"Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

If you are looking for a specific 64-bit package and you can't find it in any of the 64-bit repos, please post a request for it here
edge226
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 23:55
Location: Canada

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#16 by edge226 » 11 Mar 2012, 03:43

@fanthom,

I do not see it in the repository, do I need to do something special to refresh to repo list? I have done both update modules and update packages or whatever, Then searched.

Also I find myself wanting to try KDE 4 KCModule in Porteus. I would appreciate if that module were available for front end support on the wacom tablet. It did not work as I had expected in Mageia, then again gimp would not read jpg pictures in Mageia either. Gotta love a stable system like Porteus.

Posted after 1 hour 14 minutes 13 seconds:
Got the Repository to work however pulse audio is missing a library to connect up to alsa.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#17 by fanthom » 11 Mar 2012, 10:23

pulse audio is missing a library to connect up to alsa.
please point me to this library.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

edge226
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 23:55
Location: Canada

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#18 by edge226 » 11 Mar 2012, 11:32

Sorry,

aplay -Dpulse C
ALSA lib dlmisc.c:236:(snd1_dlobj_cache_get) Cannot open shared library /usr/lib64/alsa-lib/libasound_module_pcm_pulse.so
aplay: main:660: audio open error: No such device or address

edge226
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 23:55
Location: Canada

kde 4 phonon backend

Post#19 by edge226 » 23 Mar 2012, 11:11

Hello, I have both VLC and Gstreamer installed and yet phonon is not seeing them as valid back ends, Only mplayer is showing up. I think I need to use a different back end to get the functionality I need. How do I get the missing back ends to show up?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#20 by fanthom » 24 Mar 2012, 09:47

@edge226

merged here as this is not a bug but rather missing packages.
both backends are added to the repo now - search for 'phonon-vlc' and 'phonon-gstreamer'.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

edge226
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 23:55
Location: Canada

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#21 by edge226 » 28 Mar 2012, 00:27

great, thanks for the fix.

att
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:09

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#22 by att » 21 Aug 2012, 17:23

Sorry to request the same module again, but "Teamviewer" was updated again - it had the same problem as before, "security update". :unknown:
Can someone do an update...?

edge226
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 23:55
Location: Canada

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#23 by edge226 » 23 Aug 2012, 02:08

I find myself getting a little restless these days and would really like Play on Linux to work. I cannot seem to get past a few errors. It would be much appreciated if Play on Linux would be added to the repository. It is the most user friendly free windows emulator available and It is definitely a must have for people that want to easily emulate windows programs.

Please and Thank you.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#24 by fanthom » 24 Aug 2012, 12:55

@att
in the repo now

@edge226
i have got POL to work but didtn't try OpenGL stuff as i dont have any game around.
please download following modules (and all their deps) through PPM:

Code: Select all

playonlinux
python
wxPython
cabextract
xdg-user-dirs
you will also need compat32-libraries from here:
link

please make sure you delete wxWidgets module (if you have it) as it's overlapping with wxPython.

with this setup i was able to run 7ZIP application on my 64bit box (proper wine version was downloaded automatically).

3D stuff will require proprietary drivers which contains 32bit libraries (fglrx, nVidia) or 32bit mesa for opensource drivers (mesa deps must be resolved manually).
i guess that the key point is to change /usr/lib/libGL.so symlink and point it to /usr/lib/libGL.so.1 to get 32bit direct rendering.
didn't try myself so can't say for sure if it's enough.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

edge226
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 23:55
Location: Canada

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#25 by edge226 » 24 Aug 2012, 17:23

my simple go program works, Steam or anything game wise does not unfortunately. Thanks for at least getting so I can use my Go Dojo and study up on go in more ways :)

att
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:09

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#26 by att » 09 Sep 2012, 11:24

Hello, all...

I think it is strange, but I cannot spot "wine" or "virtualbox" anywhere in the download section of the "64bit modules" porteus mainpage... :unknown:
Am I doing something wrong?
I'd love to see "wine" and "virtualbox" around! :Yahoo!:

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#27 by beny » 09 Sep 2012, 15:51

virtualbox it is a standalone package: http://ponce.cc/porteus/x86_64/current/ ... 4-1ftm.xzm wine via ppm i think, but not shure

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#28 by fanthom » 10 Sep 2012, 07:59

@att

VirtualBox depends on specific kernel version and i prefer to keep in a folder with certain releases to avoid users confusion (PPM could be used by Porteus 1.0/1.1/1.2 users)

wine is 32bit and requires compat32-libraries module. mixing 32bit and 64bit libraries in the repo is not a good idea as PPM may not work correctly.

i will add wine to the separated folder:
http://ponce.cc/porteus/x86_64/packages/
which wont be tracked by PPM.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

att
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:09

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#29 by att » 13 Sep 2012, 06:39

Sorry, about wine....
I have a Wine module version which seems to be a native 64 bit module:

"wine-1.3.5-x86_64.xzm" : wine-1.3.5-x86_64.xzm 26.058.752 15.03.2011 17:09 -a--

Soooo, it seems, there IS an (old!) version of wine that does not need 32bit compat lib and whatnot? :unknown:
I cannot remember where I downloaded it from, but it worked fine for me till now... I just wanted to update to newest wine, ya know...

So maybe we can make a native 64 bit module of wine, it seems. :unknown: What do you say?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: "Must have apps" - 64bit official repo requests

Post#30 by fanthom » 14 Sep 2012, 06:27

So maybe we can make a native 64 bit module of wine, it seems. :unknown: What do you say?
this is not perfect solution as most Win software is still 32bit and some old stuff is 32bit only.
64bit wine wont be able to run these....

32bit wine + compat32-libraries is IMHO better under 64bit OS.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Locked