How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
miner_tom
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 29 Oct 2015, 02:49
Distribution: 3.17.4
Location: USA

How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post#1 by miner_tom » 29 Oct 2015, 03:03

Hi,
I know that this question sounds awfully basic but I have used other download managers than USM with different results. On Porteus I downloaded a firefox package and then I uncompressed it. In a terminal, If I go down into the directory structure where the package was loaded and find the executable, I can then run it by typing ./firefox. Now, I would like to find an icon that I can click on that would accomplish the same thing in KDE. The application launcher does not see anything related to firefox. I am thinking along the lines of having to modify the PATH variable but that does not explain how to update the application launcher.

Thank You
Tom

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3328
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post#2 by Ed_P » 29 Oct 2015, 03:46

You're working this too hard.

Use USM to download the "package", as a module, an .xzm file, copy it to your /porteus/modules/ folder, dbl click on it and Activate it. Wait couple of seconds and it should be in the Internet menu.

No unpacking needed.
Ed

aus9

Re: How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post#3 by aus9 » 29 Oct 2015, 05:06

Hi

Its possible OP means a download of a more recent firefox outside the USM package system?

if so, I use such a method, it breaks the modular design of Porteus so be aware I am naughty. :oops:

however your icon entry would be if firefox is unpacked at /home/guest (AND) the excutable pathway
Icon=/home/guest/firefox/browser/icons/mozicon128.png
(AND)
Exec=/home/guest/firefox/firefox %u

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 572
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post#4 by tome » 29 Oct 2015, 16:26

Create new "my-firefox-launcher.desktop" file. Open it with text editor and paste:

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Exec=/path/to/firefox
Icon=/path/to/any/firefox/icon/or/icon/name
Type=Application
Categories=Network;
Name=My Firefox
GenericName=Web Browser
MimeType=text/html;text/xml;application/xhtml+xml;application/vnd.mozilla.xul+xml;text/mml;x-scheme-handler/http;x-scheme-handler/https;
X-KDE-StartupNotify=true
and edit Exec= and Icon= lines.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5576
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: How to get the application launcher to "see" a package?

Post#5 by brokenman » 29 Oct 2015, 23:29

If you want it to appear in your 'menu' then put tome's file in /usr/share/applciations
If you want it to appear on the toolbar then name it browser.desktop and place it in /usr/share/applications
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply