Adobe Flash update Firefox

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
wacojohn
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 107
Joined: 04 Sep 2015, 18:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.1
Location: Waco, TX

Re: Adobe Flash update Firefox

Post#16 by wacojohn » 22 Oct 2015, 11:37

Sorry for the delayed reply. Working with the system on another project and taking instructions from Bogomips .. so can't twiddle with it at this time.

http://linux.palemoon.org/ says:
Pale Moon requires a processor which supports the SSE2 instruction set, and will not run on processors that do not support it.

You can check if your processor supports SSE2 by typing the following into the terminal: cat /proc/cpuinfo

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor	: 0
vendor_id	: GenuineIntel
cpu family	: 6
model		: 8
model name	: Celeron (Coppermine)
stepping	: 6
microcode	: 0x8
cpu MHz		: 697.738
cache size	: 128 KB
physical id	: 0
siblings	: 1
core id		: 0
cpu cores	: 1
apicid		: 0
initial apicid	: 0
fdiv_bug	: no
f00f_bug	: no
coma_bug	: no
fpu		: yes
fpu_exception	: yes
cpuid level	: 2
wp		: yes
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pse36 mmx fxsr sse
bugs		:
bogomips	: 1395.47
clflush size	: 32
cache_alignment	: 32
address sizes	: 36 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
power management:

guest@porteus:~$ 
If I read this right, my CPU does not qualify (flags :sse) .... would you agree??

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3161
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Adobe Flash update Firefox

Post#17 by Ed_P » 22 Oct 2015, 13:16

wacojohn wrote:If I read this right, my CPU does not qualify (flags :sse) .... would you agree??
No.
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2541
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Adobe Flash update Firefox

Post#18 by Bogomips » 22 Oct 2015, 18:49

Looks like it does not qualify :(

Try Slimjet Browser. Don't know anything about it other than some accolades, and that it's being run by someone quite capable of helping you to get it going.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3161
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Adobe Flash update Firefox

Post#19 by Ed_P » 23 Oct 2015, 02:00

My Acer Aspire 722 netbook machine shows these flags:

Code: Select all

flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor ssse3 cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch ibs skinit wdt arat cpb hw_pstate npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save paus
I wouild interpret the flags as positives not negatives.

An easy way to determine if an app will work, in most cases, use USM to see if it has a download for the app. If so, download it, activate it and see what happens. If it works copy it to your modules folder.
Ed

wacojohn
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 107
Joined: 04 Sep 2015, 18:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.1
Location: Waco, TX

Re: Adobe Flash update Firefox

Post#20 by wacojohn » 23 Oct 2015, 02:33

Ed_P wrote:My Acer Aspire 722 netbook machine shows these flags:

Code: Select all

flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor ssse3 cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch ibs skinit wdt arat cpb hw_pstate npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save paus
I wouild interpret the flags as positives not negatives.

An easy way to determine if an app will work, in most cases, use USM to see if it has a download for the app. If so, download it, activate it and see what happens. If it works copy it to your modules folder.
I could be wrong, but I don't think this old coppermine CPU qualifies. Flag says sse .... and PMoon clearly says sse2.

However, I put PMoon-32 on one of my high end Windows machines ... and LOVE IT. Will probably replace SRWARE IRON with it.

As for this porteus relic .. would like to just get FF to work. I think, at least, it is supposed to work with it.

wacojohn
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 107
Joined: 04 Sep 2015, 18:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.1
Location: Waco, TX

Re: Adobe Flash update Firefox

Post#21 by wacojohn » 23 Oct 2015, 15:40

I think I might be in trouble. ABOUT FIREFOX said v. 31.3.0
USM showed 4 hits for FIREFOX. I will name them if necessary, but the one I picked is mozilla-firefox-38.3.0esr-i486-1_slack14.1.txz from slackwarepatches/STATUS UPGRADE.

Resolve dependencies CHECKED .. clicked download, chose CONVERT TO MODULES, and have had a window:
PROCESSING:
Converting
mozilla-firefox-38.3.0esr-i486-1_slack.14.1.txz
up for over 1/2 hour.

am I OK .. and need to wait or have I made a procedural error???
Thank you in advance for any advice.

EDIT:
Computer answered my question. Just got another window:
your files are ready
Would you like to open the storage folder now?
NO YES
I assume YES, ... then copy the module to someplace, and then ACTIVATE ... but not certain. Only done this once before for flash ... and ...uh ... really don't remember what comes next for this update.

EDIT:
I closed my eyes and pulled the trigger .... and it appears I was right. Followed instincts and appears I now have the update.

Post Reply