Firefox popups and wireless backup interface

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
deeste08
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Jun 2015, 14:36
Distribution: KIOSK
Location: .......

Firefox popups and wireless backup interface

Post#1 by deeste08 » 10 Jun 2015, 14:42

Hello,

I got a question, I'm testing the Porteus Kiosk and can't seem to get firefox to show popups. I do have the allow_popup_windows=yes Is there a way to debug this?
Also, We have a computer with both a lan and wlan adapter, both of which I want to configure and use. I tried using network_interface=eth0 wlan0 but that didn't work. Is there a way to have both interfaces available?

Thanks.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Firefox popups and wireless backup interface

Post#2 by fanthom » 10 Jun 2015, 20:15

hello deeste08,

please test popups on this page:
http://popuptest.com/
they should be opened in separated tabs unless you have navigation bar completely disabled?

"Is there a way to have both interfaces available?"
yes. please setup wifi + dhcpcd (automatic configuration) as the only connection in the wizard and wired will be used as a fallback in case when wifi is not available.

automatic configuration is required for this trick to work.

will move this thread to the kiosk section of the forum once you see my answer.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

deeste08
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Jun 2015, 14:36
Distribution: KIOSK
Location: .......

Re: Firefox popups and wireless backup interface

Post#3 by deeste08 » 11 Jun 2015, 12:02

Thank you for your quick answer. I will try to only set the wireless connection and see if it will fall back to the Ethernet connection. I did try the popup test and it worked but after some further investigating I noticed that it isn't actually a popup but a new window. Is it still possible to allow a new window to be opened ?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Firefox popups and wireless backup interface

Post#4 by fanthom » 11 Jun 2015, 15:08

you will have to remaster the kiosk ISO and set your window opening preference as per:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Browser.link. ... estriction

example:

Code: Select all

user_pref("browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction", 0);
changes to:

Code: Select all

user_pref("browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction", 2);
you will have to edit 003-settings.xzm/home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/c3pp43bg.default/prefs.js as explained here:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/kiosk-customization.html
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

deeste08
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Jun 2015, 14:36
Distribution: KIOSK
Location: .......

Re: Firefox popups and wireless backup interface

Post#5 by deeste08 » 12 Jun 2015, 08:32

Hey,

Thanks for all your help, it's really appreciated. :good: While editing the prefs.js I noticed that I had to set this to false: user_pref("browser.link.open_newwindow.disabled_in_fullscreen", false); After that a new window opened. I have one more question though, is it possible to prevent the new window to open fullscreen? I couldn't find that option in the prefs.js

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Firefox popups and wireless backup interface

Post#6 by fanthom » 12 Jun 2015, 09:09

you could edit localstore.rdf (placed in the same folder as prefs.js) and change:

Code: Select all

sizemode="fullscreen" />
to:

Code: Select all

sizemode="maximized" />
or "normal" although i'm quite sure this will break few other things ...

good news is that next version of kiosk (scheduled for September) should handle this problem better as firefox wont run in fullscreen by default anymore:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/changelog-auto ... tml#150611
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

deeste08
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Jun 2015, 14:36
Distribution: KIOSK
Location: .......

Re: Firefox popups and wireless backup interface

Post#7 by deeste08 » 16 Jun 2015, 14:37

Thanks Sir,

It all works now. I do have anther question though. The website font is really ugly so I tried to add a new font, Verdana, to the core.xzm but it seems to have no effect on the webpage displayed. I have also tried the following thing, adding this to the prefs.js:
user_pref("gfx.font_rendering.directwrite.enabled", false);
user_pref("gfx.xrender.enabled", false);
user_pref("reader.font_type", "verdana");

But non of that worked. Do you have any suggestions, maybe updating the driver?

deeste08
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Jun 2015, 14:36
Distribution: KIOSK
Location: .......

Re: Firefox popups and wireless backup interface

Post#8 by deeste08 » 29 Jun 2015, 12:19

Friendly bump

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Firefox popups and wireless backup interface

Post#9 by fanthom » 29 Jun 2015, 15:11

Not sure what could go wrong in your build. I can only recommend kiosk custom builds service where corefonts works:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/builds.html

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply