No sound on new Porteus installation

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
rcrsf
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 35
Joined: 26 Apr 2015, 18:33
Distribution: v3.1-x86_64
Location: California

No sound on new Porteus installation

Post#1 by rcrsf » 28 Apr 2015, 21:33

I just recently installed Porteus on a USB stick, and everything works great except for no sound. There's not even a volume level icon (even though the "hidden" option for that icon is UNchecked).

I'm on a Dell Inspiron 15R (5537) bought in 2013. When I boot *buntu, there is sound, so I know the card is okay.

Here's possible relevant output of "aplay --list-devices":

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC3223 Analog [ALC3223 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
guest@porteus:~$

Thanks for any help!

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4901
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: No sound on new Porteus installation

Post#2 by francois » 29 Apr 2015, 00:58

Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

rcrsf
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 35
Joined: 26 Apr 2015, 18:33
Distribution: v3.1-x86_64
Location: California

Re: No sound on new Porteus installation

Post#3 by rcrsf » 29 Apr 2015, 15:55

Thanks for that link. I had some trouble following the conversion, but here's all I did:

1) Switched to root user
2) Used a text editor to create "/etc/asound.conf" and put these two lines in it:
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1
3) Then restarted my computer.

I now have sound. No idea if I have both those cards, but something worked.

As a bonus, I can now also view YouTube. Without sound, the videos would fail after 1 second. I didn't know the two issues were related.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4901
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: No sound on new Porteus installation

Post#4 by francois » 30 Apr 2015, 00:48

This brokenman solution. Maybe he will explain the rationale. If you find it we will gladly read you. :)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: No sound on new Porteus installation

Post#5 by brokenman » 30 Apr 2015, 13:24

Some systems have two sound options. This config file puts the pcm card as the first option for alsa. To make it permanent copy the file into the rootcopy folder.

Code: Select all

cp -a --parents /etc/asound.conf /nmt/sdaxY/porteus/rootcopy
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply