Because it Rocks!

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1156
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#31 by donald » 20 Jul 2015, 17:56

Bogomips wrote: Would also be interested to know what answer can be given to the following question. Iso downloaded, usb just bought, and the steps to take, should it be possible to boot from usb without unpacking the iso, the way one can from CD/DVD?
Hello Bogomips
If you really want to have an usb-flash which acts like a live-cd/dvd,
(as a result,the usb would be as large as the iso, readonly like a CD, and the leftover space on that usb can not be used),
make the (porteus) iso "isohybrid"
Many other isos are isohybrid by default.

Unfortunatly this command seems to be stripped out of porteus.IMO it is included
in the original syslinux package.
(If you have another Linux at hand, I'm sure it is included)

the command would simply be (e.g.)
isohybrid Porteus-KDE4-v3.1-i486.iso

when done dd this iso onto the usb-flash
dd if=./Porteus-KDE4-v3.1-i486.iso of=/dev/sdX

reboot

but I am sure you meant something different,no?
cheers

User avatar
sunnysideofthesun
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 24 Apr 2015, 22:16
Distribution: other
Location: check the logs

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#32 by sunnysideofthesun » 20 Jul 2015, 19:38

Rocks like a tombstone!
Btw, what this thread is about?

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#33 by blue4meridian » 20 Jul 2015, 20:11

Salutations... :good:

The subject title explains little. However... :oops: the posts are self explanatory.

Best Regards... :beer:

Posted by 100.1.102.215 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#34 by blue4meridian » 20 Jul 2015, 22:57

Salutations... :good:

@ donald... I tried isohybrid :unknown: it returns "no such file or directory" :wall:
Your approach sounds very interesting if I can get it up and running.

Best Regards... :beer:

Posted by 100.1.102.215 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1156
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#35 by donald » 20 Jul 2015, 23:15

@ blue..
It looks like a "wrong path" issue

test if the linux you are using knows isohybrid..type isohybrid --help

I prepare the porteus isos while running SliTaz(4) live-CD.(SliTaz knows isohybrid)
Copy the porteus.iso into /home/tux, open a root terminal in that folder and type
isohybrid "whichever iso you have"
or try isohybrid ./"whichever iso you have"

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#36 by blue4meridian » 20 Jul 2015, 23:40

Salutations... :good:

Porteus sees 'isohybrid --help' and returns the option menu. :unknown:
Is the best approach to use Slitaz? It works great... I used it for 8yrs.

Best Regards... :beer:

Posted by 100.1.102.215 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service
Last edited by blue4meridian on 21 Jul 2015, 11:58, edited 4 times in total.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1156
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#37 by donald » 21 Jul 2015, 00:02

@blue
????
This is what I get..(stock porteus 3.1 Kde)

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ isohybrid --help
bash: isohybrid: command not found
guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# isohybrid --help
bash: isohybrid: command not found

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#38 by blue4meridian » 21 Jul 2015, 11:38

Salutations... :good:

Sorry... :oops: I forgot to mention I got syslinux from the USM.

Best Regards... :beer:

Posted by 100.1.102.215 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service

sean
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 144
Joined: 08 Jul 2012, 02:30
Distribution: Porteus v3.0 LXDE i486
Location: South Central PA, USA

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#39 by sean » 21 Jul 2015, 11:57

@donald,

I have tried your suggestion. As soon as I booted into "copy2ram" it was apparent that I would be making a "clone" of the default/base product (minus my personal configuration/tweats), I let it finish for sake of appreciating your contribution and assistance. No dis-respect, only high-5's because you have always been there helping us less mentally fortunate :-)

The result would not boot, giving an error message of, no operating system.

I closely follow several Porteus members, because I value their input, you remain a favorite! Thank you.

Sean

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2536
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#40 by Bogomips » 21 Jul 2015, 13:39

Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#41 by blue4meridian » 21 Jul 2015, 14:31

Salutations... :good:

IMHO... :oops: in regard to changes...
I merge them into an app by configuring the app (eg. spacefm)...
saving the changes to a "changes" module... extracting the
changes/app modules then merging the folders...
finally... using USM to convert the folder to a module.

