Can this work?

Share your opinion about Porteus Kiosk Edition.
Post Reply
NickM
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Sep 2015, 13:05
Distribution: centos
Location: United Kingdom

Can this work?

Post#1 by NickM » 22 Sep 2015, 13:08

Hi there,
I am planning on installing porteus kiosk on a mini pc and buy a touchscreen like this: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Capacitive-800% ... 160%2C160_

Can you tell me if porteus supports such setup? Will the touch screen work or not? Is the resolution of the touchscreen an issue?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4588
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Can this work?

Post#2 by fanthom » 22 Sep 2015, 14:20

Hello Nick,

If the manufacturer of the product mainlined the drivers (they are present in the linux kernel already) then this touchscreen will work out of the box with Porteus Kiosk.
If the manufacturer has 'out of the kernel' drivers then custom build may be necessary for integrating them with the ISO:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/builds.html

From the link provided i see that touchscreen is compatible with Lubuntu and Rasbian so there is a chance that everything will work ootb. Calibration may be needed but since version 3.5.0 you can do it through the wizard yourself.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

NickM
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Sep 2015, 13:05
Distribution: centos
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Can this work?

Post#3 by NickM » 22 Sep 2015, 15:47

Thanks for the fast reply.
I will test and see how it goes.

NickM
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Sep 2015, 13:05
Distribution: centos
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Can this work?

Post#4 by NickM » 24 Sep 2015, 13:49

Hi There,
It seems that the LCD is displaying everything ok, but the touch is not working.
Is there any way i can fix this myself?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4588
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Can this work?

Post#5 by fanthom » 24 Sep 2015, 15:31

Please generate system report in the wizard -> locate touch controller name -> search Google how to get this controller working under Linux.

This is what i would do myself.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

NickM
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Sep 2015, 13:05
Distribution: centos
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Can this work?

Post#6 by NickM » 25 Sep 2015, 10:24

Either i don't know what to look for or there is no touch controller name in the report.
All i can find related to the touch is: RPI_Touch

Post Reply