How much ram needed for copy2ram ?

Non release banter
Post Reply
rnport
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 98
Joined: 01 May 2011, 00:55

How much ram needed for copy2ram ?

Post#1 by rnport » 15 May 2011, 13:06

RAM needed for copy2ram will depend on total size of modules in modules folder. How can one estimate the size of RAM needed for using cheatcode copy2ram? Is it simply the size of base and modules folder?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: How much ram needed for copy2ram ?

Post#2 by brokenman » 15 May 2011, 13:22

From the 'requirements.txt' file in the boot/docs directory of latest rc release.

Memory
------
36 MB to boot porteus.
96 MB to run Xwindow with fluxbox
144 MB to run Xwindow with KDE
328 MB to be able to use copy2ram cheatcode

I believe you would want a good deal more than the required though for more freedom.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

rnport
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 98
Joined: 01 May 2011, 00:55

Re: How much ram needed for copy2ram ?

Post#3 by rnport » 15 May 2011, 16:58

But if the modules in modules folder together are more than 328mb, then there could be a problem.

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: How much ram needed for copy2ram ?

Post#4 by crashman » 15 May 2011, 18:21

@ brokenman
Memory
------
36 MB to boot porteus.
96 MB to run Xwindow with fluxbox
144 MB to run Xwindow with KDE
328 MB to be able to use copy2ram cheatcode
this is part cheatcode of slax right ?

@rnport
please goto base folder and select all modules and click right mouse button and properties you see needed ram.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: How much ram needed for copy2ram ?

Post#5 by brokenman » 16 May 2011, 14:17

Yes that is default from slax ... but should still apply here.
Remember that just having the module in modules/optional folder does not add the true weight of module to used ram.

bash-4.1# fgrep Mem /proc/meminfo
MemTotal: 2518600 kB
MemFree: 1196920 kB
bash-4.1# activate /xzm/googleearth-6.0.1.2032-i386-5sl.xzm
About to insert module
Updating MIME database: /usr/bin/update-mime-database /usr/share/mime &
bash-4.1# fgrep Mem /proc/meminfo
MemTotal: 2518600 kB
MemFree: 1204112 kB

a good indication would be: du -sh /mnt/live/memory
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply