No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post#1 by jimwg » 13 Jul 2015, 04:17

Greetings!

From a Ubuntu archive I converted xfce4-sensors-plugin_1.2.6-1_i386 (also xfce4-sensors-plugin-1.2.4 as well) into xzm and from USM archives I converted lm_sensors-3.3.4-i486-1 but I still can't get a panel gauge of CPU levels and fan speed even though I'm going by the Ubuntu maven book. What did I leave out or does Porteus need an extra ingredient? I hope to upload the resultant functional module to the archives.

Thanks for any tips!

Jim in NYC

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post#2 by donald » 13 Jul 2015, 06:21

Hi Jim
activate the lm_sensors.xzm
open a terminal > su to root and then do:

Code: Select all

root@localhost:~# sensors-detect
# sensors-detect revision 6031 (2012-03-07 17:14:01 +0100)

This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe
and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,
unless you know what you're doing.

Some south bridges, CPUs or memory controllers contain embedded sensors.
Do you want to scan for them? This is totally safe. (YES/no): yes
Module cpuid loaded successfully.
Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595...                       No
VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors...                          No
VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors...                            No
AMD K8 thermal sensors...                                   No
AMD Family 10h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 11h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 12h and 14h thermal sensors...                   No
AMD Family 15h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 15h power sensors...                             No
Intel digital thermal sensor...                             No
Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor...                         No
VIA C7 thermal sensor...                                    No
VIA Nano thermal sensor...                                  No

Some Super I/O chips contain embedded sensors. We have to write to
standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.
Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): yes
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE'...               No
Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               No
Trying family `ITE'...                                      Yes
Found `ITE IT8705F Super IO Sensors'                        Success!
    (address 0x290, driver `it87')
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE'...               No
Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               No
Trying family `ITE'...                                      No

Some systems (mainly servers) implement IPMI, a set of common interfaces
through which system health data may be retrieved, amongst other things.
We first try to get the information from SMBIOS. If we don't find it
there, we have to read from arbitrary I/O ports to probe for such
interfaces. This is normally safe. Do you want to scan for IPMI
interfaces? (YES/no): yes
Probing for `IPMI BMC KCS' at 0xca0...                      No
Probing for `IPMI BMC SMIC' at 0xca8...                     No

Some hardware monitoring chips are accessible through the ISA I/O ports.
We have to write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually
safe though. Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any
ISA slots! Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (yes/NO): yes
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78' at 0x290...       No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79' at 0x290...       No
Probing for `Winbond W83781D' at 0x290...                   No
Probing for `Winbond W83782D' at 0x290...                   No

Lastly, we can probe the I2C/SMBus adapters for connected hardware
monitoring devices. This is the most risky part, and while it works
reasonably well on most systems, it has been reported to cause trouble
on some systems.
Do you want to probe the I2C/SMBus adapters now? (YES/no): no
Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
Just press ENTER to continue: 

Driver `it87':
  * ISA bus, address 0x290
    Chip `ITE IT8705F Super IO Sensors' (confidence: 9)

Do you want to generate /etc/sysconfig/lm_sensors? (yes/NO): yes
Copy prog/init/lm_sensors.init to /etc/init.d/lm_sensors
for initialization at boot time.
You should now start the lm_sensors service to load the required
kernel modules.

Unloading cpuid... OK
one Driver (it87) has been found, now:

Code: Select all

root@localhost:~#
root@localhost:~# modprobe it87
root@localhost:~#
root@localhost:~# sensors
it87-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
in0:          +1.74 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in1:          +2.48 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in2:          +3.36 V  (min =  +4.06 V, max =  +4.08 V)  ALARM
in3:          +3.01 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +2.03 V)  ALARM
in4:          +3.12 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.05 V)
in5:          +3.52 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +3.82 V)
in6:          +1.07 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +3.57 V)
in7:          +3.04 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +3.92 V)
Vbat:         +2.03 V  
fan1:        3792 RPM  (min =    0 RPM, div = 2)
fan2:           0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM, div = 2)
fan3:           0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM, div = 2)
temp1:        +11.0°C  (low  =  -1.0°C, high = +127.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
temp2:        +36.0°C  (low  =  -1.0°C, high =  -5.0°C)  ALARM  sensor = thermistor
temp3:        +52.0°C  (low  = -66.0°C, high = +127.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
intrusion0:  OK
root@localhost:~#
lm_sensors is working, now donwload the xfce4-sensors-plugin-1.2.5-i486-1_slack.txz from
http://slackonly.com/pub/packages/14.1- ... rs-plugin/
convert to xzm > activate > add to panel > configure...done.
Image

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post#3 by donald » 03 Aug 2015, 17:47

Hi jimwg
CPU-scaling
NOTE: this is an example for the AMD64 (k8) Processor.
For a working cpu-scaling you need:
a) Activate the "cool 'n quite" feature in the bios
b) load the driver,(in this case the powernow-k8),

Code: Select all

modprobe powernow-k8
other Drivers are in /lib/modules/3.17.4-porteus/kernel/drivers/cpufreq/
modprobe one Driver and check with

Code: Select all

dmesg | tail
for errors (or success).If you have the right Driver you should see something like this:

Code: Select all

powernow_k8: fid 0x12 (2600 MHz), vid 0xa
powernow_k8: fid 0x10 (2400 MHz), vid 0xc
powernow_k8: fid 0xe (2200 MHz), vid 0xe
powernow_k8: fid 0xc (2000 MHz), vid 0x10
powernow_k8: fid 0xa (1800 MHz), vid 0x10
powernow_k8: fid 0x2 (1000 MHz), vid 0x12
powernow_k8: Found 1 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+ (2 cpu cores) (version 2.20.00)
If it was the wrong one, unload with

Code: Select all

modprobe -r the_wrong_driver
OK,next step

Code: Select all

modprobe cpufreq_ondemand
when done add the xfce4-cpufreq-plugin to the panel, should be working now

Now we need to make this permanent, open (as root) /etc/rc.d/rc.local and add
modprobe powernow-k8...(in this case)

NOTE: for processors other than this,you will have to find out which Driver is
the right one by yourself... :)

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post#4 by phhpro » 04 Aug 2015, 21:02

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 03:15, edited 1 time in total.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post#5 by donald » 05 Aug 2015, 06:37

^
--> If the required hardware is missing, you'll never get any readings at all <--
This is as obvious as
"If I do not have legs, I cannot walk"... :wink:

However, the "Cool 'n' Quiet" feature for AMD cpus isn't that new. (2006?)
and one should enable it if possible.
My cpu (2600 Mhz) is (now) using the lowest speed step (1000 Mhz), 90% of Time, during normal work.
The cpu power consumption goes down from 89W to ~22W,
and the cpu temperature goes down ~ 10 to 20 deg C,

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post#6 by phhpro » 05 Aug 2015, 21:38

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 03:16, edited 1 time in total.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post#7 by donald » 06 Aug 2015, 10:03

^
Which leads to the Question, is the fan speed visible in the Bios?
If yes, did you run

Code: Select all

root@localhost:~# sensors-detect
?

regarding Fan speed measurement (Lm-sensors)
Lm-sensors is a hardware health monitoring package for Linux.
It works with most newer systems.
From my personal experience some Fans are visible using one monitoring chip / MoBo
but not with a different one.

To be honest,
If it's working, fine, if not that doesn't bother me, because
the only important measurement is the CPU temperature.

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post#8 by phhpro » 07 Aug 2015, 01:03

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 03:16, edited 1 time in total.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post#9 by donald » 07 Aug 2015, 09:02

So sensors-detect showed the right Driver, and only the (auto) created (Startup) File
does not work?
Seems that I'm mistaken, but I thought that you do know how to load a (Driver) module manually.
modprobe "the Driver" in /etc/rc.d/rc.local for example.

Don't get me wrong,
I'm getting the impression that you either not using porteus
or that this is a test for how long the conversation will continue.

Image

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post#10 by phhpro » 07 Aug 2015, 20:44

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 03:16, edited 1 time in total.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: No Fan or CPU Readings From PlugIns

Post#11 by donald » 08 Aug 2015, 00:26

please don't feel offended.. :Rose:
It's easy as can be:
I am simply not a talker, and speculating about possibilities and such
is not my cup of tea.
Given a real case and Facts,
(what has been done till now, and what exactly doesn't work etc.) and I
will try to find a solution to make it work.
cheers

Post Reply