Editing an Install - command line access

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
rcadmin
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Aug 2015, 04:19
Distribution: Latest
Location: New Zealand

Editing an Install - command line access

Post#1 by rcadmin » 10 Aug 2015, 04:28

I am having wireless issues and need to get to the command-line so that I can do the following:
What to do if your NIC is not working with the broadcom-sta driver?
The solution is quite simple as Porteus comes with other drivers which should do the job. The only thing which must be done is to blacklist 'wl' driver (our broadcom-sta) and unblacklist the rest. To do this, create a file (plain text) at /mnt/sdXY/porteus/rootcopy/etc/modprobe.d/b43_blacklist.conf with following content:

blacklist wl
Alas I can't work out how to access the CLI to make the change.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4549
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Editing an Install - command line access

Post#2 by fanthom » 10 Aug 2015, 07:19

Hello rcadmin,

You can get to the cli but you wont be able to change any settings permanently. See kiosk FAQ:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/faq.html#3
http://porteus-kiosk.org/faq.html#5
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

rcadmin
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Aug 2015, 04:19
Distribution: Latest
Location: New Zealand

Re: Editing an Install - command line access

Post#3 by rcadmin » 10 Aug 2015, 08:08

Thanks for that. alas I has still not helped me understand how to create that blacklist file.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4549
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Editing an Install - command line access

Post#4 by fanthom » 10 Aug 2015, 08:27

1) You would have to remaster the installation ISO:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/kiosk-customization.html

2) broadcom-sta driver is not present in kiosk so blacklisting wont work anyway. Please follow instructions from here:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/faq.html#13
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply