Suggestions

Arch based Porteus community project
Post Reply
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Suggestions

Post#91 by brokenman » 17 Nov 2015, 01:00

Yes I was looking at porting all the aufs stuff to overlayfs because this is the way things will probably go, but overlayfs is still relatively new and we have no big bugs with aufs which is still being actively developed. Junjiro does a fantastic job so I would like to support him.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Igor
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 51
Joined: 05 Feb 2014, 14:16
Distribution: porteus

Re: Suggestions

Post#92 by Igor » 18 Nov 2015, 16:00

.
Last edited by Igor on 04 Dec 2015, 16:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Suggestions

Post#93 by brokenman » 18 Nov 2015, 23:40

Thanks. Some interesting ideas.

001-porteus-pack(kit, soft?).xzm it's Porteus-scripts-file-configuration-patches-graphics-etc - it's all what makes Porteus himself.
The problem here is that many of these files are not required in a text mode Portues. The ones that are required only for GUI go in 002.

for example to add the ability to specify in porteus.cfg the download directory (root=/porteus-new or root=label='name') +to facilitate pre-configuration via file porteus.ini
The config folder has the functionality to configure options.

Let's go to the Manjaro repositories as a more stable and extensive.
A few people have suggested this. Is there a difference between this and just using a set date int he arch repositories?

Adapt installer from manjaro-net edition(it's very good) for preconfiguration of Porteus.
I will check out the installer. Thanks.

Go to common for rolling-release numbering (year.month-rc3) Add the ability to boot from a different kernels(a standard feature of Manjaro)
I plan to use a 'kernel update' feature but only boot from one kernel. Most people have no need to choose a kernel to boot from.

Be prepared to sacrifice size in favor of functionality, stability, and time for personal life.
This is a good point, however we enter a different niche if we exit the 'lightweight' distro category. 300MB is my proposed maximum.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Suggestions

Post#94 by brokenman » 19 Nov 2015, 00:41

@Francois I rememeber you suggested using networkmanager for setting up network instead of netctl. In retrospect this was a wise piece of advice. Due to the conflict of netctl and the NetworkManager service I will be employing your idea. Thanks.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Igor
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 51
Joined: 05 Feb 2014, 14:16
Distribution: porteus

Re: Suggestions

Post#95 by Igor » 20 Nov 2015, 09:18

.
Last edited by Igor on 04 Dec 2015, 16:46, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Suggestions

Post#96 by francois » 21 Nov 2015, 17:45

@brokenman:
Thanks for networkmanager and nm-applet.

I am providing for the vbox guest addition on the download page of nemesis.

Is is possible to have mloop on nemesis or archporteus? Untar ... would also be appreciated.

Thanks.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

aus9

Re: Suggestions

Post#97 by aus9 » 25 Nov 2015, 07:27

In case its not in your TODO list

can git be added to the 05-devel.xzm please

aus9

Re: Suggestions

Post#98 by aus9 » 25 Nov 2015, 09:34

To reduce size of main iso why not move all /usr/include which is the headers of various Arch packages to 05-devel.xzm?

they need the dev XZM to compile so no harm there but not sure if we need to adjust the install scripts?

As you know I have currently a fail to re-pack the core for something else so don't have time to check my own suggestion.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Suggestions

Post#99 by brokenman » 25 Nov 2015, 13:08

To reduce size of main iso why not move all /usr/include which is the headers of various Arch packages to 05-devel.xzm?
Currently all headers are exported into 05-devel.xzm. You can get it from a command line with: get-devel

Francois here is also a script: vbox-build which will download and build vbox for you. I had some problems with the resulting module though. It must be missing some files as when started (on next boot with module) vbox maxes out cpu. I haven't gotten around to the guest addons as yet.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Suggestions

Post#100 by francois » 26 Nov 2015, 17:50

@brokenman:
vbxox-builder permitted the production of a functional VirtualBox-5.0.10-k4.3.0-x86_64-1prt.xzm. I have used it to look at an already installed vdi.

