Can't execute converted Slackware FF 37.0.1

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Can't execute converted Slackware FF 37.0.1

Post#1 by jimwg » 19 Apr 2015, 14:23

Greetings:

Need to update current Firefox from current 24.2 in my 32bit 3.0.1 XFCE sysytem.

I downloaded http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... 686/en-US/ Firefox 37.0.1 and converted it into a module but when I attempt to run it I get "failed to execute command "firefox %u", no child process. Some Mint mavens suggested adding "ln -s /opt/firefox/firefox /usr/local/bin" But no dice.

Any hints greatly appreciated.

Jim in NYC

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 562
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Can't execute converted Slackware FF 37.0.1

Post#2 by tome » 19 Apr 2015, 15:07

Do not convert because you do not understand it.
1. Extract somewhere downloaded package.
2. Go to /usr/share/applications/ and copy mozilla-firefox.desktop to your desktop.
3. Open copied file in text editor and replace

Code: Select all

Exec=firefox %u
with

Code: Select all

Exec=/path/to/your/extracted/firefox-directory/firefox %u
4. use desktop modified "icon" (launcher) to start firefox

or see viewtopic.php?f=76&t=4473&p=32534

jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Re: Can't execute converted Slackware FF 37.0.1

Post#3 by jimwg » 20 Apr 2015, 23:25

Thanks for the input, Tome, though you might still be able to help me since some kindly Mint Mavens showed that I can simply go ahead and use the converted module I made as I do others and keep my desktop clean of app icons without any extracting or editing stuff by creating a Firefox launcher in the panel with /firefox-bin in the command box. I'm now running a FF version even newer than what's in the Slackware library but there's a relatively minor hitch; It wants to update on start-up and says click to restart to do it. Should I pass up updating it or is there a way to do and make it stick?

Thanks for any hints!

Jim in NYC

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: Can't execute converted Slackware FF 37.0.1

Post#4 by phhpro » 21 Apr 2015, 02:22

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 03:05, edited 1 time in total.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2548
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Can't execute converted Slackware FF 37.0.1

Post#5 by Bogomips » 21 Apr 2015, 14:47

phhpro wrote:diable... zap...
:evil: disable?
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5460
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Can't execute converted Slackware FF 37.0.1

Post#6 by brokenman » 21 Apr 2015, 20:50

Boot into fresh mode.
Open your browser and as suggested above disable the updating.
Close browser.
Now unpack the firefox module you created into a folder somewhere (say /tmp/unpacked)

Now you need to copy the config folder for firefox into the same folder and preserve the path.

Code: Select all

cp -a --parents /home/guest/.mozilla/firefox /root/.mozilla/firefox /tmp/unpacked
Now repack your module and your update conundrum is old news until the next time you create a firefox module.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply