Is there a way to save changes when you copy Porteus to RAM?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
KawaiiAurora
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jul 2015, 11:05
Distribution: Porteus XFCE 64 Bit
Location: Malta

Is there a way to save changes when you copy Porteus to RAM?

Post#1 by KawaiiAurora » 18 Jul 2015, 13:24

Hey,
I have put Porteus Linux on an sdcard and it's awesome. It's formatted as ext4 but when I boot by copying Porteus into RAM, it doesn't save changes.. Is there a way to save changes when booting in ram so you get both the better speed and a proper system without having to log into everything again?

Seva
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 134
Joined: 30 Apr 2015, 12:00
Distribution: XFCE Porteus Desktop 3.1 64bit
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Is there a way to save changes when you copy Porteus to

Post#2 by Seva » 18 Jul 2015, 14:01

as root user:

open /boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg file
find the following text:

LABEL copy2ram
MENU LABEL Copy To RAM
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz copy2ram

to the APPEND line add 'changes=porteus' and save the file
the line should look like this:

APPEND initrd=initrd.xz copy2ram changes=porteus

detailed information is available in the FAQ on the Porteus website
posted from Porteus

KawaiiAurora
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jul 2015, 11:05
Distribution: Porteus XFCE 64 Bit
Location: Malta

Re: Is there a way to save changes when you copy Porteus to

Post#3 by KawaiiAurora » 18 Jul 2015, 14:33

Thanks! It was a real help ^^

KawaiiAurora
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jul 2015, 11:05
Distribution: Porteus XFCE 64 Bit
Location: Malta

Re: Is there a way to save changes when you copy Porteus to

Post#4 by KawaiiAurora » 18 Jul 2015, 17:02

I have noticed that using that flag really slows down the system (my SDcard is 10MB/s or something like that (Class 10)) so I decided to copy the google chrome config folder and copy it every time I start the operating system since I only use Porteus for light browsing. Can you maybe add something that only saves changes when you restart/shutdown?

Seva
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 134
Joined: 30 Apr 2015, 12:00
Distribution: XFCE Porteus Desktop 3.1 64bit
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Is there a way to save changes when you copy Porteus to

Post#5 by Seva » 18 Jul 2015, 17:54

do all changes to the system, then add 'changes-ro' to the APPEND line and save the file and restart pc
posted from Porteus

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Is there a way to save changes when you copy Porteus to

Post#6 by Ed_P » 18 Jul 2015, 18:38

KawaiiAurora wrote:Can you maybe add something that only saves changes when you restart/shutdown?
Yes, use the changes=EXIT: cheatcode. Something like

Code: Select all

changes=EXIT:/porteus3.0/changes/porteussave.dat
if you use a save.dat file like I do.
Ed

Seva
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 134
Joined: 30 Apr 2015, 12:00
Distribution: XFCE Porteus Desktop 3.1 64bit
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Is there a way to save changes when you copy Porteus to

Post#7 by Seva » 18 Jul 2015, 19:12

Code: Select all

changes=EXIT:/porteus/


seems to be the best solution
posted from Porteus

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Is there a way to save changes when you copy Porteus to

Post#8 by Bogomips » 20 Jul 2015, 22:43

Normally run in RAM, Always Fresh and without changes. Trying out the best of the suggestions here, find changes to be a bit holey. For one thing, it doesn't restore all the activated modules. So to restore the setup had to do activations in rootcopy, to be precise: /porteus/rootcopy/etc/rc.d/rc.local. Doing this, some of the apps, active at time of restart/shutdown, got back some of their settings, as opposed to doing the activations once again when the system was up and running. Or am I missing something?
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Seva
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 134
Joined: 30 Apr 2015, 12:00
Distribution: XFCE Porteus Desktop 3.1 64bit
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Is there a way to save changes when you copy Porteus to

Post#9 by Seva » 29 Jul 2015, 21:03

i use:

Code: Select all

from=/os copy2ram changes=/os/porteus changes-ro
it suits me, maybe there is something better, i dont know, "changes=EXIT:" makes the pc shut down long so i use read only changes
posted from Porteus

Post Reply