Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#16 by kalo86 » 10 May 2011, 14:44

Hello, I just installed the new release of Porteus v1.0 rc1 x86 and I have a problem when I try to compile compat-wireless package. Of course I downloaded these two modules because they are required for compiling:

- crippled_sources-porteus-v1.0_rc1-x86.xzm
- kernel_headers-porteus-v1_rc1-x86.xzm

I put them in the porteus/base folder.
This is what I get after the make command in the shell:

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# make
/root/Desktop/compat-wireless-2.6.39-rc6-1-sp/compat-wireless-2.6.39-rc6-1-sp/config.mk:204: "WARNING: CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT will be deactivated or not working because kernel was compiled with CONFIG_WIRELESS_EXT=n. Tools using wext interface like iwconfig will not work. To activate it build your kernel e.g. with CONFIG_LIBIPW=m."
./scripts/gen-compat-autoconf.sh config.mk > include/linux/compat_autoconf.h
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.38.5-porteus/build M=/root/Desktop/compat-wireless-2.6.39-rc6-1-sp/compat-wireless-2.6.39-rc6-1-sp modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/include/linux'
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `modules'.  Stop.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/include/linux'
make: *** [modules] Error 2
bash-4.1#   

This problem does not persist in the x64 version of Porteus v1.0 RC2. :no:
I hope this problem is solved because there was a similar problem in the Porteus v1.0 beta i486! For this reason I need to use the Porteus v0.9 i486...

Regards,

kalo86

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#17 by Ahau » 10 May 2011, 16:44

So far, very nice work, brokenman!! Thanks!

Once I added an empty modesetting_drv.so file in rootcopy (as fanthom suggests), things are looking good!

I found an issue with the symlinks portion of extpkg -- I tried extracting dbus and cairo. Some symlinks were copied, but some were not (all but one of the dbus symlinks showed up; none of the cairo symlinks were there. Here's the errors from konsole:

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# extpkg
//root/Desktop/package /mnt/loop ~
/tmp/wrk3755/syms.tmp: line 3: cd: usr/lib: No such file or directory
/mnt/loop ~
bash-4.1# extpkg
//root/Desktop/package /mnt/loop ~
/mnt/loop ~
//root/Desktop/package /mnt/loop ~
/tmp/wrk4466/syms.tmp: line 3: cd: usr/lib: No such file or directory
/tmp/wrk4466/syms.tmp: line 4: cd: usr/lib: No such file or directory
/tmp/wrk4466/syms.tmp: line 5: cd: usr/lib: No such file or directory
/tmp/wrk4466/syms.tmp: line 6: cd: usr/lib: No such file or directory
/tmp/wrk4466/syms.tmp: line 7: cd: usr/lib: No such file or directory
/tmp/wrk4466/syms.tmp: line 8: cd: usr/lib: No such file or directory
/mnt/loop ~
bash-4.1#
This is what syms.tmp looks like (for cairo):

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
cd usr/doc/cairo-1.10.2 ; ln -sf /usr/share/gtk-doc/html/cairo html
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo.so.2.11000.2 libcairo.so
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo-script-interpreter.so.2.11000.2 libcairo-script-interpreter.so.2
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo-gobject.so.2.11000.2 libcairo-gobject.so.2
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo-gobject.so.2.11000.2 libcairo-gobject.so
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo-script-interpreter.so.2.11000.2 libcairo-script-interpreter.so
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo.so.2.11000.2 libcairo.so.2
perhaps these are run out of order and the directory isn't there, or the main script doesn't cd into the right directory before running syms.tmp? I'm not sure how some of the dbus syms made it and not others (that's the first error above). It does look like it got the empty directories from dbus.

Thanks!!

Posted after 51 minute 15 seconds:
I've got a return of the dreaded Stale NFS handle file, when activating an application module (in this case, Kuikshow). I double clicked on it from within pcmanfm in LXDE. This problem does not occur in KDE.

Posted after 11 minutes 10 seconds:
A couple more issues with LXDE - when I start it up, lxpanel is missing a button to show the desktop -- I use this one a lot. If I open an lxterm and issue 'killall lxpanel' and then 'lxpanel' it comes back with a new button that doesn't work, an iconify all windows button, and a button to switch between desktops 1 and 2 (also missing when lxpanel loads at startup). Were these buttons removed intentionally? If not, I'll see what I can do to add them back in.