I can then use the app anywhere with 'my' default. :wink:


Best Regards... :beer:

Posted by 100.1.102.215 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service
Last edited by blue4meridian on 21 Jul 2015, 18:53, edited 2 times in total.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2536
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#42 by Bogomips » 21 Jul 2015, 15:02

@sean

Have a few minutes to spare, so can elaborate:
  1. Nominate a directory to receive the changes folder or /def/sdxy, which I prefer
  2. Start Porteus with Kernel Parameter (cheatcode) changes=EXIT:/dev/sdxy
  3. After finishing all the tweaks, make a folder on a real filesystem called modules, and copy all the modules activated from all over the place into this folder
  4. Restart without changes= (AF mode)
  5. Remaster iso in GUI
    1. Open bog standard iso of choice
    2. Get rid of anything you don't want from /porteus/base
    3. Replace /porteus/modules with modules folder from real file system (NB if using copy2ram all the modules in this folder will end up in RAM!)
    4. Copy /dev/sdxy/changes to /porteus, ending up with /porteus/changes (very easy in gui)
    5. Save iso image under name of choice
  6. Run tweaked iso using changes=/porteus changes-ro
Willl be interested to see if there is anything else that could be done. :Search:
blue4meridian wrote:finally... using USM to convert the folder to a module.
Seen this in some other of your posts. Why can't you use: dir2xzm folder module.xzm ? Interesting about the app changes.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#43 by blue4meridian » 21 Jul 2015, 17:57

Salutations... :good:

@ Bogomips... M$Do$ 1.0 :wall: (80's) taught me to hate the command line.
So...because I'm lazy I use GUI's unless forced to do otherwise.

Best Regards... :beer:

Posted by 100.1.102.215 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service
Last edited by blue4meridian on 21 Jul 2015, 18:43, edited 2 times in total.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1156
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#44 by donald » 21 Jul 2015, 18:31

@sean
sean wrote: As soon as I booted into "copy2ram" it was apparent that I would be making a "clone" of the default/base product (minus my personal configuration/tweats),
No,the (now in RAM) running porteus (without your tweaks) is only used to handle the
drive cloning task.
step by step:
lets say your source thumbdrive with all your tweaks, ready for cloning is drive A
boot drive A in copy2ram mode.copy2ram because one could now eject the boot device.
means no open Files and nothing is going to be written onto this device.

OK,drive A is running in RAM (without your tweaks) and the drive itself is unmounted but not ejected.

plug in the target thumbdrive B IN a 2nd USB PORT

open a root terminal use fdisk -l to determine which is which

now copy/clone the whole drive A onto drive B.
dd if=/dev/sdx of=/dev/sdy
you must clone the whole device A onto B NOT PARTITIONS!!

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2536
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Because it Rocks!

Post#45 by Bogomips » 22 Jul 2015, 21:55

sean wrote:Again, many thanks for your help here, I've seen you help many others with Porteus. Many thumbs up to you !!!!!
Always a pleasure to help, when it is appreciated. :) When I first arrived on the Porteus scene, I struggled for days trying to get a familiar text editor going. This I needed to reduce the hassle in getting the other apps, I needed, going. A while later got a couple of ideas on how to reduce the module's size, after which I offered it to the community. Well, blow me down, this guy comes along and says I've got one that's even smaller and it's available on this link. :bad: :x :evil: Had been struggling for days, not keeping difficulties to myself, but posting on the forum. This could not have gone unnoticed, :twisted: and the offer could have been made then, and been greatly appreciated/ :Rose: (Same on the web. One can ask about and search for an app till blue in the face, finally make it yourself, and it's when you offer it that someone is ever so eager to tell you that one already exists, and where to find it. :bad: =@ :twisted: :evil: Nowadays I do not wait and waste time on querying many sites, nor on long searches. If something does not turn up in a couple of days, just write it myself. In the end it's that much quicker and less hassle, being done to one's own specifications.)

On the other hand there is ztrapl, forever offering modules. Now, following initial difficulties trying to get browser to run java applet, without erroneous interaction, or simply falling over on Porteus, have been running applet from browser in Mint. Interaction is fine on Mint, but sometimes browser keels over, owing to having Nouveau driving Nvidia graphics card. So, decided to try a jre module ztrapl recently put up. Worked fine, and was pleasantly surprised to find that icedtea browser plugin was not needed as module came complete with browser plugin.

Now, in the real world there are entities like government departments, trying to make life easier for themselves by complicating ours. They no longer send out forms for us to fill in, but instead assume we all have computers and internet. Form, normally in pdf format, has to be downloaded from a website, and the squares filled in after printing out said form. (Worst instance met, being salmon-red UK passport application form.) Once again needing to fill out yet another form, had been casting around all week for an app able to edit a pdf form. As a test, tried reading in the salmon-red form, which got garbled, and in openoffice some fields got overlaid and turned lime-green. Finally couple of days ago, noticed ztrapl had put up a Master PDF Editor, and this passed the test, reproducing faithfully all the squares needing filling in. So now it's just a matter of editing my latest form, printing it out and signing it, instead of print out, followed by laborious filling in of squares manually.

So, on my part a big thumbs up :good: to ztrapl (who I suspect is not above making modules when noticing someone needs one).
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Post Reply