FAA No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Jamal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 19:54
Distribution: 64-bit LXQt
Location: Console Rodeo

FAA No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#1 by Jamal » 20 Oct 2015, 20:05

Hey everyone. Got a chance to give Porteus a spin today. Almost everything is running smooth out of the box, very impressed overall. AMD Proprietary drivers are working great.

I've run into a small issue however. No audio from either HDMI output (hw 1 & 2). I appear to be able to change the output in alsamixer, they all show up, but after that still nada. Right clicking volume control settings in the lxpanel menu shows only hw 0 even after messing with qas and alsa mixers.

I'm familiar with Lubuntu, and I usually have the same issue there after AMD driver install. To fix it in the past in that OS, I just installed pavucontrol, added "radeon.audio=1" to my boot config, rebooted and then ALSA allows me to select the HDMI.

No dice here though.

Went through this thread, still no luck however. https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=2926

Any ideas? Thanks!

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# alsamixer
root@porteus:/home/guest# cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [SB             ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0xfe9f4000 irq 16
 1 [HDMI           ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI HDMI
                      HDA ATI HDMI at 0xfeaf8000 irq 28
 2 [HDMI_1         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI HDMI
                      HDA ATI HDMI at 0xfeb9c000 irq 29
root@porteus:/home/guest# cat /proc/asound/modules
cat: /proc/asound/modules: No such file or directory
root@porteus:/home/guest# cat /etc/asound.conf
pcm.!default {
type hw
card 1
}

ctl.!default {
type hw
card 1
}root@porteus:/home/guest# cat /etc/modprobe.d/alsa_order.conf
cat: /etc/modprobe.d/alsa_order.conf: No such file or directory
root@porteus:/home/guest# 

Jamal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 19:54
Distribution: 64-bit LXQt
Location: Console Rodeo

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#2 by Jamal » 20 Oct 2015, 20:52

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# dmesg | grep -i snd
[    9.499871] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Handle VGA-switcheroo audio client
[    9.499875] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Force to non-snoop mode
[    9.499905] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: irq 28 for MSI/MSI-X
[    9.500079] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Handle VGA-switcheroo audio client
[    9.500082] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Force to non-snoop mode
[    9.500101] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: irq 29 for MSI/MSI-X
[    9.527488] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    9.527492] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
[    9.527494] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    9.527496] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
[    9.527497] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    9.527499] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
[    9.527501] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    9.527502] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
[    9.527886] snd_hda_intel 0000:03:00.1: control 0:0:0:HDMI/DP Jack:0 is already present
[    9.531540] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    9.531542] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
[    9.531545] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    9.531546] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
[    9.531548] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    9.531550] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
[    9.531551] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Too many HDMI devices
[    9.531553] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: Consider building the kernel with CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
[    9.531919] snd_hda_intel 0000:01:00.1: control 0:0:0:HDMI/DP Jack:0 is already present

aus9

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#3 by aus9 » 21 Oct 2015, 00:00

Hi
Any ideas?
A few cross mind, but I have never dealt with some lucky dude with 2 hdmi devices and your output shows that is one issue. Its not clear to me from your first post what happens when you as a local user try command alsamixer and press F6 to select a different device.
alsamixer should not be run as root please.

For now, I would like you to consider the following
1) move any sound configuration module you may have accidently set up out of your modules folder, that module should be under
/porteus/modules for what ever partition you are booting....actually as sound is problematic....might be better to delete the config module....choice is yours
2) delete or move out of their folders any files called /etc/asound.conf or /home/guest/.asoundrc etc etc
put them somewhere safe and warm like I have a folder under my home folder called Keep.

3) Full reboot, now as guest user redo your command

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards
I am going to assume, it will be exactly the same.....forgive my poor skills if its not :oops:

4) Assuming its the same, in terminal su to root and do this

Code: Select all

su   
rmmod snd_hda_intel
modprobe snd_hda_intel index=1
alsactl init 0
5) now as a local user.....run alsamixer and see if your second device has now been swapped into the first position, which is what the index=1 trick is.
I am assuming you had sound on the other distro using your settings as shown in the /etc/asound.conf file? That is, your target device is card 1.

6) I am reluctant to leap ahead but if that works you will get an idea of what I plan to do to you here
https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=5109

If you do not receive a better reply, then try out my method, if interested and report any progress.
If it works say so....and we can then set up your mixer levels and restore options as per my link

Jamal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 19:54
Distribution: 64-bit LXQt
Location: Console Rodeo

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#4 by Jamal » 21 Oct 2015, 02:04

aus9 wrote:Hi
Howdy!
Its not clear to me from your first post what happens when you as a local user try command alsamixer and press F6 to select a different device.
alsamixer should not be run as root please.

Code: Select all

┌───────────────────────────── AlsaMixer v1.0.28 ──────────────────────────────┐
│ Card: HDA ATI HDMI                                   F1:  Help               │
│ Chip: ATI R6xx HDMI                                  F2:  System information │
│ View: F3: Playback  F4: Capture  F5: All             F6:  Select sound card  │
│ Item:                                                Esc: Exit               │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                This sound device does not have any controls.  
4) Assuming its the same, in terminal su to root and do this:

Code: Select all

su   
rmmod snd_hda_intel
At this point I'm getting an error. Googled it but no dice. New to modules, my apologies.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# rmmod snd_hda_intel
rmmod: ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use

Jamal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 19:54
Distribution: 64-bit LXQt
Location: Console Rodeo

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#5 by Jamal » 21 Oct 2015, 02:13

rmmod -f not working either. just hangs

aus9

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#6 by aus9 » 21 Oct 2015, 04:53

OK then we can not proceed. Can you make sure you are not trying to use sound when you repeat that rmmod = remove module command. But lets go back a step just to check something.

So lets try this first.....I assuming you agreed to move all sound configs and if created any sound_config.xzm from their respective folders and done a full reboot.

Code: Select all

su  
lsmod | grep snd
fuser /dev/snd/*
I shall show you mine and why.....your codec may vary but as we both have intel devices the driver should already be there.
snd_hda_intel 15640 0
snd_hda_codec_hdmi 26628 1
snd_hda_codec_realtek 42800 1
snd_hda_codec_generic 33008 1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_controller 12928 1 snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_codec 58816 5 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_hwdep 3944 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm 48304 4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_timer 12780 1 snd_pcm
firmware_class 4664 2 drm_kms_helper,snd_hda_intel

####################
with no sound I get the top strings and with sound playing I get the bottom strings

fuser /dev/snd/*
Cannot stat file /proc/2005/fd/57: Stale NFS file handle
Cannot stat file /proc/2005/fd/58: Stale NFS file handle
Cannot stat file /proc/2103/fd/17: Stale NFS file handle
Cannot stat file /proc/2103/fd/18: Stale NFS file handle
Cannot stat file /proc/2103/fd/19: Stale NFS file handle
Cannot stat file /proc/2103/fd/20: Stale NFS file handle
Cannot stat file /proc/2103/fd/21: Stale NFS file handle
Cannot stat file /proc/2103/fd/22: Stale NFS file handle

(sound playing)
/dev/snd/controlC0: 2232
/dev/snd/pcmC0D0p: 2232m
/dev/snd/timer: 2232


I claim.....you should not have any bottom strings as nothing should be playing any sound files. YMMV
Can you post results if something is playing with your sound device please. We will need to kill it

2) Only if you see "snd_hda_intel" can you proceed to the next command and I would like a copy and paste of the output for any error please.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/# rmmod snd_hda_intel
root@porteus:/# 
That empty line above shows it works and reports no error, in case you did not know?

3) I am too lazy to google, but since we know that you have a working sound on the other distro we can cheat off it. What I would like to know is, did you need any firmware for card 1, the hdmi device?

You could boot up into that distro and show us the output for these commands please.....no need for root

Code: Select all

dpkg -l | grep firm*
dpkg -l | grep alsa*
lsmod | grep snd
What I hope it might show, is a special firmware file that the *buntu needs to enable sound....AFAIK firmware is special software to enable hardware. :D

good luck

################
4) only if you did not truly get an error because you misunderstood the exit condition of a good remove module command then try the next bits
modprobe snd_hda_intel index=1
alsactl init 0

good luck twice

aus9

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#7 by aus9 » 21 Oct 2015, 09:24

OK now to re-look at your cheatcode radeon=1....I don't have radeon and should have paid more attention to it.

Can you do me a favour and compare our /lib/firmware/radeon/ to the *buntu one.

do you know which firmware if any is loaded on *buntu

anyhow whether it relates or not if above fails for you then try this as root

Code: Select all

echo 'options radeon audio=1' > /etc/modprobe.d/radeon.conf
full reboot and redo the remove module etc stuff above.

Jamal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 19:54
Distribution: 64-bit LXQt
Location: Console Rodeo

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#8 by Jamal » 21 Oct 2015, 12:48

aus9 wrote:So lets try this first.....I assuming you agreed to move all sound configs and if created any sound_config.xzm from their respective folders and done a full reboot.

Code: Select all

su  
lsmod | grep snd
fuser /dev/snd/*

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_realtek    42800  1 
snd_hda_codec_generic    33008  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     26628  0 
snd_hda_intel          15640  3 
snd_hda_controller     12928  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_codec          58816  5 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_hwdep               3944  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                48304  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_timer              12780  1 snd_pcm
firmware_class          4664  2 r8169,snd_hda_intel
root@porteus:/home/guest# fuser /dev/snd/*
/dev/snd/controlC0:   1510
/dev/snd/controlC1:   1510
/dev/snd/controlC2:   1510

aus9

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#9 by aus9 » 21 Oct 2015, 14:01

I am still new to Porteus so hope someone can explain what is playing your sound. Which flavour of Porteus are you on please?

while I am at the stage of asking more questions.....what exactly does your hdmi cable connect to please?
Does one hdmi cable connect to a monitor with or without sound?
Is the other hdmi cable used or not?

in the meantime try this as root

Code: Select all

fuser -k  /dev/snd/*
for me that stops sound playing and kills my player=vlc.
with luck you can now remove the module and reload it with a swapped index as above posts

good luck

Jamal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 19:54
Distribution: 64-bit LXQt
Location: Console Rodeo

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#10 by Jamal » 21 Oct 2015, 14:45

aus9 wrote:You could boot up into that distro and show us the output for these commands please.....no need for root

Code: Select all

dpkg -l | grep firm*
dpkg -l | grep alsa*
lsmod | grep snd

Code: Select all

user@user-sys:~$ dpkg -l | grep firm*
ii  firefox                               41.0.2+build2-0ubuntu0.15.04.1          amd64        Safe and easy web browser from Mozilla
ii  firefox-locale-en                     41.0.2+build2-0ubuntu0.15.04.1          amd64        English language pack for Firefox
ii  linux-firmware                        1.143.3                                 all          Firmware for Linux kernel drivers
ii  ufw                                   0.34~rc-0ubuntu5                        all          program for managing a Netfilter firewall
user@user-sys:~$ dpkg -l | grep alsa*
ii  alsa-base                             1.0.25+dfsg-0ubuntu4                    all          ALSA driver configuration files
ii  alsa-utils                            1.0.28-1ubuntu2                         amd64        Utilities for configuring and using ALSA
ii  inputattach                           1:1.4.7-2                               amd64        utility to connect serial-attached peripherals to the input subsystem
user@user-sys:~$ dpkg -l | grep pulse*
ii  libpulse-mainloop-glib0:amd64         1:6.0-0ubuntu6                          amd64        PulseAudio client libraries (glib support)
ii  libpulse0:amd64                       1:6.0-0ubuntu6                          amd64        PulseAudio client libraries
ii  libpulsedsp:amd64                     1:6.0-0ubuntu6                          amd64        PulseAudio OSS pre-load library
ii  pulseaudio                            1:6.0-0ubuntu6                          amd64        PulseAudio sound server
ii  pulseaudio-module-x11                 1:6.0-0ubuntu6                          amd64        X11 module for PulseAudio sound server
ii  pulseaudio-utils                      1:6.0-0ubuntu6                          amd64        Command line tools for the PulseAudio sound server
user@user-sys:~$ lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_realtek    86016  1 
snd_hda_codec_generic    69632  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     53248  2 
snd_hda_intel          36864  9 snd_hda_codec_hdmi
snd_hda_controller     32768  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_codec         143360  5 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_hwdep              20480  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm               106496  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_seq_midi           16384  0 
snd_seq_midi_event     16384  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_rawmidi            32768  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                69632  2 snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_device         16384  3 snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_midi
snd_timer              32768  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd                    90112  27 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_pcm,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_seq_device
soundcore              16384  2 snd,snd_hda_codec
I have 2x Radeon R9 280x, both at various PCI ports on an ASUS mobo, both going normal HDMI into 2x HDTV (native: 1920 x 1080, 60 Hz). The process to get sound working in Lubuntu 15.04 is this:

