Where is the converted .deb package?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
wsssixteen
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 May 2015, 11:09
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Malaysia

Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#1 by wsssixteen » 05 May 2015, 11:18

So I've right-clicked on the .deb package and chose "Convert debian package". And it says "Conversion complete". But I can't find it anywhere. It is beyond frustrating for something simple made unclear.

I've searched the tutorials and forum but I can't find any solutions to it. I believe I'll struggle to understand vague directions. I'm sorry but I'll need a step by step instructions. How to convert or if there's any other way to install a .deb package.

I'm trying to install "kingsoft-office_9.1.0.4244~a12p3_i386-1.deb" by the way.

Thanks.

Seva
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 134
Joined: 30 Apr 2015, 12:00
Distribution: XFCE Porteus Desktop 3.1 64bit
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#2 by Seva » 05 May 2015, 11:49

there is an office application for porteus iirc
posted from Porteus

User avatar
libernux
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 28
Joined: 01 Nov 2011, 17:36
Distribution: porteus v3.1 32bit XFCE
Location: Netherlands

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#3 by libernux » 05 May 2015, 12:10

You should find the converted package in the same directory as the original .deb package.
I was born with nothing and I still got most of it.

wsssixteen
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 May 2015, 11:09
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Malaysia

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#4 by wsssixteen » 05 May 2015, 12:18

So if there are no converted package, what could the problem be?
Is there anything I could do to check for a bug?

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#5 by Bogomips » 05 May 2015, 13:27

In terminal

Code: Select all

deb2xzm kingsoft-office_9.1.0.4244~a12p3_i386-1.deb
If this is folder where your .deb is.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
libernux
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 28
Joined: 01 Nov 2011, 17:36
Distribution: porteus v3.1 32bit XFCE
Location: Netherlands

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#6 by libernux » 05 May 2015, 13:32

Can you do the following:

- open a terminal in the directory where your .deb file is.
- in the command prompt type:

Code: Select all

convert_deb your_deb_file
Are there any error messages?
I was born with nothing and I still got most of it.

wsssixteen
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 May 2015, 11:09
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Malaysia

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#7 by wsssixteen » 05 May 2015, 15:30

Did I type anything wrong?

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~/Downloads$ convert_deb kingsoft-office_9.1.0.4244~a12p3_i386-1.deb
bash: convert_deb: command not found
And by the way, if I've found a module from Slax, can I install it?

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#8 by beny » 05 May 2015, 16:16

maybe you have to do this task as root? in slackware exist a lot of office suite openoffice libreoffice calligra and i don't think you need a deb package ,

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1126
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#9 by donald » 05 May 2015, 16:32

@ wsssixteen
--> Did I type anything wrong? <-- yup.. :wink:

Do what Bogomips told you.

regarding the slax module,boot into allways fresh and try it.

wsssixteen
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 May 2015, 11:09
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Malaysia

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#10 by wsssixteen » 05 May 2015, 17:09

That was foolish of me haha
But it seems I'm faced with different problems instead.

When I run the code on a separate harddisk partition :

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/ar: data.tar.lzma: No space left on device
When I run the code in Porteus home folders :

Code: Select all

cp: error writing ‘/tmp/deb2xzm4553/kingsoft-office_9.1.0.4244~a12p3_i386-1.deb’: No space left on device
cp: failed to extend ‘/tmp/deb2xzm4553/kingsoft-office_9.1.0.4244~a12p3_i386-1.deb’: No space left on device
Well...?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#11 by francois » 05 May 2015, 17:23

Where did you installed porteus? How much space is left on the partition where you installed porteus? You can use command fdisk -l to get the information.

When you report the results, please give us full output. For example:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 128.0 GB, 128035676160 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 15566 cylinders, total 250069680 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xf6c5ce6c

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1            2048     3074047     1536000   82  Linux swap
/dev/sda2         3074048    97843579    47384766   83  Linux
/dev/sda3        97845246   250068991    76111873    5  Extended
/dev/sda5       117444608   180903935    31729664   83  Linux
/dev/sda6       247580672   250068991     1244160   82  Linux swap
/dev/sda7        97847296   117442559     9797632   83  Linux
/dev/sda8       180905984   247578623    33336320   83  Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order
root@porteus:~# 
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

wsssixteen
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 May 2015, 11:09
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Malaysia

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#12 by wsssixteen » 06 May 2015, 05:06

I did not install Porteus, am using it live from my USB. Is it because of that? I am still new to the concept of portable OS.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 561
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#13 by tome » 06 May 2015, 08:41

Your space is limited with RAM.
You can try this:
1. Unpack .deb, or .tar.xz archive
2. Go to https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7elwcgmk5mwtmme/FmFMsdUIO8 and download wps-kso-usr-tree.xzm
3. Extract wps-kso-usr-tree.xzm, change paths in et, wps and wpp (they are in /usr/bin/ of extracted xzm module) to your current paths for unpacked kingsoft-office.
4. Delete old module and build new one (right mouse button menu) of extracted xzm module.
5. Activate new module.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#14 by Bogomips » 06 May 2015, 12:35

How small is your computer? :roll: Do free -m, and let's see. Example:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:           880        798         81          0         11        313
-/+ buffers/cache:        473        406
Swap:          644        135        508
Also be interesting to see result from df -h .
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3070
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Where is the converted .deb package?

Post#15 by Ed_P » 06 May 2015, 21:54

@wsssixteen

I agree with tome Porteus is running in RAM and limited to 40% of it if I'm not mistaken. Try using the cheatcode ramsize=80% and see if that helps.

Bogomips df -h command will help verify the usage also.
Ed

Post Reply