[Solved] Start Kiosk from Iso-Image on hdd

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4546
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: [Solved] Start Kiosk from Iso-Image on hdd

Post#16 by fanthom » 03 May 2016, 16:36

@ED_P
Your config should work with modified kiosk ISO.

@jk9
We care about loading kernel and ramdisk only while preserving 'quiet' parameter so this config should be ok:

Code: Select all

set ISOx=Porteus-Kiosk-3.7.0-i586.iso

title Kiosk                            \n\n %ISOx%
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISOx%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISOx% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz quiet
initrd /boot/initrd.xz
You may need to modify it to match your ISO name and folder in which its stored on your hd.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

jk9
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2016, 12:19
Distribution: Porteus_Kiosk
Location: Germany

Re: [Solved] Start Kiosk from Iso-Image on hdd

Post#17 by jk9 » 03 May 2016, 18:58

Success!
This is what my usb stick looks like:
Image
And my Grub4Dos' menu entry:

Code: Select all

title Kiosk                            \n\n /kiosk.iso
find --set-root                       /kiosk.iso
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /kiosk.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz quiet
initrd /boot/initrd.xz
Thank you very much for your help and patience lads, particularly to fanthom :)

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3055
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: [Solved] Start Kiosk from Iso-Image on hdd

Post#18 by Ed_P » 03 May 2016, 22:01

I'm confused. The thread's title is for booting the ISO on the hard drive, dd is copying/converting the ISO to a flash drive. Do the ISO rebuild steps work for Kiosk ISOs on a hdd? Does the ISO boot on the flash drive because it is FAT32 rather than NTFS?
Ed

jk9
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 May 2016, 12:19
Distribution: Porteus_Kiosk
Location: Germany

Re: [Solved] Start Kiosk from Iso-Image on hdd

Post#19 by jk9 » 04 May 2016, 05:01

Ed_P wrote:I'm confused. The thread's title is for booting the ISO on the hard drive, dd is copying/converting the ISO to a flash drive. Do the ISO rebuild steps work for Kiosk ISOs on a hdd? Does the ISO boot on the flash drive because it is FAT32 rather than NTFS?
Yes, you're right. It "was" originally about starting Kiosk from a HHD. However, that's not what I am trying to do. I just want to boot Kiosk (the one generated by the wizard) off a usb stick.
fanthom suggested this, and it works actually.
You "dd" Kiosk.iso to a partition on a FAT32 formatted usb stick (created with Bootice as I'm mainly on Windows)
As for applying the lot as instructed on here (regarding my case) to a NTFS formatted HDD, I can't tell really as I haven't given it a try to be quite honest.

Post Reply