no sound

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
rpallen
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2015, 10:30
Distribution: porteus-lxqt
Location: Brazil

no sound

Post#1 by rpallen » 24 Jul 2015, 12:18

I'm new to Porteus but have some Linux experience.
I just installed the latest Porteus lxqt to usb. In my build on the website I selected both nvidia driver options.
When I run it, there is no sound although the sound icon is in the panel and at about 75% volume.
What should I do?

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: no sound

Post#2 by Bogomips » 24 Jul 2015, 12:21

In terminal: alsamixer. See what you get.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

rpallen
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2015, 10:30
Distribution: porteus-lxqt
Location: Brazil

Re: no sound

Post#3 by rpallen » 24 Jul 2015, 12:31

Card: HDA Intel HDMI
Chip: Intel Haswell HDMI
Item: S/PDIF

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: no sound

Post#4 by Bogomips » 24 Jul 2015, 12:37

Don't you get a graph of all the devices for playback and capture?
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

rpallen
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2015, 10:30
Distribution: porteus-lxqt
Location: Brazil

Re: no sound

Post#5 by rpallen » 24 Jul 2015, 12:54

Ok, on the right are some function key options. F6 is select sound care. In this there are 3 options, - (default), 0 HDA Intel HDMI AND 1HDA Intel PCH. Selecting the first 2 options doesn't do much. In option 1 I get a set of graphs and information at the top. The information is:
Card: HDA Intel PCH
Chip: Realtek ALC269VB

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: no sound

Post#6 by Bogomips » 24 Jul 2015, 13:55

Don't you get something a bit like this? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Alsamixer.png
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

rpallen
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2015, 10:30
Distribution: porteus-lxqt
Location: Brazil

Re: no sound

Post#7 by rpallen » 24 Jul 2015, 14:29

Yes. That's what I meant when I said I get a set of graphs. I only get this when I press F6 and select option 1 (not default or option 0).

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: no sound

Post#8 by Bogomips » 24 Jul 2015, 15:23

Well, you can try to see if it is possible to adjust the sound with the arrow keys. See alsamixer
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

rpallen
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2015, 10:30
Distribution: porteus-lxqt
Location: Brazil

Re: no sound

Post#9 by rpallen » 24 Jul 2015, 15:58

I've tried that and though the volume levels are high, I still get no sound.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: no sound

Post#10 by francois » 24 Jul 2015, 18:05

What are the specs of your Linux box?
Please show output of :

Code: Select all

aplay -l
lspci | grep Audio
cat /proc/asound/cards
The specs of your linux box or audio card will permit deeper searches on the net. :twisted:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: no sound

Post#11 by Bogomips » 24 Jul 2015, 18:26

Addendum:

Code: Select all

lspci | grep Audio
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Post Reply