onscreen keyboard

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
myrevolution78
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Aug 2015, 07:10
Distribution: porteus
Location: Tschibuti

onscreen keyboard

Post#1 by myrevolution78 » 10 Aug 2015, 07:13

hello,
i'm testing porteus and it works fine on our all-in-one tocushcreen clients. but i'm missing a onscreen keyboard. how can i activate it?
thanks for help!
cheers, myrevolution78

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: onscreen keyboard

Post#2 by Bogomips » 10 Aug 2015, 12:09

If using KDE: Kick Off Application Launcher > Applications > Utilities > Virtual Keyboard 8)

P.S. No idea if it also works on a touch screen. :unknown:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

myrevolution78
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Aug 2015, 07:10
Distribution: porteus
Location: Tschibuti

Re: onscreen keyboard

Post#3 by myrevolution78 » 11 Aug 2015, 05:40

im using the porteus kiosk software (without kde). the touchscreen works but im missing a onscreen keyboard...

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: onscreen keyboard

Post#4 by fanthom » 11 Aug 2015, 07:14

@myrevolution78
Are you using Chrome or Firefox?

If Chrome then you could follow these instructions:
viewtopic.php?f=127&t=4889

If Firefox then this post should help:
viewtopic.php?f=102&t=1741

btw: moved to kiosk section
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

myrevolution78
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Aug 2015, 07:10
Distribution: porteus
Location: Tschibuti

Re: onscreen keyboard

Post#5 by myrevolution78 » 18 Aug 2015, 05:28

hi!
thank u for the link! sounds complicated to activate/install an onscreen keyboard...
cheers, myrevolution

Post Reply