Firefox idle delay in seconds

Share your opinion about Porteus Kiosk Edition.
Post Reply
solson
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Mar 2015, 23:54
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Earth

Firefox idle delay in seconds

Post#1 by solson » 23 Mar 2015, 14:25

Is there anyway to change the Firefox idle time from minutes to seconds? Our previous kiosk software was set to 30 seconds and with Porteus the lowest we can go is 1 minute. I noticed an older version of Porteus allowed for seconds but I don't want to downgrade to that version. I tried putting in 0.5 for the delay and received an arithmetic error. Any other workarounds for that? Not a huge deal but was just curious. Thanks for the great software!!!
Stan

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Firefox idle delay in seconds

Post#2 by fanthom » 23 Mar 2015, 14:58

hello Stan,

unfortunately i cant change this parameter from minutes to seconds as it would affect 'automatic updates' subscribers and we target 'setup and forget' approach (backward compatibility is a must). please do as follows:
a) remaster the ISO as per kiosk documentation: http://porteus-kiosk.org/kiosk-customization.html
b) edit 003-settings.xzm/opt/porteus-scripts/firefox-idle-watcher and change:

Code: Select all

FFIDLE=`grep FFIDLE= /etc/xdg/openbox/autostart | cut -d= -f2`
to your value, for example:

Code: Select all

FFIDLE=30
that should do it.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

solson
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Mar 2015, 23:54
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Earth

Re: Firefox idle delay in seconds

Post#3 by solson » 23 Mar 2015, 20:09

Thanks for the info, I will give that a try!
Stan

Post Reply