Also, when I run mcedit inside LXTerminal, hitting F10 opens the LXTerminal File menu instead of closing mcedit. Not a huge issue, as I can get used to hitting tab twice.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#18 by brokenman » 10 May 2011, 22:39

@kalo86 my apologies. There was a problem with crippled sources having an incorrect dir structure. I have patched the problem on the server so please re download the crippled-sources.

I have also removed the modesetting driver on the server ISO.

I will address all the other issue shortly.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#19 by kalo86 » 10 May 2011, 23:58

Thanks for the replay.
I am going to try again!
Regards

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#20 by brokenman » 11 May 2011, 02:29

@Toby
Firstly thanks for a complete and proper bug report. Including psinfo report is great. i will assume from here on in that you have booted into KDE.

0. No window start up music and a massage pop up:
Can you tell me was this straight from boot or when logging out and then logging back in as a different user? After testing on 3 different machines here i can't reprodce this. Only once when logging out from root and logging back in as guest.

1. All my rmvb files could play with kplayer without error (sound is audible).
Excellent

2. mp3 is functional on kplayer but not with Beeb media player.
Having trouble with beep. It only plays mp3 for me. Several attempts at compiling locally failed. Building from slackbuild also failed and can't find patches available. Compiling this app is a good example of dependency hell. I may have to red flag beep in favour of another media player unless someone knows how to smooth this out.

3. No sound output when playing youtube on the web browser.
Maybe related to 0. above. Sound works perfectly on several tests here.

4. Screen resolution is perfect 1366x768
5. Atheros wifi card is working flawlessly
6. PCman file manager - the icons are not visible in the "icon view" mode
(no sure whether it is a problem)

Well it is if you want to use PCmanFM. This is the file manager for LXDE and runs fine when booted into LXDE. Something within KDE must be conflicting with it. Not a big problem since konqueror is the default for KDE but doesn't look very professional. I'll look into it.

Thanks for your Chinese character info. If you can write in Chinese ... please make a post in the 'other language' area of 32bit & 64bit about this information as it may come in handy for any Chinese visiting the forum.

@ Falcony
Thanks very much. I have no experience with the PXE side of porteus so i will trust (and appreciate) your input.

@Blaze
1) That would be because the .kde folder is now gone. Where did you get this message?

2) In VMware Workstation i don't have sound and I see a 'floppy drive'
Not sure why you don't have sound in VMware but it could be the fault of vmware. VirtualBox has sound. I don't want to waste time looking for something that may not even be there.
I'll try to find why the floppy drive is shown. It was removed long ago.

3) Yes i have a version with yellow/green which is much better. An older version must have overwritten while restoring from backup. Will fix it.

4) After reboot ejecting of CD does not work.
Fanthom will track error in rc.6

5) Xwindow does not start with my NVIDIA GeForce 8600 again.
I have removed modeset driver from ISO now. Please try workaround by fanthom in this thread.

@Ahau
I found an issue with the symlinks portion of extpkg.
Were you extracting from running porteus or from base module. It looks like a base module from your log. At a glance it looks to be that there was no cd into root of base module before starting to create links. I will pull it apart again. It worked in testing but i guess i need to give it a thorough workout.

If it is not sorted by final i will move it from ISO and into a development module with other goodies.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#21 by Ahau » 11 May 2011, 02:54

RE extpkg: yes, it was extracting from a base module -- 002-xorg.xzm. I'll try it from running porteus, and prowl through the script. Maybe I can turn something up and save you a few minutes.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

Falcony
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 224
Joined: 01 Jan 2011, 12:44
Location: Russia

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#22 by Falcony » 11 May 2011, 04:01

Hi,

1. pci driver database not fully updated.
lspci -k
shows kernel modules not for all devices
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary) (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device 0001
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (secondary) (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device 0001
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82566MC Gigabit Network Connection (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device 0001
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device 0001
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device 0001
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
Normal appearance have to include kernel module in use and Kernel modules rows.

Like
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 01)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff50
Kernel driver in use: r8169
Kernel modules: r8169
2. There is

/lib/modules/2.6.38.5-porteus

on a disk

But Xorg tryong to load dri and other kernel drivers from old location

/lib/modules/2.6.38-porteus

and fail to FATAL - info from /var/log/messages
May 10 19:55:36 (none) modprobe: FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.38-porteus/modules.dep: No such file or directory
May 10 19:55:37 (none) last message repeated 10 times
May 10 20:06:30 (none) modprobe: FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.38-porteus/modules.dep: No such file or directory
May 10 20:06:35 (none) modprobe: FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.38-porteus/modules.dep: No such file or directory
May 10 20:06:35 (none) acpid: client connected from 3547[0:0]
May 10 20:06:35 (none) acpid: 1 client rule loaded
May 10 20:08:40 (none) modprobe: FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.38-porteus/modules.dep: No such file or directory
May 10 20:08:40 (none) acpid: client 3547[0:0] has disconnected
May 10 20:08:40 (none) acpid: client connected from 3613[0:0]
May 10 20:08:40 (none) acpid: 1 client rule loaded
It seems to needed to rebuild xorg also

3. Some userland utilities also needed to be rebuilded - e.g gpm
May 10 19:55:36 (none) /usr/sbin/gpm[2702]: O0o.oops(): [server_tools.c(76)]:
May 10 19:55:36 (none) /usr/sbin/gpm[2702]: Could not open /dev/mouse.
May 10 19:55:40 (none) kernel: [ 17.315859] aufs may_rename_srcdir:487:mv[2846]: renaming dir who has child(ren) on multiple branches, is not supported

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1358
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#23 by Blaze » 11 May 2011, 05:22

1) That would be because the .kde folder is now gone. Where did you get this message?
When I have started

Code: Select all

xconf
startx
and then i ended current session. I think it's possible in Text Mode too.
Not sure why you don't have sound in VMware but it could be the fault of vmware. VirtualBox has sound.
I use VMware Workstation 7.1.4
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#24 by Ahau » 11 May 2011, 06:35

RE: extpkg

I think I've sorted it out. Here's the syms.tmp from cairo:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
cd usr/doc/cairo-1.10.2 ; ln -sf /usr/share/gtk-doc/html/cairo html
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo.so.2.11000.2 libcairo.so
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo-script-interpreter.so.2.11000.2 libcairo-script-interpreter.so.2
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo-gobject.so.2.11000.2 libcairo-gobject.so.2
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo-gobject.so.2.11000.2 libcairo-gobject.so
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo-script-interpreter.so.2.11000.2 libcairo-script-interpreter.so
cd usr/lib ; ln -sf libcairo.so.2.11000.2 libcairo.so.2
I believe the script cd's to /usr/doc/cairo and makes the link there, but then tries to cd to /usr/lib within that directory, and /usr/doc/cairo/usr/lib does not exist, so it never gets back to the correct usr/lib. The script did create symlinks in usr/doc/cairo, but not in usr/lib. Does each line in syms.tmp need to have cd $TMP/usr/lib, or whatever variable points to the temp fakeroot for the module assembly?

Please pardon my inexperience with scripting ;)
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#25 by fanthom » 11 May 2011, 08:53

@brokenman
1) please leave PXE boot thing + NFS stale bug (aufs hang) during "kuickshow" activation for me.
i have some experience with these (especially NFS :evil: ).

2) i think a good idea is to import ~/.config from 64bits to keep same settings for LXDE between 32/64 bits (sorry - forgot to send updated config files to you)

3) suggestion: symlink from ~/.kde to ~/.kde3 (or maybe better from kde3 to kde)?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
cest73
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 21
Joined: 31 Mar 2011, 15:54
Location: Serbia, republic of

v1.0 RC1 boot and syslinux issues (two bugs)

Post#26 by cest73 » 11 May 2011, 10:01

Hi,
I downloaded the .iso
I mounted (-o loop) the iso and copied the /boot and /porteus directories to my flash (on the Gecko)

I then cd-ed to the /boot directory
I "lin_start_here.sh"-ed the script
It looks nice and clear, works fine but:
once it comes to the syslinux command, and has to -d the $TARGET it fails with

Code: Select all

illegal instruction
my guess is that syslinux is ARCH=i686 compiled?

