[SOLVED] Screen Resolution Problem

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4901
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Screen Resolution Problem

Post#31 by francois » 07 Jul 2015, 01:27

I am on 64 bit but I imagine that 32 bit should be the same:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# uname -r
3.17.4-porteus
Maybe you should try fanthom's advice. He usually very rarely miss the bull's eye.

For the kernel compilation here is the howto:
http://www.porteus.org/tutorials/51-dev ... ernel.html
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
sunnysideofthesun
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 24 Apr 2015, 22:16
Distribution: other
Location: check the logs

Re: Screen Resolution Problem

Post#32 by sunnysideofthesun » 07 Jul 2015, 02:45

That's simply hillarious.
Asking which kernel has Porteus when it was explicitly mentioned in my post before that it is porteus-3.17.4.
Recommending to check fanthom's solution, which requires modesetting when OP stated that without "nomodeset" (i.e. with modesetting) his machine boots into black screen.
Asking that maybe it's Nvidia when OP clearly said in his 1st post it is Intel.
Repeating that xrandr thing again.
Bunch of zombies.
nARMstrong20 wrote:Also, I tried the i915.nomodeset=1 option, unfortunately it appears to end in a blackscreen. Perhaps I'm missing something?
Where did you find i915.nomodeset=1 option in my post?

Also, if you will try other kernel mode setting options which I already posted above in the thread, make sure not to use them alongside "nomodeset" or else it loses any sense.

If you don't like edit porteus.cfg file each time you need to try new option, just point selecting cursor in boot menu at boot mode you want, then press TAB to show boot options editing line and type any additional options you want to be used in this session. Then press enter.
nARMstrong20 wrote:How exactly does one install a kernel on Porteus? Is it even possible?
No, it's not possible. Therefore guys who provide kernel updates to Porteus do it in vain (viewtopic.php?f=75&t=4788), because users contingent which Porteus has is not capable of implementing correct solution even if it is pushed in their face.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4901
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Screen Resolution Problem

Post#33 by francois » 07 Jul 2015, 09:40

@sunny:
Being assertive! :twisted:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1120
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Screen Resolution Problem

Post#34 by donald » 07 Jul 2015, 11:39

nARMstrong20 wrote: I'm 95% sure that this is a kernel thing.
Hi
porteus 3.0 has kernel 3.13.6
porteus 3.0.1 has kernel 3.14.15

http://dl.porteus.org/i486/archive/

If e.g. 3.0.1 will work, than you can try 3.1 with this older kernel by
replacing the kernel-module and vmlinuz.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3053
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Screen Resolution Problem

Post#35 by Ed_P » 07 Jul 2015, 11:56

donald wrote:If e.g. 3.0.1 will work, than you can try 3.1 with this older kernel by
replacing the kernel-module and vmlinuz.
It is rather straight forward if you use the isomaster utility. This link covers my experience with replacing the kernel:
viewtopic.php?f=81&t=4168&start=30#p31112

Another option might be this link: viewtopic.php?f=75&t=4788&p=34881#p34881
Ed

nARMstrong20
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 02 Jul 2015, 21:38
Distribution: Porteus 3.1
Location: Canada

Re: Screen Resolution Problem

Post#36 by nARMstrong20 » 07 Jul 2015, 17:19

That's simply hillarious.
Asking which kernel has Porteus when it was explicitly mentioned in my post before that it is porteus-3.17.4.
Recommending to check fanthom's solution, which requires modesetting when OP stated that without "nomodeset" (i.e. with modesetting) his machine boots into black screen.
Asking that maybe it's Nvidia when OP clearly said in his 1st post it is Intel.
Repeating that xrandr thing again.
Bunch of zombies.

nARMstrong20 wrote:
Also, I tried the i915.nomodeset=1 option, unfortunately it appears to end in a blackscreen. Perhaps I'm missing something?

Where did you find i915.nomodeset=1 option in my post?
Aye indeed, no idea how that got past me. Also about i915, that was either me doing a typo while posting, or a typo while setting the boot parameter. Either way, i915.modeset=1 unfortunately didn't work either. And I actually edit the boot parameters on the loader, it certainly is easier than editing porteus.cfg when you're just trying things out.
nARMstrong20 wrote:
I'm 95% sure that this is a kernel thing.

Hi
porteus 3.0 has kernel 3.13.6
porteus 3.0.1 has kernel 3.14.15

http://dl.porteus.org/i486/archive/

If e.g. 3.0.1 will work, than you can try 3.1 with this older kernel by
replacing the kernel-module and vmlinuz.
Thanks for that. 3.0.1 booted properly with no black screens. After that I followed Ed's advice and swapped the kernel with that from 3.0.1, and everything booted beautifully!

Thanks everybody for all your help and sticking around. It was definitely frustrating, and I probably became a bother at one point or another, but I'm just glad that Porteus finally works. Case closed!

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4901
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Screen Resolution Problem

Post#37 by francois » 07 Jul 2015, 22:50

Just change you title to solved. :wink:

This was a tough one.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
sunnysideofthesun
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 24 Apr 2015, 22:16
Distribution: other
Location: check the logs

Re: Screen Resolution Problem

Post#38 by sunnysideofthesun » 10 Jul 2015, 11:45

francois wrote:This was a tough one.
It was another episode of "I have Linux on my Intel graphics" series.
Three more links to one that posted fanthom (this viewtopic.php?f=103&t=2400):
viewtopic.php?f=81&t=735
viewtopic.php?f=81&t=1110
viewtopic.php?f=61&t=4227
How come with such tendency it still has no place in FAQ?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4901
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: [SOLVED] Screen Resolution Problem

Post#39 by francois » 10 Jul 2015, 12:56

@sunny: maybe you should write a howto about searching on the net and on the porteus forum. Yet, in a few posts you seem to have developped some techniques that could be apparented to some superior ninja knowledge.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply