ipv6

Non release banter
Post Reply
donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1123
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

ipv6

Post#1 by donald » 15 Sep 2015, 01:32

Hi guys
A while ago i stumbled over "ipv6".I am fairly familiar with ipv4, iptables etc.
Therefore I took a short look at it.
I didn't like/understood the consequences.
( the included mac address, nat doesn't shield you anymore etc.)
The hardware, iirc a d-link router was not able to handle ipv6,..ah..good..case closed.

Now the AP, which isn't under my control, has changed. A quick look into
/var/log/messages showed
porteus dhcpcd[2405]: wlan0: Router Advertisement from xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxx
ifconfig wlan0 showed a assigned ipv6 address.
Using Network-Manager > connections I had choosen ipv6 = ignore. doesn't help.

some links
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/IPv6
http://www.ipsidixit.net/2012/08/09/ipv ... xtensions/
test page
http://ipv6-test.com/

Well, I'm not finished with the topic.
Until now I disable ipv6 (temporary) with

Code: Select all

echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv6/conf/all/disable_ipv6
before establishing a connection...and in FF
Change about:config settings
Change network.dns.disableIPv6 to true

@ everyone, what do you think/ do / recommend.. comments / concerns etc. are welcome.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1123
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: ipv6

Post#2 by donald » 04 Dec 2016, 00:53

UPDATE
Since Porteus 3.2, the above-mentioned line no longer works as desired.
(now, one must first establish the connection before this line would work)
This is not how it should be.

To disable ipv6 (completely) add "ipv6.disable=1" either, at the boot splash screen, (temporary),
or the APPEND line in "porteus.cfg" to have it set at each boot up.
Example:

Code: Select all

APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus ipv6.disable=1
If you want to check if you have an ipv6 address assigned:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/# ip addr show | grep inet6
should not reveal any result.

Post Reply