Change Language in Porteus Kiosk

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
ludmilla
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 Jun 2015, 11:46
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Germany

Change Language in Porteus Kiosk

Post#1 by ludmilla » 05 Jun 2015, 11:49

Hi all,
i want to use Porteus Kiosk at our university library computer pool. Is it possible to change the language in Firefox from English to German?
Thank you in advance!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4567
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Change Language in Porteus Kiosk

Post#2 by fanthom » 05 Jun 2015, 12:19

hello ludmilla,

if you are linux familiar then you should be able to do it yourself by remastering the kiosk ISO as per documentation provided:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/kiosk-customization.html
basically you have to install German language pack on your firefox (under Linux) and then transport relevant files/settings to the kiosk ISO.

this may be challenging so in case of troubles i could do it for you through the commercial 'custom kiosk builds service':
http://porteus-kiosk.org/builds.html


will move this thread to the kiosk section of the forum once you see my response.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply