Flash... Security :-/

Talk here about security in general. Posting illegals software is prohibited. All stuffs in this forum must be considered as for "Educational purpose only".
Post Reply
ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

Flash... Security :-/

Post#1 by ElectriQT » 18 Jul 2015, 17:03

If you have not already, ..Please update,
terrible security problem(s). Yes, AGAIN. :wall:

http://arstechnica.com/security/2015/07 ... patch-now/

http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#2 by ElectriQT » 13 Aug 2015, 18:23

and again, 11.2.202.508
You should find it in the USM

Also Firefox needs to be updated,,

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3140
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#3 by Ed_P » 13 Aug 2015, 21:11

And it also is in the functioning USM system. :good:

Best to delete the 04 base file and add the xzm file to the modules folder. imho
Ed

ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

FIREFOX 38.4 ESR Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#4 by ElectriQT » 13 Nov 2015, 13:08

FIREFOX 38.4 https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/security/ ... refox-esr/
http://www.slackware.com/security/viewe ... ity.355602

USM did not work for me on this now, they only provide the 38.3 now, (from Salix)

so I downloaded the latest from the ftp, and right click it to make the module.
ftp://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackware/s ... ck14.1.txz 32bit

Then I changed the old module, to this new one, in the folder below
+activate this new module

( I did put it in my folder: /mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/ )
then deactivated the old module after a "killall firefox".
Start Firefox again, and it should be the new one that runs,


@Brokenman, do I have some usm-problems? is this above a good way to do it if so?


(to check for "latest" version 64 bit I did use this, as the Firefox built in checker and plugin checker seems disabled, or wrong..:
https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/rel ... 686/en-US/ )

ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#5 by ElectriQT » 13 Nov 2015, 13:39

.
https://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

I did use USM to get the latest,
I click/chose it to auto produce a module for me, in the download process.
(also I set it to not "resolve dep", as that don't work here. ),
I Did use the latest from Alien(my system is 32bit),

Don't know if there is any danger to this method, (?)
but I usually then just put the new player in my:
./mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/thatModuleName.xzm, and in this case I use its original name: "flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.548-i386-1alien.xzm" )

Then RightClick the new old one, "DeActivate"
Then RightClick the new new one, "Activate"


= Now I have version 11,2,202,548 running when I start up firefox,

Tip:
If you cant deactivate your old flashplayer(because it is running already)
and dont want to logout/reboot/loose stuff in other browser tabs, just write:
killall plugin-container
will shut flashplayer down, the hard way.
Then you are allowed to deactivate the old player module,
Then click to Activate the new one, if you have not done that already,
Now you can Reload your 200 tabs with flash content in your browser, and it should be the latest flashplayer running..
(double-Check your success at adobes aboutpage)
:good:

Please correct me if Im doing it "wrong"

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3140
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#6 by Ed_P » 13 Nov 2015, 17:08

This thread might interest you ElectriQT: viewtopic.php?f=76&t=4473&start=15

You should consider keeping your modules in the /porteus/modules/ directory rather than the /porteus/base/ one. With Firefox I leave the base module there which keeps all the Porteus settings and the new module overlays the base's app code.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3140
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#7 by Ed_P » 14 Nov 2015, 06:46

FYI ElectriQT I see the 34.4 module in USM slackwarepatches for x86_64 arch.
Ed

Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#8 by Evan » 20 May 2016, 07:22

<removed>
Last edited by Evan on 24 Jun 2016, 11:30, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3140
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#9 by Ed_P » 20 May 2016, 12:40

Actually more likely they are games. And to know so many classics will get lost is truly sad. :(
Ed

Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#10 by Evan » 20 May 2016, 22:46

<removed>
Last edited by Evan on 24 Jun 2016, 11:31, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#11 by brokenman » 22 May 2016, 00:54

I remember programming in flash when it first came out. Made entire websites and interfaces out of flash. It was really cool at the time. Now I am glad to see the ass end of it.

BTW: The top ten sites would be YouTube.com, Facebook.com, Amazon.com, Mail.ru etc
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#12 by ElectriQT » 25 Jan 2017, 12:41

@brokenman , "Now I am glad to see the ass end of it"
-Mmmm, yes, me to! And I hope it will just die now. Very soon.

Also during 2015-2016 Adobe continued to be one of the worst software ever made, in regards of security,
many hundreds of updates, just to fix the worst problems(!), And I assume that it is thousands
of unknown and for sure many severe problems still there to be found in the future to.

I had a really hard time to dump it, but now Youtube and most other sites
dont need it any more, and I have a more modern cpu (6 years old) that can handle the increased load of the HTML5-players&HD.
, then youtube-dl will fix it at the other sites that today still DO have flash as "the only way", they do this just to..prevent downloading(!!)
That is really stupid, as we must therefore do exactly that, download the video first to be able to see it, instead of the normal streaming.

Also we needed Flash to print out our new credit cards at Swedbank, (Sweden)
(and probably some other banks to) uses Flash to generate the new eCards,
they made this application in Flash for security reasons, they say...???!? Wow. :%)

.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1383
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#13 by Blaze » 25 Jan 2017, 16:48

Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#14 by ElectriQT » 25 Jan 2017, 17:24


anajames
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 30
Joined: 12 Jun 2017, 08:38
Distribution: Gentoo Linux
Location: USA

Re: Flash... Security :-/

Post#15 by anajames » 23 Jun 2017, 12:55

ElectriQT wrote:

Ah., interesting, Thanx!
Surely, it is interesting.

Post Reply