How do I change from double to single click? [Solved]

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

How do I change from double to single click? [Solved]

Post#1 by newbody » 19 May 2011, 21:01

Now I have to double click and my fingers fail to do that due to some neuro thing.
And I am used to from other linuxes to only single click to do everything.

So would be cool to be able to change that behavior in an easy way for a hopeless newbie.

Apart from that thanks for a cool Linux. Most works. Typical of me I fail to remember how Flash behaved.

Does one have to install that one from Adobe or is it built in from out of the box?

So this is a very modern Slax variation? here is how I boot it.

Acer D250 having a mechanical NTFS formatted 250GB HDD I use grub4dos and menu.lst looks like this

title Porteus OS
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /porteusboot/vmlinuz rw changes=/porteus/slaxsave.dat
initrd /porteusboot/initrd.lz
boot

What could I add to the kernel line? Anything obvios missing?

Should I add toram maybe? I have 1GB RAM so maybe that would make it act faster?

Can I add something that show temperature of the CPU on the desktop? To show RAM usage?

Anyway cool that there are mean and lean distros like this.
Last edited by newbody on 07 Oct 2011, 21:18, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How do I change from double to single click?

Post#2 by fanthom » 20 May 2011, 08:41

@newbody
Welcome on board :)
do you use KDE-4, Kde Trinity or LXDE?

1) for single mouse click you need to dig into settings.
check here for KDE:
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/ubuntu/d ... es-in-kde/
here is for LXDE:
http://forums.opensuse.org/english/get- ... ouble.html

2) flash player is integrated with firefox

"So this is a very modern Slax variation?"
something like that :)

"What could I add to the kernel line?"
depends on your needs - check /boot/docs/cheatcodes.txt for more info

"Should I add toram maybe? I have 1GB RAM so maybe that would make it act faster? "
for sure it will be faster.
btw: toram is not valid anymore (check cheatcodes)

"Can I add something that show temperature of the CPU on the desktop? To show RAM usage?"
once again - depends on your desktop. for example KDE has nice collection of superkaramba themes and plasmoids (KDE4 only):
http://kde-look.org/index.php?xcontentm ... 29ee540342
http://kde-look.org/index.php?xcontentmode=70x77x78

"Anyway cool that there are mean and lean distros like this."
thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: How do I change from double to single click?

Post#3 by newbody » 20 May 2011, 18:07

Ah thanks for fast answer. How embarrassing. I have no idea if I am on kde or Lxde

4 or trinity? I did not know them had two variation. I am using what the iso had from scratch.
But I take a look on the links you provided next time I log in to Porteus.

I am in Puppy now due to I am most used to using that distro since 2008 or so. But I like to have other distros in case there are linux software that none on Puppy care about.

Porteus having access to repo from Slackware sounds good to know.

I use Knoppix too in case them have software I need.

I plan to find linux software that can monitor my sleeping habits. I know I have sleep apnea and that is even deadly so I should put some energy into finding a solution to it.

There are an app for Apple i- phone that cost some 10 USD or so and that one monitor breathing and movement and can show it on graphics in the morning.

Apart from that I want the feature that the monitor is clever enough to wake me up before I have the stop of breating which is what make heart get not enough oxygen and that way it is deadly.

Sorry delaying the thread with my personal stuff. Just a background why I try to find distros that have a huge base of software to chose from.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How do I change from double to single click?

Post#4 by fanthom » 25 May 2011, 19:20

"I plan to find linux software that can monitor my sleeping habits."
hmmm.... this may be a hard task for the Porteus. let us know in case of success and hope all will be ok with your health.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: How do I change from double to single click?

Post#5 by newbody » 06 Oct 2011, 17:41

Sorry that I did not respond. I have been totally into Puppy linux.
I am not clever enough to really use the regular standard Linux due to them
always need changes of permissions and such. Change from user to root.
And even as root not have access to all that which one do naturally on Puppy.

What I do like very much about Porteus is that it can save changes in a slaxsave.dat file.
And that it boot this easily

# FireWall just add following line to /etc/rc.d/ rc.local: '/etc/rc.d/rc.FireWall start'
title Porteus OS rw works boot with root = toor startx from_dir=/port32 for two versions
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /porteusboot/vmlinuz rw changes=/porteus/slaxsave.dat
initrd /porteusboot/initrd.lz

So I am surprised that I fail to have it as my second best Distro.
Something about Porteus makes me not use it.

And could you forgive me for claiming that Porteus is based on Slackware.
I thought so but I know nothing about computers so that was my wild guess something

Posted after 53 seconds:
under Newbody it says Ronin
what does Ronin stands for?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: How do I change from double to single click?

Post#6 by brokenman » 06 Oct 2011, 20:44

So I am surprised that I fail to have it as my second best Distro.
Something about Porteus makes me not use it.
Please let us know what can be done to bump it to the top of your list.
And could you forgive me for claiming that Porteus is based on Slackware.
I thought so but I know nothing about computers so that was my wild guess something
Congrats for jumping into linux while knowing nothing about computers. Actually i think you are being hard on yourself ... i think you know more than you give yourself credit for. For example ... Porteus IS heavily based on slackware. It is a portable version. This is a good thing.
under Newbody it says Ronin
what does Ronin stands for?
Ronin is a rank here on our forum. The more you post, the higher your rank becomes. Ronin is a beginner level. Traditionally the word 'Ronin' means a 'masterless Samurai' which was looked down on in feudal Japan ... but here it is just a beginner level member of the forum.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: How do I change from double to single click?

Post#7 by newbody » 07 Oct 2011, 06:04

Thanks, Ronin then reminds me of a Bombu :)
It just never seems to have occurred to Shinran that such a state of mind
could be contrived by an ordinary person (bombu, Sk. prthagjana) like himself. ...
Bombus are no Samurai them are ordinary foolish people like myself :)

I guess I have to give Porteus the time it takes for me to get used to it then.
May I ask? All these so called Slackware varieties. Would Vector be seen as one of them?
What about Parted Magic is that also one of the Slackware varieties? How compatible
is a Porteus with Vector and Parted Magic?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: How do I change from double to single click?

Post#8 by brokenman » 07 Oct 2011, 19:47

Yes vector linux is based on slackware too. Slackware is a very old, tried, tested and incredibly stable version of linux so it is no wonder that many varieties exist. It is the closest to what i would call 'traditional linux' that you can get. Vector packages (and any other slack based distro) should have no problem being converted into Porteus modules.

Parted magic is also based on slackware. It is a very useful boot time application for troubleshooting broken systems.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: How do I change from double to single click?

Post#9 by newbody » 07 Oct 2011, 20:02

Thanks brokenman I trust you but them got very upset with me on LinuxQuestion when I
thought Porteus to be Slackware based. Had nothing to do with Slackware them said.

I guess it has to do with protecting their own turf something.

Post Reply