newcomers questions

Share your opinion about Porteus Kiosk Edition.
Post Reply
Hangetsu
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Jul 2015, 11:34
Distribution: 3.4.0
Location: Klaipeda, Lithuania

Philips Touch LCD monitor BDT3215EM.

Post#1 by Hangetsu » 01 Jul 2015, 12:21

Good day,

Tried to install Porteus Kiosk 3.4.0 to kiosk with с Philips Touch LCD monitor BDT3215EM.
Automaticaly system detected it as simple monitor, nor touch monitor.
Tried to add additional module with monitor drivers to instalation iso (by manual, to xzm folder, converted to xzm file) - system said - usuported module.
Is it possible to do anything?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5080
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: newcomers questions

Post#2 by francois » 04 Jul 2015, 02:09

kiosk edition. I have moved your post in the appropriate section.

Thanks.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: newcomers questions

Post#3 by fanthom » 18 Jul 2015, 07:16

For the reference: we have got PQLabs touchscreen driver working.
Unfortunately it must be calibrated under any fully fledged OS (like Ubuntu) as it oddly requires Adobe Air for calibration and i could not get it to work in kiosk.

Second thing:
usb_pqlabs driver must be compiled against certain kernel version so 'custom kiosk builds' service is recommended unless you want to compile the kernel yourself.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 571
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: newcomers questions

Post#4 by tome » 18 Jul 2015, 20:50

I have made adobe-air module - it requires modified dpkg package (/var/lib/dpkg/available + /var/lib/dpkg/status) - both available here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7elwcgmk5mwtmme/FmFMsdUIO8
flashplayer in adobe-air could be linked to newer flashplayer. It works for Porteus Desktop, so should work also for Kiosk.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: newcomers questions

Post#5 by fanthom » 19 Jul 2015, 07:22

"It works for Porteus Desktop, so should work also for Kiosk."
thank you tome but kiosk ISO is 40 MB comparing to almost 200MB for Desktop and Adobe Air does not run there out of the box. must be missing utility/library which i'm not going to track (low benefit).
calibration data is the same across OSes so its ok for the users to use Ubuntu or Porteus Desktop for this task.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply