[SOLVED] Problem with save.dat and changes.

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
User avatar
bradmbrown
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 13 May 2011, 16:12
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada

[SOLVED] Problem with save.dat and changes.

Post#1 by bradmbrown » 18 May 2011, 18:06

[Solved]
Host:
My box = Linux Mint 10 64
with a root EXT4 partition
and home EXT4 partition
NO /porteus/
NO /changes/

So I can go through this and step by step. Hoping someone would like to point to what I did wrong.
This is fresh boot of cd porteus1 rc2 64 with default cheats
after that, I think my copying and pasting of the
/porteus/
folders and
/changes/
I am doing incorrectly. Something is missing on my end.

I read that the scrypt to make a save.dat is for NTFS system. Which I do not have.

So, how and where do I save my session?

When I bang away, I find that the only way for me to save the session and to retrieve on boot is to save the
save.dat file as 0.dat into /mnt/sda1/
during initial fresh boot from cd with default cheats and then, on boot to cheat code
changes=/sda1/0.dat
THAT IS MY ROOT DIR IN THE HOST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I suffer glitch when mounting modules. I think I am do not have enough loops or possibly I am going outside the size constraints in my host root dir or the encased .dat fs...... [later I will deal with that, I want to do one step at time....]
So on that note, I leave here and come back and hope for a short easy little answer like
'Oh silly, you should have put a dot instead of a slash there or something!'

Haha.
Thanks

PS I hope I didn't make typo here.
PPS Veteran Linuxer, but only as a user. As admin, I am dangerous to myself and others ;)

I am sorry, but to me, the reading I have done here is a little hyperbolic, to me. I am sure it is clear and I am missing some little details.

Peace.
Last edited by bradmbrown on 19 May 2011, 13:26, edited 1 time in total.
it is possible to have an asymptomatic disease, like asymptomatic Hepatitis C. But it is not possible, even in principle, to have asymptomatic ADHD.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: /mnt/sda1 /dev/sda1/ save.dat 0.dat mnt/changes mnt/port

Post#2 by Hamza » 18 May 2011, 18:16

1) Please , Use a correct title.
2) Post more informations about your current machine?
3) Post more informations about your current version of Porteus. (arch? stable?)

Regards,
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
bradmbrown
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 13 May 2011, 16:12
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada

Re: /mnt/sda1 /dev/sda1/ save.dat 0.dat mnt/changes mnt/port

Post#3 by bradmbrown » 18 May 2011, 19:14

I am sorry. I do not know how to change the subject. If you wish, you could change to a more suitable one. I am not really sure what the title should be, so I made the stupid one you see.

Porteus. 1 rc2 64

this is the profile of the Host OS.

BEGIN

Computer
Summary
Computer
Processor 4x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2.50GHz
Memory 8062MB (558MB used)
Operating System Linux Mint 10 Julia
User Name .......
[EDIT - SNIPPED, was the wrong stuff, there is my psinfo.txt at bottom of this thread marked 'SOLVED.'

END
Thanks.

Peace
Brad M Brown
Canada
Last edited by bradmbrown on 19 May 2011, 13:22, edited 1 time in total.
it is possible to have an asymptomatic disease, like asymptomatic Hepatitis C. But it is not possible, even in principle, to have asymptomatic ADHD.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Problem with save.dat and changments

Post#4 by Hamza » 18 May 2011, 19:54

Sorry,

The Porteus Team do not support the other distribution (here , it's Linux Mint)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Problem with save.dat and changments.

Post#5 by Ahau » 18 May 2011, 20:10

Just to clarify -- Are you running porteus from the CD, and trying to save changes to your hard drive, or have you installed porteus to the hard drive?

You don't need a save.dat file to save changes on an ext partiton. you just need to specify a directory, e.g. /mnt/sda1/porteus/changes.

If you are running from a CD, you would use changes=/mnt/sda1/porteus/changes. If you have porteus installed on sda1 in /porteus, then you could just use changes=/porteus/changes.

Of course, you can still use a .dat container if you want. Use the 'Save.dat manager' from the kde or lxde menu to make one, and not it's location.

Were you reading the install guide from /boot/docs/install.txt or the main web site, from the link to Install It (V 1.0)? Is that what you found to be hyperbolic?
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Problem with save.dat and changments.

Post#6 by Hamza » 18 May 2011, 20:34

One thing.

If your issue is not on Porteus or related to Porteus. The Porteus Team does not support officially your problem.

Regards,
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Problem with save.dat and changments.

Post#7 by Ahau » 18 May 2011, 21:28

Hamza, I believe his issue is with Porteus, he just posted his system info from his Mint install.

Brad, you can boot up porteus and run 'psinfo' from a console, it will generate the logs we need and put them in a text document on your Desktop. You can copy the info from there to pastebin and post a link here.

In your log, I see that sdc1 is the only drive mounted. Where is the sda1 partition? Having the logs from porteus (via psinfo) will help us understand what drives porteus sees and where they are mounted.

We'll need more info to tackle the install to your hard drive as well. It should consist of copying the /boot and /porteus folders from your CD to your hard drive. if you don't want them in the root of your drive, you can put them in a subdirectory, and point your bootloader to the location of your kernel and initrd, and use the from_dir cheatcode for the rest of your data.

What bootloader are you using for Mint?
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
bradmbrown
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 13 May 2011, 16:12
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada

Re: Problem with save.dat and changments.

Post#8 by bradmbrown » 19 May 2011, 13:19

Ahau wrote:Just to clarify -- Are you running porteus from the CD, and trying to save changes to your hard drive, or have you installed porteus to the hard drive?

You don't need a save.dat file to save changes on an ext partiton. you just need to specify a directory, e.g. /mnt/sda1/porteus/changes.

If you are running from a CD, you would use changes=/mnt/sda1/porteus/changes. If you have porteus installed on sda1 in /porteus, then you could just use changes=/porteus/changes.

Of course, you can still use a .dat container if you want. Use the 'Save.dat manager' from the kde or lxde menu to make one, and not it's location.

Were you reading the install guide from /boot/docs/install.txt or the main web site, from the link to Install It (V 1.0)? Is that what you found to be hyperbolic?
There are some solutions suggested in the replies from everyone here that I shall try. I enjoy this all, so I don't mind. The docs aren't hyperbole, I think the problem is behind my keyboard ;)

I would like to try the solution offered where "changes=/mnt/sda1/porteus/changes. If you have Porteus installed on sda1 in /porteus, then you could just use changes=/porteus/changes."
That is what I was doing, except that I was doing that first, before having injected the two folders. And then I was running the script to create a save.dat and I was not sure as to where to put in, so I tried / and /mnt and /mnt/sda1 etc etc. That is not a good way to do things, as it is silly and prone to glitch. So, as I said, I am going to try the above first. I still am reluctant to stick the .dat file in the root dir, but I don't think that was recommended in the docs, I was trying this and that in order to get my session saved.
I am glad to learn that it is okay to inject the save.dat into a extX fs as that is as the docs instructed.... and everything else should fall in place for me. I will get back to my friends here who have responded and let you know how it turns out.
After I get boot into Porteus I will check out the hardware info I can get according to instructions from here and post them here.

I am excited about this Porteus OS, I think it is powerful and elegant. To have a tiny and up-to-date slackware nested in my HD is what I have been waiting for for a long time. In 1995, I was intimidated by what I saw [Slackware 95]. SInce then, I am more competent working with a Linux Os. I really like the raw power in a slackware linux box.

Peace
Brad M Brown
Canada

Posted after 1 hour 9 minutes 45 seconds:
I gave Porteus its own physical hard drive.
I copied /boot and /porteus from cd to hdd
I booted from cd
I made the save.dat file as /mnt/sda1/0.dat using the handy script 'Porteus save.dat manager.' [I can change that location, but I wanted to keep it simple, for now]
I changed the background colour on my desktop to BRIGHT RED

I shut down and rebooted from the cd.
I used cheatcode changes=/mnt/sda1/0.dat
After KDE started, the desktop was BRIGHT RED!!!!

In In In In In In

Thanks everyone.

Posted after 9 hours 38 minutes 14 seconds:
Re: Problem with save.dat and changments. S0LVED
[SOLVED]

I am in and running and am saving sessions, so I believe I am up and running. A fellow member above sugested I paste output from psinfo.txt

BEGIN

Output from psinfo
----------------------
script by jayflood
.
.

====== USER INFO =====
User is: guest
.
===== MACHINE INFO =====
Platform: x86_64
Kernel: 2.6.38.5-porteus
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2.50GHz
MemTotal: 8066412 kB
MemFree: 6888552 kB
Bootparam: root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk_size=6666 rw initrd=/boot/initrd.xz vga=791 splash=silent quiet autoexec=xconf;telinit~4 changes=/mnt/sda1/0.dat BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz
.
===== SOUND INFO =====
Sound card: 0 [Intel ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
HDA Intel at 0xfe9f4000 irq 44
Sound driver: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.23.
.
===== PARTITION INFO =====
Porteus is on: /mnt/sda1
sr0
.
Partitions:
sda
sda1
sda2
sda5
sdb
sdb1
.
Mounted:
/dev/sr0 iso9660 299M 299M 0 100% /mnt/sr0
/dev/sda1 ext4 141G 1.5G 133G 2% /mnt/sda1
.
===== OPTICAl DRIVE =====
sr0
.
===== USB INFO =====
Removables: FreeAgent
Mass
Removable status: sd3:0:0:0:[sda]Protect
sd3:0:0:0:[sda]Protect
sd3:0:0:0:[sda]Protect
sd9:0:0:0:[sdd]Protect
sd3:0:0:0:[sda]Protect
sd8:0:0:0:[sdb]Protect
.
lsusb:
.
===== SCREEN INFO =====
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
.
===== MODULES LOADED =====
000-kernel.xzm
001-core.xzm
002-xorg.xzm
003-lxde.xzm
004-kde.xzm
005-devel.xzm
006-firefox-flash.xzm
.
===== NETWORK INFO =====
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:ZZ:2d:12:XX:3f
inet addr:999.987.000.130 Bcast:999.987.000.130 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: de10::2F6:2dff:fe18:778c/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:176 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:198 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:120022 (117.2 KiB) TX bytes:26158 (25.5 KiB)
Interrupt:20 Memory:fe9c0000-fe9e0000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:400 (400.0 B) TX bytes:400 (400.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 90:I3:06:7f:11:1c
inet6 addr: fe80::721T:4ff:fey1:412c/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:9103 errors:0 dropped:204 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:69 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1247501 (1.1 MiB) TX bytes:3528 (3.4 KiB)
Interrupt:17
.
# Generated by dhcpcd from eth0
# /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
nameserver 111.111.345.002
# /etc/resolv.conf.tail can replace this line
.
===== PCI INFO =====
lspci: 00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset DRAM Controller (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82567V-2 Gigabit Network Connection
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5
00:1a.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Root Port 1
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Port 2
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 90)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JIB (ICH10) LPC Interface Controller
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) SATA AHCI Controller
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) SMBus Controller
01:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. Device 3403
02:00.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2860
.
.
===== LOGS INFO =====
dmesg | tail
.
[ 41.221350] 0x1300 = 00073200
[ 41.526867] e1000e: eth0 NIC Link is Up 100 Mbps Full Duplex, Flow Control: Rx/Tx
[ 41.526872] e1000e 0000:00:19.0: eth0: 10/100 speed: disabling TSO
[ 57.449012] NET: Registered protocol family 10
[ 68.082004] wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
[ 68.210011] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
[ 72.488179] ===>rt_ioctl_giwscan. 9(9) BSS returned, data->length = 1496
[ 76.553321] ata4.00: configured for UDMA/133
[ 76.553325] ata4: EH complete
[ 76.900436] EXT4-fs (sda1): re-mounted. Opts: commit=0
.
.
cat /var/log/messages | tail
.
May 19 13:00:18 (none) acpid: 1 client rule loaded
May 19 13:00:20 (none) /usr/sbin/gpm[2419]: *** info [startup.c(95)]:
May 19 13:00:20 (none) /usr/sbin/gpm[2419]: Started gpm successfully. Entered daemon mode.
May 19 13:00:21 (none) kernel: [ 57.449012] NET: Registered protocol family 10
May 19 13:00:28 (none) init: Switching to runlevel: 4
May 19 13:00:29 (none) acpid: client connected from 2880[0:0]
May 19 13:00:29 (none) acpid: 1 client rule loaded
May 19 13:00:40 (none) kernel: [ 76.553321] ata4.00: configured for UDMA/133
May 19 13:00:40 (none) kernel: [ 76.553325] ata4: EH complete
May 19 13:00:40 (none) kernel: [ 76.900436] EXT4-fs (sda1): re-mounted. Opts: commit=0

END

I post this in case there is anything anyone would like to add to this, solved issue. And also, thanks.
[Oh man, when copy2ram is cheated this is very very very fast. I like to use Puppy Linux in ram for the same reason, however, there are subtle differences.... And a few that are critical. Barry and his people are having fun with their OS too. Hehe.
Bye. for now.

Peace
Brad M Brown
Canada
it is possible to have an asymptomatic disease, like asymptomatic Hepatitis C. But it is not possible, even in principle, to have asymptomatic ADHD.

Post Reply