Use of Variables machine-id in kioskconfig.txt

Share your opinion about Porteus Kiosk Edition.
Post Reply
guido.kuehler
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jul 2015, 16:32
Distribution: 3.4
Location: Austria

Use of Variables machine-id in kioskconfig.txt

Post#1 by guido.kuehler » 18 Jul 2015, 17:13

We see in the Directory /etc/ the file machine-id.
The Machine-ID is based on Mac-Address, right?
So its the only one part was based on the hardware by the first setup.

Can we use over any way variables in kioskconfig.txt?

For Example:

We will use followed kiosk-config Entry in the kioskconfig.txt

kiosk_config=https://our.domain.com/gkc/?mid=$machineid < or so, to fill in the Url the MachineId from Kiosk-Hardware

Additional-Infos:

We cannot use the remote-ip or host on the webserver-side because the kiosks placed
behind a Firewall with NAT and a single IP.

Best Regards
Guido
Last edited by guido.kuehler on 18 Jul 2015, 20:06, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Use of Variables machine-id in kioskconfig.txt

Post#2 by fanthom » 18 Jul 2015, 18:45

Hello guido,

"Can we use over any way variables in kioskconfig.txt?"
Yes but your variable must be exported on the client side first. You have to remaster kiosk ISO and export 'machineid=$(cat /sys/class/net/eth0/address)' through for example /etc/rc.d/rc.local and then it will be respected by wget when downloading kiosk config through this parameter:

Code: Select all

kiosk_config=https://our.domain.com/gkc/?mid=$machineid
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

guido.kuehler
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jul 2015, 16:32
Distribution: 3.4
Location: Austria

Re: Use of Variables machine-id in kioskconfig.txt [Solved]

Post#3 by guido.kuehler » 18 Jul 2015, 18:57

Thank you for this Info!

We use Porteus only since one Day and must see how we remaster the ISO right!

Best Regards
Guido

guido.kuehler
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jul 2015, 16:32
Distribution: 3.4
Location: Austria

Re: Use of Variables machine-id in kioskconfig.txt

Post#4 by guido.kuehler » 18 Jul 2015, 20:11

The Wizard displays the identification-id of the Device and i am sure that the Device use this when the Autoupdate-Feature is used.
Is this right?
Can we use this Variable in the kioskconfig.txt?

Best Regards!
Guido

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Use of Variables machine-id in kioskconfig.txt

Post#5 by fanthom » 19 Jul 2015, 07:19

"The Wizard displays the identification-id of the Device and i am sure that the Device use this when the Autoupdate-Feature is used.
Is this right?"
correct

"Can we use this Variable in the kioskconfig.txt?"
PC ID is generated and saved to /etc/version only during first run and when you are signed to the 'automatic updates'. If you are not signed to this service then it wont be available to you so better stick to the MAC address method i posted above.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Use of Variables machine-id in kioskconfig.txt

Post#6 by fanthom » 25 Aug 2015, 20:15

UPDATE:
In next kiosk release PC ID will be appended to the kiosk config download URL by default so this problem should be gone.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply