kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Non release banter
Post Reply
rnport
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 98
Joined: 01 May 2011, 00:55

kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Post#1 by rnport » 15 May 2011, 01:17

Ksnapshot is not working on my porteus v09, 32bit. If run from commandline it is asking for libkio.so.5. I checked from slax site that this is found in Kdelibs 4.1, kde 4.2.1 part 3-9, kdelibs-4.3.4 ; these are apparently kde4 modules. Please help.

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Post#2 by crashman » 15 May 2011, 12:04

@rnport
All power is allocate to Porteus-v1, please download latest v1.0-RC1 version !!

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Post#3 by beny » 15 May 2011, 12:13

32 bit run trinity not kde 4.6.3 you don't run kde application into trinity environment that is kde 3.5.12

rnport
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 98
Joined: 01 May 2011, 00:55

Re: kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Post#4 by rnport » 15 May 2011, 13:12

I will download rc1. Please confirm that following is the link:

http://www.ponce.cc/porteus/i486/testin ... c1-x86.iso

on page: http://porteus.org/distro-download/down ... 2-bit.html

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Post#5 by brokenman » 15 May 2011, 13:30

That is the correct link.

If you have /usr/lib/libkio.so.4.2.0 available then just link your required library against this. It should work fine.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

rnport
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 98
Joined: 01 May 2011, 00:55

Re: kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Post#6 by rnport » 15 May 2011, 16:48

Please tell me the exact steps for linking /usr/lib/libkio.so.4.2.0

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Post#7 by Ahau » 15 May 2011, 22:53

cd /usr/lib
ls | grep libkio

To see what version, if any, you have already, then

ln -s libkio.so.4.2.0 libkio.so.5

I'm going from memory here, so if you try that and it says the file already exists, just swap the order:

ln -s libkio.so.5 libkio.so.4.2.0
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Post#8 by brokenman » 16 May 2011, 14:05

That is correct

cd /usr/lib
ln -s libkio.so.4.2.0 libkio.so.5


ln : make a link
-s : make it a symbolic (soft) link
libkio.so.4.2.0 the place you want to link to
libkio.so.5 the name of the link you will create
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

rnport
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 98
Joined: 01 May 2011, 00:55

Re: kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Post#9 by rnport » 26 May 2011, 02:15

I had reinstalled porteus v1rc1. Now ksnapshot is giving this message:

ksnapshot: symbol lookup error: ksnapshot: undefined symbol: _ZN7KDialog16staticMetaObjectE

Please help. Ksnapshot is important. Or else suggest another screencapture program.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Post#10 by Ahau » 26 May 2011, 05:32

I checked kSnapshot on my install of 32-bit V1RC1, and it seems to be working normally. Try the following:

1) Boot into 'Always Fresh' mode, to see if your problem resides in your saved changes
If you still receive the error,
2) Rename your /porteus/modules folder to something else (e.g. /porteus/tempmods), so that none of the modules you've added are loaded at startup

Hopefully your problem is in saved changes or a conflict with some module you've installed. If not, then you might have a corrupted ISO (did you check the md5sum when you downloaded it?). If you've been putting things in rootcopy or magic folders, you might want to try not loading those, too.

I'm working on a doc for debugging issues with previously working installations -- your feedback on these instructions will be useful.

Thanks!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

rnport
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 98
Joined: 01 May 2011, 00:55

Re: kSnapshot asking for libkio.so.5

Post#11 by rnport » 27 May 2011, 05:52

Thanks. I will try these steps.

Posted after 18 hours 9 minutes 9 seconds:
Ksnapshot works all right after removing modules. I had earlier transferred all modules from slax and converted them in one go to xzm by "lzm2xzm ." ; I will have to add modules few at a time probably.

Post Reply