Official Package Manager

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Falcony
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 235
Joined: 01 Jan 2011, 12:44
Location: Russia

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#31 by Falcony » 10 Jun 2011, 04:10

I havn't tested downlading gimp yet, so not sure if final package will run.
I tested - it works well and ran well
Did conky want to resolve in slackware repo?
Now it done and also run well
Regarding the errors in console, mostly these are from a missing file when deps are being resolved. A function loops until the file is empty, and then all deps are resolved. I can mask the errors for final, but they are normal, and can be quite useful for troubleshooting. Doesn't look very good though.
I see it is testing packages.

IMHO better to have less modules in official repo the have many non-workable - as Tomas M had in his site.

For users better to know that there is no module he need then waste time and traffic to download craps.

Some quality control for official modules needed - I think L)

To add one more point - after reboot porteus package manager forget about module cache

It will be more convinient - if user saved modules in HDD partition or USB drive - on second and other run package manager automatiaclly use module cache and do noc ask yser again.

Something like Magic Folders or cheatcode need to set default user modules local cache

e.g. if during boot there is /mnt/sdXn/modcache directory - map it automatically to package manager settings

PS. Anyway looks very good L) I am very liked merge all in one function. If packge manager ask user whether it whould like to place it ot porteus/modules to have aplication activated after reboot - but anyway it could be done manually, it is ok

PPS. It would be nice to have "Create merged module" menu in Package Manager - due to minimize number modules in porteus/modules - and speed up booting - if user whould like

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#32 by brokenman » 13 Jun 2011, 18:09

Thanks Falcony,
IMHO better to have less modules in official repo the have many non-workable - as Tomas M had in his site.
I agree. All modules will be tested to work before uploading.
It will be more convinient - if user saved modules in HDD partition or USB drive - on second and other run package manager automatiaclly use module cache and do noc ask yser again.
This is currently how it works. Once the folder is chosen, a config file is dumped to /opt/ppm/.ppmconfig. At next run it will not ask the question again. Of course if you run fresh mode and reboot, you will be asked again.
It would be nice to have "Create merged module" menu in Package Manager
Ok, i will add this for next version. It will gather all dependencies and make a merged module.

Posted after 3 days 4 hours 51 minute 39 seconds:
Couple of fixes in this version. Mainly i removed the output of errors to console. Updated 32bit repo with more modules. These will all need testing for missing deps as i would like to have ALL deps on Porteus server and only use the slackware resolution as a fall back just in case something was missed.

Download latest version for 32bit
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#33 by Ahau » 13 Jun 2011, 18:19

It's not a lot of work to copy /opt/ppm/.ppmconfig to rootcopy (for those of us who run always fresh), but maybe in PPM for 1.1, there could be a checkbox to stick your configuration in /opt/ppm and then make a copy in /rootcopy/opt/ppm. the config file could contain a trigger to know that the user is copying to rootcopy, and make any updates to that file in both places as well. Magic folders would work as well.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#34 by brokenman » 14 Jun 2011, 23:25

Yep. Good idea. I just go through the 'choose folder' routine every time but i would prefer not too. Also a menu item to remove config files. I am currently looking at the 'deactivate' module script, and perhaps a 'resolve a folder of modules' option if you have a folder full of modules that you want to resolve deps for.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#35 by Ahau » 14 Jun 2011, 23:39

Batch resolving of deps? suh-weet!

Also, some of the images in the latest PPM (64-bit RC3) look a little pixelated. The welcome screen looks fine (OK, awesome), but further in, the images don't look quite right. I'll check this on 32-bit tonight and give you better detail. No biggie -- I'm just so excited for it to be here that I want it nice and shiny :)
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#36 by brokenman » 15 Jun 2011, 02:49

Yeah it is the same with 32bit. Xdialog doesn't handle graphics to good. I just looked and the Porteus logo could be better quality. Will fix this. Thanks.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#37 by Ahau » 16 Jun 2011, 13:36

I've got an issue, as reported first by bradmbrown, confirmed by me.

When I use PPM to download pidgin (using 32-bit RC3), it pulls all deps but enchant.

Interestingly, when I go through it again to download enchant, it shows 14 libraries that will not be resolved. I think this is one of those fun dependency moments where you need part of enchant for pidgen, and other parts of enchant need other stuff (but pidgen doesn't need that other stuff). Also, when I use PPM to activate pidgen, it won't select enchant to be activated either. I have to go in and activate it separately.

Posted after 8 hours 8 minutes 33 seconds:
Guys-- it seems we might have a much bigger issue with PPM - please test on your systems to confirm:

whenever I use PPM's 'activate module' function on a module I've downloaded with it, my dependencies go all to hell. For example, after activating a module (any one--pidgin, for example), when I go to download another module (e.g. conky) it tells me I have 83 unresolved deps, when I should only have 3.

Maybe this was fixed with fanthom's latest activate script??

Pidgin still seems to miss enchant :/

thanks!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#38 by brokenman » 16 Jun 2011, 18:20

Ok, will check it out. Does this happen when you finish the first job, close PPM and reopen for second job ... or when you leave it open after the first job and go to the second.

After i implemented fanthoms suggestion of going back to main menu instead of closing i noticed a few bugs.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#39 by Ahau » 16 Jun 2011, 19:13

This first happened when I downloaded pidgin with PPM, then went back to the main menu and activated it. In order to test this out (I thought it was the module's fault), I activated the modules manually (double clicking) without issue. I then rebooted, opened up PPM, went directly to activate the modules, and as soon as they were activated the issue presented. I tested with a few packages, with reboots (into always fresh mode) between.

Another note -- when I tried to deactivate the modules that were activated with PPM (I used porteus-module-manager), it crashed my system -- it flashed back to the CLI login with a lot of errors regarding shared libraries, and wouldn't respond to input. I had to hold down the power button to reboot.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#40 by fanthom » 16 Jun 2011, 20:18

"Another note -- when I tried to deactivate the modules that were activated with PPM (I used porteus-module-manager), it crashed my system -- it flashed back to the CLI login with a lot of errors regarding shared libraries, and wouldn't respond to input. I had to hold down the power button to reboot."

that's because brokenman didn't merge all the fixes which i send to him.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#41 by brokenman » 16 Jun 2011, 21:26

Maybe you could check the activate/xactivate script fanthom, because as far as i know, i applied all the updates you sent before rc3. I am rewriting the dep resolution part of the PPM now. I'll see how it goes. It could be that a single module like pidgin ... requires 12 more modules ... but at least everything is automated. My other thought was (for the modules with difficulty) to make a folder /var/required and inside is a list of all packages required. PPM could check for this list first and if it exists it could just go and find the packages without having to work through libraries.

Either way i will try to have something ready for tomorrow.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#42 by Ahau » 17 Jun 2011, 06:01

I did some more testing -- If I activate a package, then close PPM and reopen it, I can select packages for download and it gives me the proper list of dependencies.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#43 by fanthom » 22 Jun 2011, 08:23

found a bug in 64bit version of PPM (didn't check 32 yet). very last lines in function 'final_report()'

Code: Select all

Would you like to begin downloading?" 0 0
fi
[ $? -ne 0 ] cleanup

download_files
}
caused downloading files even if user decided to exit application. i have changed it to

Code: Select all

Would you like to begin downloading?" 0 0
fi
[ $? -ne 0 ] && { cleanup; exit; }
download_files
}
and now it works ok.
i'm going with this for final.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5122
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#44 by francois » 15 Jul 2011, 11:51

Fanthom has announced very exciting developments concerning PPM, in:
http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php? ... 2&start=30

This is intriguing. What are they?

But also, I caught on mini-chat that you were to integrate the Sbopkg tool. Is that right or am I spreading a rumour. And what about Src2pkg? This tool seems very interesting.
Carpe diem.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Official Package Manager

Post#45 by Hamza » 15 Jul 2011, 12:31

I hope that Brokenman read your message about src2pkg, if the community help Brokenman, I am sure that the PPM will be better!
NjVFQzY2Rg==

Locked