Install OS
Install AMD Catalyst drivers
Reboot
Install pavucontrol
Add "radeon.audio=1" to boot config
Reboot

At this point, alsamixer still won't change my output. But if I open pavucontrol and say, firefox & youtube, I can do this:

Image

Works with both HDTVs.

Jamal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 19:54
Distribution: 64-bit LXQt
Location: Console Rodeo

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#11 by Jamal » 21 Oct 2015, 14:58

aus9 wrote:5) now as a local user.....run alsamixer and see if your second device has now been swapped into the first position, which is what the index=1 trick is.
I am assuming you had sound on the other distro using your settings as shown in the /etc/asound.conf file? That is, your target device is card 1.
That worked.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# fuser -k /dev/snd/*
/dev/snd/controlC0:   1735
/dev/snd/controlC1:   1735
root@porteus:/home/guest# rmmod snd_hda_intel
rmmod: ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is not currently loaded
root@porteus:/home/guest# modprobe snd_hda_intel index=1
root@porteus:/home/guest# alsactl init 0
alsactl: sysfs_init:48: sysfs path '/sys' is invalid

Found hardware: "HDA-Intel" "ATI R6xx HDMI" "HDA:1002aa01,00aa0100,00100300" "0x1787" "0xaaa0"
Hardware is initialized using a generic method
root@porteus:/home/guest# alsamixer

aus9

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#12 by aus9 » 21 Oct 2015, 23:15

hi
alsactl init 0
alsactl: sysfs_init:48: sysfs path '/sys' is invalid

Found hardware: "HDA-Intel" "ATI R6xx HDMI" "HDA:1002aa01,00aa0100,00100300" "0x1787" "0xaaa0"
Hardware is initialized using a generic method
root@porteus:/home/guest# alsamixer
We are close. Please remember run alsamxier as local user. I am going to assume when you run alsamixer as root you had the correct sound device. I assume you have yet to put anything into your rc.local file which is we now fix....assuming you have sound?

so now lets set up the save/restore point my way
local user first

Code: Select all

pwd
(response /home/guest)
mkdir Keep
root user

Code: Select all

fuser -k /dev/snd/*
modprobe snd_hda_intel index=1
alsactl init 0
local user

Code: Select all

alsamixer
set the mixer levels to what you want for TV playback....m to mute or unmute outputs, space bar to mute or unmute mic inputs etc

root user

Code: Select all

alsactl -f /home/guest/Keep/asound.state store 0
echo '
fuser -k /dev/snd/*
modprobe snd_hda_intel index=1
alsactl -f /home/guest/Keep/asound.state restore 0
' >> /etc/rc.d/rc.local
No need to run the chmod command from my link.

Full reboot to test if we have sound please. good luck.

assuming your mention of that worked, you should have sound, fingers crossed and yes you have a modified script.

If that worked, you can then set up pulseaudio if you need it.

aus9

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#13 by aus9 » 22 Oct 2015, 00:36

a separate post as I am not sure you mean everything works.

Some hdmi users need to turn off then on their S/PDIF, done with the m key

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4946
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#14 by francois » 22 Oct 2015, 00:58

@aus9:
Quite impressed by your knowledge. Sincerely. :)

@jamal:
Have a look here:
https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=4578
Please follow brokenman's advice.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Jamal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 19:54
Distribution: 64-bit LXQt
Location: Console Rodeo

Re: No HDMI Sound (Dual AMD R9 280X)

Post#15 by Jamal » 25 Oct 2015, 21:01

None of the above steps have worked for me. I've effectively given up

Post Reply