
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: Toshiba Kirabook touchpad doesn't work

Post#7 by roadie » 12 Nov 2015, 17:48

Try running "dmesg | less" in a terminal and look for references to mouse or pmouse. Mine shows elantech and uses pmouse module.

Synclient might be of help too.

Post Reply