And,
to boot the (excellent) RC1 on my Gecko, I need to add noacpi to the boot line?
is there APM support?

Great work so far! I'll stay tuned to porteus :good: :beer: :good:
Stevan C.

Posted after 3 minutes 50 seconds:
Wait! :(
there is more :oops:
syslinux hangs on IBM Thinkpad T43 (PM 1.86GHz) 512MB RAM?
it is 4.04 and has a sort of hex code?
Booting from USB (F12 keypress on boot).
:o
Best regards,
Stevan C.

EDIT: Merged with v1.0 rc1 x86 testing thread. Bug reports section is for current stable version. Thanks! -Ahau
Murphy law rules! :(

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#27 by fanthom » 11 May 2011, 14:03

@cest73
"my guess is that syslinux is ARCH=i686 compiled? "
you are correct - and it's my fault again (i have prepared /boot folder for 32bits), sorry about that. will try to provide i486.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#28 by kalo86 » 11 May 2011, 15:33

Hello community, again problems with the installation of compat-wireless.
Now I am able to launch "make", "make install" and "make unload" commands. It seems to work fine, but when I send this command "modprobe ath9k", this is what I get:

Code: Select all

bash-4.1# modprobe ath9k
WARNING: Error inserting ath (/lib/modules/2.6.38.5-porteus/updates/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
WARNING: Error inserting ath9k_hw (/lib/modules/2.6.38.5-porteus/updates/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath9k/ath9k_hw.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
WARNING: Error inserting ath9k_common (/lib/modules/2.6.38.5-porteus/updates/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath9k/ath9k_common.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
WARNING: Error inserting mac80211 (/lib/modules/2.6.38.5-porteus/updates/net/mac80211/mac80211.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
FATAL: Error inserting ath9k (/lib/modules/2.6.38.5-porteus/updates/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath9k/ath9k.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
I always lauch the same commands in both 32 bit and 64 bit version of Porteus v1.0 RC1 and RC2 (x64) but only in 32 bit version I get these error messages.
I hope developers can find the solution!
Best regards,
kalo86

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#29 by brokenman » 11 May 2011, 17:43

@Ahau
The lines were copied from the /var/log/scripts file. What you say makes perfect sense though and i will implement it. Your way looks safer. Thanks for the input, sometimes i stare at code for so long that i swear the characters are dancing around and making jokes about me. Better change my meds.

@fanthom
1) please leave PXE boot thing + NFS stale bug (aufs hang) during "kuickshow" activation for me.
No problem

2) i think a good idea is to import ~/.config from 64bits to keep same settings for LXDE between I used your rc1 kernel config.
Yes i think running identical configs will be easier. nly exception is the proc/i486.

3) suggestion: symlink from ~/.kde to ~/.kde3 (or maybe better from kde3 to kde)?
A symlink wouldn't hurt.

@cest73
to boot the (excellent) RC1 on my Gecko, I need to add noacpi to the boot line?
is there APM support?

Yes there is APM support as a kernel MODULE. Please also try passing apm=on to kernel. You may also have to install a user level application like apmd from slackware:
http://mirrors.xmission.com/slackware/s ... ce/a/apmd/
Note that the APM support is almost completely disabled for machines with more than one CPU. I have also seen many a bios where you had to disable ACPI and could not have ACPI/APM both enabled. Some machines just won't have compliant bioses. If the machine doesn't have a removable battery then there is no point using APM.

ath9k problem
I am not seeing this problem on my machine. ath9k.ko is included in the ISO and modprobe is successful. Can you please show the output of dmesg and:

Code: Select all

for i in ath9k ath9k_common ath9k_hw ath mac80211 cfg80211; do
modprobe -l
$i; done
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86 ready for testing

Post#30 by kalo86 » 11 May 2011, 18:38

I know that ath9k driver is present in Porteus, but I need to patch driver for injection, monitor mode and fragmentation.
A good way is patching the compat-wireless and install the driver I want, in this case the Atheros ath9k.
But there is the last problem, when I launch the "modprobe ath9k" command.
Regards

Post Reply