Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 733
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#61 by beny » 19 May 2011, 15:55


User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5659
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#62 by brokenman » 19 May 2011, 19:10

@Beny
Invalid or Deleted File.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 733
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#63 by beny » 19 May 2011, 19:14

i have to check link,,apologize me

Posted after 2 minutes 32 seconds:
try this brokenman:http://www.mediafire.com/?e2xky5g3fk5c7oc

Posted after 4 seconds:
try this brokenman:http://www.mediafire.com/?e2xky5g3fk5c7oc

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5659
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#64 by brokenman » 19 May 2011, 23:01

Thanks. This is good.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

rnport
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 98
Joined: 01 May 2011, 00:55

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#65 by rnport » 20 May 2011, 01:09

@ahau: I tried with many modules, both sq4.lzm and lzm of slax; same result that I described earlier on my computer. lzm2xzm command works very well.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#66 by Ahau » 20 May 2011, 01:58

@rnport that's rather strange. maybe test by moving all of your modules from /porteus/modules to /porteus/optional, and reboot in always fresh mode, to test. renaming rootcopy wouldn't hurt, either, if you use rootcopy. I'm trying to get you back to a clean porteus install. I'm rather clueless otherwise.

thanks!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

rnport
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 98
Joined: 01 May 2011, 00:55

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#67 by rnport » 20 May 2011, 07:07

So it is likely to be a local problem. I had converted all my modules from slax and also got the rootcopy from there. I will try with a clean install and get back to you.

Posted after 1 hour 20 minutes 52 seconds:
OK. I tried with modules and rootcopy removed and in 'always fresh' mode. On right-clicking for making xzm modules: conky.lzm from slax converted all right, conky.sq4.lzm produced message that 'it is not a squashfs3 module'. With lzm2xzm command both converted promptly.
So some module/rootcopy/save.dat was causing problem.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5659
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#68 by brokenman » 20 May 2011, 22:37

rnport
I went back through and rejigged all the konqueror service menu scripts. Some were failing due to a badly placed pipe in the script. I have also altered the script to support squash3 files so you won't get that warning ... it will just convert. Support for sq3 will probably be dropped in a following release (i think it already is for 64bit).

Ahau
Solid troubleshooting! :) That is a caveat of the FUSE way.

All
I may pass the 32bit rc2 release over to fanthom so i can concentrate on this package manager. I have the armature set right but it is an important part of the OS and deserves focus & attention. (at least rc2 shouldn't have so many bugs :crazy: )
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#69 by Ahau » 22 May 2011, 06:36

xpns-tool has some issues. It had some empty dialog boxes, and did not give me an option to create a module.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#70 by fanthom » 22 May 2011, 11:39

as brokenman said: i'm in charge for rc2 release which means (unwelcome for some of you) changes:

1) going to compile many packages from scratch
2) all multimedia libs + mplayer will be moved to 002
3) audacious (stripped from deps if needed) will replace BMP
4) no more kdm/lxdm at start (if you gonna complain much then i believe brokenman will revert this change)
5) going to clean up some trashes from 32bit tree and fix all perms
6) plenty of bugfixing in all scripts (not sure if i'll be able to fix xpns-tool and modtools issues reported before)
7) bump kernel to 2.6.38.7 and sync config with 64 bit where possible
8 ) nodoka gtk theme (same as in 64bits) will replace water vapor and qt-gtk

will try to do it all tomorrow, so rc2 should be out Monday/Tuesday.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1555
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#71 by Blaze » 22 May 2011, 12:44

fanthom, good log and I wish that xorg work for my video card :)
no more kdm/lxdm at start
I want choice root or guest accounts at start... sorry :cry:
audacious (stripped from deps if needed) will replace BMP
I hope this player support a cp1251 charset :)
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Tonio
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 16:37
Distribution: Slackware,porteus,FreeBSD,Slax
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#72 by Tonio » 23 May 2011, 02:07

fanthom wrote:as brokenman said: i'm in charge for rc2 release which means (unwelcome for some of you) changes:
3) audacious (stripped from deps if needed) will replace BMP
7) bump kernel to 2.6.38.7 and sync config with 64 bit where possible

will try to do it all tomorrow, so rc2 should be out Monday/Tuesday.

Cheers
I don't know much about audacious won't care either way :( My nephew likes porteus but he wants xmms :evil: , I tell him it is too old, but he then he wants vlc :D if he can't get xmms.

kernel 2.6.39 is out, why 2.6.38.X? Slackware current has 2.6.37.X :cry: I know it is a great deal of work, but sooner/later the kernels get old :(

following along, but have not done much work :( 2.6.39 has support for broadcom cards that had not been supported before(free drivers in kernel tree), this is my nephew's request as he has a broadcom card and had to compile a driver to get his wireless working :twisted: I tried to show him little that I could, but he wants everything to work straight out of box :( I tell him that life in general and here in linux things don't work like that :) I apologize for asking, but this is for him and some of his windows buddies. As always, I applaud your(s), brokenman, and all testers && moderators && visitors for all work done in porteus :) :good: Work!

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1555
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#73 by Blaze » 23 May 2011, 14:00

hm - now i don't have the problem with black screen at start.
audacious (stripped from deps if needed) will replace BMP
I hope this player support a cp1251 charset
Yes, this player is support charsets.
I make a skin for audacious, look at my screenshot
Link: audacious porteus skin.xzm

Добавлено спустя 47 минут 2 секунды:
If i boot up Porteus
1) and when i press faster the button 'Enter' to skip password) i have a black screen.
2) i wait 1 minute and then i press faster the button 'Enter' to skip password - Porteus 32 bit is started. I don't have a black screen.
:wall:
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#74 by Hamza » 23 May 2011, 14:06

Did you check your md5sum ?
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1555
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#75 by Blaze » 23 May 2011, 14:10

Hamza, no - i don't check it. In the next RC2 i try md5sum command for it. Thanks.

BTW i don't use Nvidia driver, but i have this message:
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Post Reply