Old ISO

Share your opinion about Porteus Kiosk Edition.
Post Reply
chkchaitu
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 33
Joined: 06 Apr 2015, 10:32
Distribution: Porteus-Kiosk
Location: Bangalore, India

Old ISO

Post#1 by chkchaitu » 14 Jul 2015, 12:14

Hi Where can I download old iso of 3.3

3.4 is not working for me and I deleted 3.3 before trying out 3.4. Now I need 3.3

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4586
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Old ISO

Post#2 by fanthom » 14 Jul 2015, 12:53

Only latest kiosk version is supported thus available for downloading.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

chkchaitu
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 33
Joined: 06 Apr 2015, 10:32
Distribution: Porteus-Kiosk
Location: Bangalore, India

Re: Old ISO

Post#3 by chkchaitu » 15 Jul 2015, 08:54

Ok. few things look broken in 3.4.

I use PXE booting for the clients

After boot it says connection not established.

Firefox Settings do not seem to get applied.

The home page url is working for only the domain in the url
eg. http://domain.com/folder/subfolder/index.php is the homepage configured in the wizard.
It would only open http://domain.com when kiosk boots

For Now I create ISO using 3.4 Wizard for Core Settings, then copy only Kernel and Core modules from this 3.4 ISO to PXE server and other modules like user-settings, Firefox, pxeclient, fonts from existing 3.3 iso built using wizard which fortunately I did not delete.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4586
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Old ISO

Post#4 by fanthom » 16 Jul 2015, 14:15

"few things look broken in 3.4."
3.4.0 release has been installed on thousands of PCs and only you are reporting such issues. something is wrong on your side i would say.

"For Now I create ISO using 3.4 Wizard for Core Settings, then copy only Kernel and Core modules from this 3.4 ISO to PXE server and other modules like user-settings, Firefox, pxeclient, fonts from existing 3.3 iso built using wizard which fortunately I did not delete."
this is the best way to break your system. you cant mix the components in kiosk. you cant use wizard settings from 3.4.0 ISO in 3.3.0 release. certain functions are simply not implemented in 3.3.0.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

chkchaitu
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 33
Joined: 06 Apr 2015, 10:32
Distribution: Porteus-Kiosk
Location: Bangalore, India

Re: Old ISO

Post#5 by chkchaitu » 16 Jul 2015, 17:34

Hi Fanthom,

Mixing components may not be the right way, but I am left with no choice but to do so because I can no longer find 3.3 master ISO.

I had to change two things in the existing Kiosk Image, one being the whitelist URL and other User Agent. Since I could not find 3.3 master ISO to rebuild the image.

I downloaded 3.4 and it breaks things in our environment of HP Desktops which we use in our Lab to take Computer based tests. It works fine on Virtualbox, using which I build Kiosk Image.

It is stupid of me to delete 3.3 master ISO before I checked 3.4, and very unfortunate that I am not able to find single alternative location to download image of 3.3 in the vast internet.

We have a test scheduled this weekend and I broke everything :wall:

Any help in this regard is greatly appreciated.

Post Reply