There was a small error message that did not seemed important for the process:
SyntaxError: Missing parentheses in call to 'print'
It is to you to judge:

Code: Select all

Installing VirtualBox to /opt/VirtualBox
Python found: python, installing bindings...
  File "vboxapisetup.py", line 21
    print "Cleaning COM cache at",comCache1,"and",comCache2
                                ^
SyntaxError: Missing parentheses in call to 'print'
Building the VirtualBox kernel modules

VirtualBox has been installed successfully.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Suggestions

Post#101 by francois » 28 Nov 2015, 23:52

@brokenman:
Is it too early to ask for functional base and xorg on which to build other desktop environments? xorg will not boot if I remove lxde and replace it with xfce4, which was an easy task, with some previous edition of nemesis.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Suggestions

Post#102 by brokenman » 29 Nov 2015, 00:32

Check out the file /etc/ld.so.conf and see if it contains /usr/lib/mesa
If not then add it and run ldconfig then try to start your desktop again.

Removing all modules above 002 should boot you into an openbox DM with an xterm popup after boot, ready for installin whatever you wish. Future releases will try to accomodate those that want basic apps included and those that want to roll their own. I will include an 'apps' module with the desktop so users can remove it and install their own preferences.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

aus9

Re: Suggestions

Post#103 by aus9 » 30 Nov 2015, 06:29

@brokenman

Rather than pollute your bug thread with my assertion that your Arch XZ openssl was incorrectly compiled to support ssl2 & 3
I will post here the result of my second opinion.

In case you do not run a server, or more importantly don't want to reveal to the public what security tools you run to harden your server, let me introduce you to unSpawn who is one of the main devs for rootkit hunter. He is also the Moderator of the security forum for LQ.

Here is his advice and my test results are below his.

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... ost5457056

In case you don't trust me 8) and are frightened of click bait

Here is the full output of my re-compiled openssl v 1.0.2d test

Code: Select all

true|openssl s_client -ssl3 -servername www.bing.com -connect www.bing.com:443
CONNECTED(00000003)
write:errno=104
---
no peer certificate available
---
No client certificate CA names sent
---
SSL handshake has read 0 bytes and written 0 bytes
---
New, (NONE), Cipher is (NONE)
Secure Renegotiation IS NOT supported
Compression: NONE
Expansion: NONE
No ALPN negotiated
SSL-Session:
    Protocol  : SSLv3
    Cipher    : 0000
    Session-ID: 
    Session-ID-ctx: 
    Master-Key: 
    Key-Arg   : None
    PSK identity: None
    PSK identity hint: None
    SRP username: None
    Start Time: 1448863735
    Timeout   : 7200 (sec)
    Verify return code: 0 (ok)
In case it is not obvious or equally importantly to assist other members who read this post, the key factors to look for are
A zero bytes were transferrerd in handshake and
B for sslv3 no cipher was found

No cipher was found is proof sslv3 was disabled at compile time.

My previous private message on this matter should be dismissed as a bad test. I am willing to give you another pm on possible build script but appreciate you are very busy bug hunting other matters so this can wait until you are ready for a new iso?

cheers and thanks for reading

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Suggestions

Post#104 by brokenman » 30 Nov 2015, 17:09

Nice work. As far as bug hunting goes, this is probably one of the more important ones. Please do send the PKGBUILD if you have one ready. I will probably recompile a few apps to get rid of non-essential deps.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

aus9

Re: Suggestions

Post#105 by aus9 » 01 Dec 2015, 09:58

@brokenman

In one of your recent posts you write
The order is: base/modules/extramods/rootcopy
The order is alphanumerical.
Lets pretend I have not bundled which is currently optional...but lets pretend there are only 2 packages

order is mirage python
lets pretend mirage depends on python.

so is there a problem here?

would the answer be to always bundle and then risk having some duplicated dependencies?

Post Reply