Can't Print

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
hammerb
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Aug 2015, 13:16
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk 3.4.0
Location: kansas city

Can't Print

Post#1 by hammerb » 06 Aug 2015, 14:27

I am newbie to Porteus Kiosk software and a newbie to linux in general. I absolutely love porteus. i have a situation where Porteus Kiosk is absolutely perfect. I am having problems getting the software to print. I have a HP Lasterjet 2100 which is specifically listed in the list of printer when you setup a printer in the kiosk software. I have a web site that has a print button built in that invokes the print command. I even get the print dialog window to pop up and everything. The printer listed is "kiosk printer" or something like that. however when i click print nothing happens. I know that the problem is with me and my limited knowledge of linux. I have a gut feeling I am missing something. can anyone help.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Can't Print

Post#2 by fanthom » 06 Aug 2015, 16:29

Hello hammerb,

This model is well supported by two drivers:
gutenprint
hplip

Is the printer attached through usb or its a network printer maybe?

In any case - please do as follows:
- select 'HP LaserJet 2100 Series Postscript' driver in the wizard
- install kiosk and boot
- try to print
- enter 127.0.0.1:631/admin in the URL bar
- send me access and error logs to support@porteus-kiosk.org

You may also try second driver which is 'HP LaserJet 2100M' (gutenprint) so please repeat whole procedure again.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

hammerb
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Aug 2015, 13:16
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk 3.4.0
Location: kansas city

Re: Can't Print

Post#3 by hammerb » 07 Aug 2015, 20:24

Can anyone please help me get this printer working?

My company simply will not allow someone from the outside to access anything on the network. I can open the web page, I can provoke the print command, I can send a print job to the printer. but two different printers and two different means of connecting the printers to the computer end with nothing getting printed out. I am not linux savvy but I know that someone out there has found a way to get a printer to work on Porteus-Kiosk.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Can't Print

Post#4 by Bogomips » 07 Aug 2015, 22:50

Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Robbocop
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Sep 2015, 08:20
Distribution: porteus-kiosk 3.5.0
Location: Bad Sassendorf Germany
Contact:

Re: Can't Print

Post#5 by Robbocop » 09 Sep 2015, 08:34

:D Hi there,
I've installed Proteus Kiosk Vers. 3.5.0 yesterday and came to the same problem: No printing. Print function was activated, Printer-model was selected and installed, but no printing was going on. I solved this problem by activating the Proxy-Exception for "localhost" and "127.0.0.1". An error-mesage during print showed that the system couldn't write a log file to the destination //127.0.0.1/....
Immer wenn man die Meinung der Mehrheit teilt, ist es Zeit, sich zu besinnen“ – Mark Twain
___________________
[oo]===OOOO===[oö]

Mit vier, spielt fünf.

Gruß J :) chem

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5081
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Can't Print

Post#6 by francois » 09 Sep 2015, 10:13

send access and error logs to support@porteus-kiosk.org
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Can't Print

Post#7 by fanthom » 09 Sep 2015, 12:17

I have updated 3.5.0 ISO to have '127.0.0.1' address in proxy exceptions by default.

Thank you for reporting.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply