how to boot Porteus Kiosk Ed ISO from grub2

New features which should be implemented in Porteus Kiosk Edition and the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
maerz
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 10:51
Distribution: OEL, Redhat, Debian
Location: Russia

how to boot Porteus Kiosk Ed ISO from grub2

Post#1 by maerz » 10 Jul 2015, 12:42

Hi all)
problem(

/etc/grub/40_custom

Code: Select all

menuentry "KIOSK ISO2" {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root=(hd0,msdos1)
set isofile="/iso/kiosk.iso"
search --no-floppy --file --set=root $isofile 
loopback loop $isofile 
linux (loop)/boot/vmlinuz
initrd (loop)/boot/initrd.xz
 }
update-grub
and booting from menu grub KIOSK ISO2.

stop booting at inizialization.
message ^device not ready yet? delaying ... seconds

please help me...how to boot iso and grub2 ?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: how to boot Porteus Kiosk Ed ISO from grub2

Post#2 by fanthom » 10 Jul 2015, 14:27

this is not possible - ISO must be burned on a block device.
why would you like to boot from the ISO?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

maerz
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 10:51
Distribution: OEL, Redhat, Debian
Location: Russia

Re: how to boot Porteus Kiosk Ed ISO from grub2

Post#3 by maerz » 10 Jul 2015, 16:45

1. Target: Quickly update iso and boot. (add new module kiosk, create new iso ,del old iso, copy new iso and boot)
2. two
burn iso kiosk to hdd
dd if=/root/kiosk.iso of=/dev/sda
create only one partition /dev/sda1
boot and same problem

Code: Select all

^device not ready yet? delaying ... seconds
please, any resolution...

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: how to boot Porteus Kiosk Ed ISO from grub2

Post#4 by fanthom » 10 Jul 2015, 17:09

1) "Quickly update iso and boot."
possible but only through PXE boot

2) you can burn kiosk ISO to a partition instead of the device:

Code: Select all

dd < kiosk.iso > /dev/sdb2
but then you need to point 3rd party bootloader (like Grub) to vmlinuz and initrd.xz
This method works for sure as i'm using it often.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

maerz
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 10:51
Distribution: OEL, Redhat, Debian
Location: Russia

Re: how to boot Porteus Kiosk Ed ISO from grub2

Post#5 by maerz » 10 Jul 2015, 20:00

1. Not use PXE. only WI-FI. only one internal web site.
2.
2.1 create sda1/boot/grub and boot
2.2 create sda2 fdisk, size 96 MB
2.3

Code: Select all

dd < kiosk.iso > /dev/sda2
error:

Code: Select all

grub> root (hd0,1)
Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x83
Error 17: Cannot mount selected partition
bug?

grub.cfg & menu.lst

Code: Select all

timeout 30
title kiosk
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz
initrd /boot/initrd.xz

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: how to boot Porteus Kiosk Ed ISO from grub2

Post#6 by fanthom » 11 Jul 2015, 06:51

there is something wrong with your grub as it does not support iso9660 filesystem. please try other bootloader like extlinux.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply