[Solved] Porteus 3.1 Mate 64bit smb locations not supported

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
Tomas Kolousek
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Aug 2015, 11:53
Distribution: Porteus 3.1, LFS, Gentoo
Location: Chomutov, Czech republic

[Solved] Porteus 3.1 Mate 64bit smb locations not supported

Post#1 by Tomas Kolousek » 16 Aug 2015, 12:15

Hello.
I found that in 64bit Porteus 3.1 smb://serve/share style locations are'n supported in caja. In 32bit version everything is working well.
After some investigation I found that in gvfs (module reported gvfs-1.16.4-x86_64-2jay) the smb extension is missing.

So I took them from some other slackware package and buid a quick "fix module" from them. Namely these must be added:

* /usr/libexec/gvfsd-smb and gvfsd-smb-browse
* /usr/share/GConf/gsettings/gvfs-smb.convert
* /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/org.gnome.system.smb.gschema.xml
* /usr/share/gvfs/mounts/smb-browse.mount and smb.mount

The package used as source for these files was gvfs-1.16.3-x86_64-2.txz (but it has some other dependencies I didn't like just for samba).
Sorry for not attaching the fix module here - didn't found a way how. But dopying the above mentioned files into proper directory structure and calling dir2xzm <fix-module-root> <fix-module-name.xzm> isn't so hard for everyone.

After activating / fixing, the currently running gvfsd daemon (and it's helpers) needs to be stopped (ps aux|grep gvfsd; kill <pid-no>) and started again (/usr/libexec/gvfsd&). Then everything is working fine like in 32bit Porteus.

I hope this helps the others.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5542
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [Solved] Porteus 3.1 Mate 64bit smb locations not suppor

Post#2 by brokenman » 16 Aug 2015, 20:33

Thanks for taking the time to post the solution. Much appreciated.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply