How to get it. [README FIRST] and discussion

Arch based Porteus community project
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5437
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#46 by brokenman » 03 Dec 2015, 21:40

Sorry Jack. I built 32bit last weekend but it didn't boot and I didn't have time to research why. I believe Neko remixed a 32bit of Nemesis. I will try again next week when I have extra time (holidays yaaay).
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 865
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#47 by neko » 05 Dec 2015, 04:11

porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso was converted from porteus-nemesis-v3.3-x86_64.iso.

It is not yet slim down. It is big (297 M).
And it might have many issues.

porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso (297 M)

md5sum: 3baf940e461bb6fd0dc718672e9a912c porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso
http://www.mediafire.com/download/q85f7 ... 3-i486.iso
Thanks.


P.S.
It is better to get "i486.iso" that will be offered by brokenman.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#48 by Jack » 09 Dec 2015, 02:44

neko wrote:porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso was converted from porteus-nemesis-v3.3-x86_64.iso.

It is not yet slim down. It is big (297 M).
And it might have many issues.

porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso (297 M)

md5sum: 3baf940e461bb6fd0dc718672e9a912c porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso
http://www.mediafire.com/download/q85f7 ... 3-i486.iso
Thanks.


P.S.
It is better to get "i486.iso" that will be offered by brokenman.
I just downloaded the iso and I'll get back after I try it out. I do have a Server 2 cpu and 32gb of memory I will try the 64 bit version out to. I don't think brokenman has a 32 bit version out yet.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

aus9

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#49 by aus9 » 09 Dec 2015, 23:15

low priority

Can we delete v3.2 from the repo please?
I am kinda of getting excited for waiting for next release.
:friends:

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#50 by Jack » 11 Dec 2015, 19:49

Jack wrote:
neko wrote:porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso was converted from porteus-nemesis-v3.3-x86_64.iso.

It is not yet slim down. It is big (297 M).
And it might have many issues.

porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso (297 M)

md5sum: 3baf940e461bb6fd0dc718672e9a912c porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso
http://www.mediafire.com/download/q85f7 ... 3-i486.iso
Thanks.


P.S.
It is better to get "i486.iso" that will be offered by brokenman.
I just downloaded the iso and I'll get back after I try it out. I do have a Server 2 cpu and 32gb of memory I will try the 64 bit version out to. I don't think brokenman has a 32 bit version out yet.
Well what I seen so far it runs great I didn't see any problem with it. You did a great job. I would like the Mate version of Porteus maybe it will be soon.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

imota
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Dec 2015, 09:01
Distribution: x-tahr
Location: yu

nemesis 3.3 on hp pavillion

Post#51 by imota » 12 Dec 2015, 09:08

thanks !!!

nemesis 3.3 on hp pavillion 8 gb ram, 750 gb hdd 64 bit

the new iso can "see" only 4.6 gb of ram

can you make that can "see" whole 8 gb of ram?

regards.

aus9

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#52 by aus9 » 12 Dec 2015, 12:24

@imota

I have a tower Nemesis 64 bit 8G RAM and my result is good

Code: Select all

cat /proc/meminfo | grep MemTotal
MemTotal:        7863792 kB
There is of course the possibility you bought something thinking you were getting 8 but were scammed but can you show the output to topline command please?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1123
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#53 by donald » 12 Dec 2015, 13:36

@ aus9
"grep" is sufficient.,...no need to use cat and pipe..

Code: Select all

grep MemTotal /proc/meminfo
..sorry, I couldn't resist.. :friends:

aus9

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#54 by aus9 » 12 Dec 2015, 13:47

my pleasure
:friends:

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 865
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#55 by neko » 25 Dec 2015, 16:10

porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486.iso was converted from porteus-nemesis-v3.4-x86_64.iso.

It is not yet slim down. It is big (343 M).
And it might have many issues.

porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486.iso (343 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/download/0n255 ... 4-i486.iso
md5sum: 51d704e86c73d90ec52348b20ec720b6 porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486.iso

Thanks.


P.S.
'initrd.xz' was integrated.
Porteus V3.1 version (original version),
Porteus V3.1 FVWM version ('.tgz' files will be expanded), and
Porteus nemesis V3.4 version

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 865
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#56 by neko » 26 Dec 2015, 21:19

porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486.iso was updated to porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso.

WiFi NG bug was fixed.

porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso (343 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/download/7a9y8 ... i486-2.iso
md5sum: 450df1ca40565bd5e4436441c15dfe3e porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso

Thanks.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#57 by Jack » 27 Dec 2015, 03:59

neko wrote:porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486.iso was updated to porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso.

WiFi NG bug was fixed.

porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso (343 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/download/7a9y8 ... i486-2.iso
md5sum: 450df1ca40565bd5e4436441c15dfe3e porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso

Thanks.
Can I just copy the porteus/base/modules from the ISO to the porteus/base/modules to the USB Stick? Or just redo the USB Stick all together?
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Michele13
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 56
Joined: 18 Aug 2013, 10:23
Distribution: Based on Debian and Slackware
Location: Italy

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#58 by Michele13 » 27 Dec 2015, 12:27

Still waiting to try the 32-bit version...I managed to find it, but as the download link hasn't been published yet on this thread i don't know if I should use it :)

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5437
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#59 by brokenman » 27 Dec 2015, 15:36

Feel free to use it but be warned that consekit is not functioning fully. You will need to shutdown from a root console. Also you may have trouble using pacman. I had to downgrade some core components due to dependencies. Next version will switch to manjaro and seems much more stable and up to date. I will release the 32bit along with the 64bit.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#60 by Jack » 27 Dec 2015, 17:41

Michele13 wrote:Still waiting to try the 32-bit version...I managed to find it, but as the download link hasn't been published yet on this thread i don't know if I should use it :)
I'm still doing testing on brokenman and neko of the 32bit version of Arch. I will get back soon.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Post Reply